We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    608
    277
    118
    81
See reviews for
284
957
46
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We recently returned from a two night stay at this hotel.

The location is about 10 miles outside Shrewsbury. The hotel is in its own grounds (which we didn't explore because of the weather!). There is pleny of parking available.

Friendly check in and we were pleased to find that we had been given the Bridal Suite (Room 6)! The room was large and well appointed with a four poster bed. There was plenty of storage and a quite huge bathroom with a separate in built shower.

This appears to be a popular hotel with those travelling for business.

There are spa facilities but as we didn't use them, we cannot comment. However if you want to book anything in the spa it is best to book ahead as my wife tried to book one day and availability was limited.

We paid for the dinner B&B rate, but the menu for this was limited and included a pie option (not home made) which seemed odd. At a supplement for an extra £10 each, the a la carte menu was available and we chose this for the second night. The food on both nights was well cooked and presented. The waiting on staff were pleasant without being intrusive. Wine choice was limited and a bit overpriced.

Breakfast had a good choice available from cereals to a full English and everything in between.

Would we recommend this hotel? Yes we would.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house so you avoid getting wet if it rains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you, for taking the time to add your lovely feedback to Tripadvisor, the staff and I very much appreciate this.

I am pleased to see that we exceeded your expectations with your room, (room 6) as this is a luxurious room to fully relax.

We look forward to welcoming you to Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in the very near future.

Kind regards

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thingwall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have just returned from a two night beak at the Albrighton Hall Hotel and must say that the hotel accomodation and grounds are absolutely firstclass. All the members of staff are so friendly and attentive that you feel that you are among friends and family.
We stayed at Albrighton Hall for the Christmas Break 2012 and liked it so much that we have booked to go back again for 2013. There is even a visit to the local Pantomine on Boxing Day included as an optional extra for those staying during the Christmas Break.

Room Tip: Go for an up-grade to a Privilege Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you, for taking the time to add your lovely review to Tripadvisor.

It was lovely to welcome you upon your return visit to Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, and I know that the staffs are looking forward to welcome over the festive season and in particular our trip to the pantomime!!

See you soon.

Kind regards

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stopped off at the Albrighton Hall on the way to a meeting the next day a little way north of here, with almost a 'blind' booking without any research - I was pleasantly surprised by the experience, this is a lovely building that's been sympathetically transformed into a hotel.
My room was in a newer area and was spacious, clean and well appointed - I'll certainly consider this again when I have more time to enjoy the grounds and time for evening dinner!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you, for your lovely review, the staff and I very much appreciate this.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found that we met with your expectations.

We do look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Kind regards

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my mum and elderly grandmother for a 2 night break. Excellent stay, amazing staff so pleasant and helpful. My grandmother uses a wheelchair and the team couldn't do more than they did! Great quality hotel and a great few nights sleep. A special mention must go to devandra (think that's his name) on the bar. Excellent service and a very good bar man!
Thankyou to all if the team. Great stay!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lyndsayedwards79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review.

We always welcome feedback and the team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury.

I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind regards,

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had an amazingly relaxing overnight stay with the "spa reviver package" at the Mercure hotel earlier this week but wished we could have stayed longer.
When we were looking to book a spa getaway, we somehow found this one and I'm glad we did. Not only did the pictures of the hotel look amazing, but the "spa reviver package" was a very good deal, so there was no hesitation in booking.
Upon arrival at the very beautiful hotel, the receptionist (I think his name was Simon) greeted us warmly and was most helpful and friendly.
The staircase up to the room was very grand and the room itself was gorgeous. It really could have been the bridal suite, with exposed beams, more than enough room to swing 100 cats and an elegant bathroom. It was room 20, if you ever get to request the room.
Included in the package we booked was a 3 course dinner, which we were pleased with overall. Our waitress, Ana, was very friendly and helpful, but I was a bit disappointed with the choice on the set menu. There were about 4 different starters, 4 mains and 4 puddings, of which none of them were really calling out to me. We were given the option to upgrade to the a la carte menu for an extra £10pp, but thought it was a bit too expensive, considering how much we had already paid. Once we had ordered from the set menu, we were pleased with the food.
Although the dinner didn't really live up to our expectations, the breakfast certainly made up for it. The choice was extensive and the quality was amazing. I had eggs benedict, which was delicious. All the pastries, bread and other buffet style foods were great. Yet again, our waiter, First, was more than helpful, friendly and very smiley.
We did read in some tripadvisor reviews that they were annoyed by noisy/busy wedding parties, but thankfully there wasn't a wedding party during our stay.
Our spa experience didn't get off to a great start as we "checked in" at the gym reception but had to ask for robes, slippers, locker keys and door codes to the changing rooms, but once we got in there, it was great. Yet again the two masseuses were very friendly, helpful and great at what they did. I think one was called Philippa but the other didn't have a name tag.
We didn't get a chance to go in the swimming pool but it did look amazing.
Overall, it was worth the money and would not hesitate in going again.

Room Tip: Room 20 was stunning!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gossopsgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable and that you found time to fully enjoy all of the facilities that the hotel has to offer.

I hope we can welcome you back to the Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in Shrewsbury again very soon.

Kind regards,

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Lovely overnight stay; quick hit of rest/relaxation. Countryside location (retail therapy nearby if required). Beautiful grounds, luxury room, spa and therapies, incredible food, warm welcome. Leisurely, serene. No rush to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 8pjt-h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable stay at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury.

The staff and I very much appreciate your lovely feedback.

I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albrighton
3.5 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,153 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
635 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 16 in Shrewsbury
352 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
6.2 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Newly refurbished The Orchid Rooms at Inspiration Leisure and Spa offers a gym, fitness classes, a pool, relaxation lounge and thermal suite including a sauna, steam room, ice room, and six treatment rooms, two of which are doubles. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing