We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed a couple months ago. Booked for one night. Ample car parking which is great. Reception was ok. the room was on the second floor . No lift which is a pain as it was quite a walk and uncomfortable when your partner packs so much for a night away!

BUT the room was very good indeed. Four poster bed, comfortable. it was more of a suit as it had a lounge area. Bathroom was good EXCEPT that the shower did not work and could not get fixed .

We were then snowed in. So we stayed another night. I expected a decent discount for second night under the circumstances. A discount was given but it was not very decent. We were moved to anoher room for the second night which was in their new(ish) wing. The bed was v comfy and we made lots of use of it ;) .

The breakfast on both days were really poilt by poor service. No smile, no 'good morning', no er, nothing except when i asked for cutlery, the reply i got was ' I am French'...

Carpets on stairs need changing, badly worn. Not very good value or money. Oh, there was a Spanish/Italian chap in the bar.. he was cool.

Room Tip: Ask for the new ish rooms. I think it is the lakeside rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you, for taking the time to add your feedback to Tripadvisor. The staff and I very much appreciate this. I do hope that we can welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    581
    266
    109
    72
See reviews for
269
918
45
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. Staff were very helpful and the rooms very relaxing and spacious. Only thing missing for a 4 star hotel was a safe in the room.
We attended a family wedding and witnessed one the day before - all parties seemed very well organised and the staff very obliging. Prices of the drinks were equivalent to London prices, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Shrewsbury53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you, for adding your lovely feedback to Tripadvisor. The staff and I very much appreciate your kind comments. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in the very near future.
Kindest regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We always like to wait before writing a review because so many seem to be written to express an injustice on the spur of the moment. This is so in the case of the Mercure at Albrighton, we have stayed at many Mercure properties and because Shrewsbury is not far to travel we decided on a one night stay to celebrate a birthday without having to drive back home after a good dinner. The Wine & Dine experience seemed ideal. Let us mention all the good points first (by now, you, kind reader will realise there were some bad ones) The room was lovely, furnishings good and ultra clean - Mercure can always be congratulated on their housekeeping. The staff in reception were helpful when booking. We always have a problem when booking any hotel with lifts or ground floor rooms as we must have one or the other. My wife and I both have problems when walking, she being worse then I, and cannot do stairs or walk very far. When mentioning this matter we were told there was a ground floor room near the restaurant, so far so good. What we were not told was that the room was in a separate building across the driveway and that we had to phone reception who would then phone the restaurant who would open a side door! Needless to state when we did this there was no answer to the phone because they were busy with incoming guests so I had to walk all the way through reception to ask personally for the door to be opened. I do wish receptionists could understand just what it is to be disabled. As is was we were lucky it was a fine evening otherwise we would have been wet.

However, having finally achieved the Dining Room we looked forward to our 'Dining Experience' and the Mercure 'Tasting Menu'. To me this implies small quantities of various dishes so we were surprised that the menu given was virtually a standard three course meal plus and 'Amuse Bouche' and a sorbet. Actually the 'Amuse Bouche' should not be part of the menu but is a little treat from the chef after the meal is ordered and is being prepared. Also included were wines from 'Les Grand Vins', but we were just asked red or white and then they were poured, only when asked was the bottle shown, the white was an Arien , not the greatest variety. Back to the meal, the Amuse Bouche was a little trout pate, the first actual course was a crab and prawn terrine, this was very good, then a small over sweet sorbet followed by a main course rump of lamb, quite enjoyable but very ordinary - what happened to our experience? The dessert offered was a chocolate dish but we chose cheeses which were the best part of the meal in variety and presentation. It was not a meal worth driving 70 miles for. It is unfortunate that all hotels cannot be all things to all men. This Mercure is undoubtably a superb conference and Spa hotel but serving the older and incapacitated members of society is a different world.

Room Tip: Only having seen one room can't be helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coalabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you, for taking the time to add your constructive feedback on Tripadvisor. Please allow me to offer my full apologies for not living up to your expectations. We’ll look into the issues mentioned and address them in order to prevent them from happening again. I hope we can welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury some time in the future.
Kindest regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I have been this hotel many times and every time I've been I'm wowed !Perfection is truly the Albrighton Hall!Great leisure facilities ,just lovely to relax !Rooms are perfect!I will def be back soon :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you, so much for adding your lovely comments to Tripadvisor. The team and I very much appreciate this. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kindest regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
480 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We use the hotel every year to hold our annual management planning conference (for 8 persons only). Suffice to say, we've been doing so for 20 years now and we've only been disappointed one year. when we told them so, they bent over backwards to ensure that everything was fine the next year and it was and has been ever since. Great rooms, great restaurant, great service, beautiful grounds. Brilliant!

Room Tip: I have to say that, having stayed in all parts of the hotel, all the rooms are excellent. However, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukajoreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you, so much for your lovely feedback. We as a team at Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, fully appreciate all constructive feedback, and we then use this as a training tool with all staff on how to move forward in providing good customer service and satisfaction.

I will of course forward your very kind comments on to all staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Kindest regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Spa was a welcome relief after a days cycling! Comfortable accommodation. Welcoming staff. Best of all was the help yourself breakfast figs and other lovely fruits, lots of choice. However wine cost a fortune £22 a bottle!! Restaurant food was nothing special. Service was excellent in a hotel way not friendly but very efficient. It was a lovely quiet place to stay and facilities were very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menthee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest,
The team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit to Shropshire. We look forward to welcoming you back at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The room we were given was on the ground floor of the stables wing. It was freezing! There were a couple of electric heaters but they only work when you are in the room as the electricity goes off without the card in the slot.

After a long day driving we wanted to sleep well after dinner but had to wait an hour in the main building bar for the room to warm up (we put a credit card in the slot and managed to keep the heating on while we waited in the main building)

The main hotel block was warm but the stables appeared to have been converted into rooms later with less thought to heating.

We woke in the morning to also find a spider in our bed! It is not because the hotel was dirty but because of the ground floor location - easy for bugs to get in through the window.

Perhaps the main building was better. Had it been warm, we would have found it ok. In this situation, with a dry atmosphere from purely electric heat, we were pleased to head off in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dimitra79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Please allow me to offer my apologies that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury, and in particular the stable wing rooms. I will look into this matters raised in order to prevent them from happening again.
Kind regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albrighton
3.6 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
3.5 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
8.0 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Newly refurbished The Orchid Rooms at Inspiration Leisure and Spa offers a gym, fitness classes, a pool, relaxation lounge and thermal suite including a sauna, steam room, ice room, and six treatment rooms, two of which are doubles. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing