We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Crawley
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went for a midweek stay with friends. A nice place for a base to visit the area. Lovely location in parkland and a very pleasant room. Enjoyed the spa and the staff were good.
A few niggles stopped me giving 5* viz management of the dining room at breakfast was poor; first morning no explanation of the breakfasts available; coffee machine in room not replaced after being reported broken; needing umbrellas to get to the extension where the room was located and then finding the umbrella was broken! And the price of the drinks were steep!
But I'd happily stay again.

Room Tip: If dry get a room in the main building. To and from the extension is outdoors - not good when it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for adding your feedback to Tripadvisor.

We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury.

Kind regards,

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    562
    256
    101
    70
See reviews for
261
879
43
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings, fantastic food, a comfortable bed and friendly staff. What more could you want? We had a great weekend. Be sure to check out the little church across the road from the entrance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InigoQuesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable.

I hope we can welcome you back to the Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in Shrewsbury again very soon.

Kind regards,

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I very rarely give an excellent review but this was truly fitting for the fantastic weekend that we had at Albrighton Hall for our 5th wedding anniversary. I chose to come here as the package was good, the reviews were good and nearby Shrewsbury looked nice. To be totally honest, I have been to nicer hotels and the age of the property did someone limit some of the luxuries that you come to expect nowadays (e.g Air Con / WIFI with broadband) however I am a strong believer that service is what makes a real difference to any hospitality experience and I could not fault the service by a single member of staff. The culture amongst the staff was clearly noticeable and it was clear that everyone was very much signed up to going above an beyond on customer service. From the porter on arrival who greeted us with a beaming smile, to the reception staff, bar staff, cleaners, restaurant staff and spa staff, absolutely everyone was 100% focused on making sure that every single guest was happy. There were weddings taking place throughout the weekend but the wedding guests and hotel guests enjoyed there time along side each other which brought a really nice atmosphere in the evening. The food was good, and I didn't even mind that much about having to send my steak back (overcooked) as the staff were so genuinely apologetic about the mistake which was promptly fixed. Quite a few people were moaning about the weak WIFI connection but I didn't blame the hotel for poor local broadband infrastructure! I was away with my wife for the weekend so was not bothered but this may be an issue for business guests. Our room was clean and the bed was amazing for my dodgy back. The fan which was provided with the room solved the heat issue on a hot weekend. The spa was nice but maybe in need if a bit of repair and modernisation. At the same time, I was so relaxed that I just didn't care! The grounds are beautiful and we spent hours sat by the pond. I am positive that some modernisation and tweaks to quality would make this a 5 star venue. It may well ruin what it is though which was a fairly priced, good all around experience. Keep it up and keep the culture with the staff as this was the difference when compared to your competitors.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you, for taking the time to add your lovely feedback on Tripadvisor, the staff and I very much appreciate this.

I am pleased to read that you found time to enjoy and relax with in the grounds of the hotel.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in the very near future.

Kindest regards

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

A dark ,colourless room that could be made so much nicer. We tried to open the patio doors as it was very hot. A stained net curtain hung over them. The doors were in a terrible state. The bottom latch did not work and they were jammed. When we did open them the wood was hanging off on the outside and the view was of a shabby area and very dirty flags. Shutting them again took 2 of us. We daren't try to open them again. This meant we had no window to open in the bedroom. Very dirty bathroom blind that didn't close properly, window ledge full of dead flies.
The restaurant was very good. Lovely food and good service.

Room Tip: Don't have a room in the School Masters house. It's shabby and grubby. Took 2 couples, one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I would personally like to thank you for your constructive feedback. I would like to reassure you that we will look into the points raised and address them accordingly.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

we checked in for a quick break - rooms were clean if a bit basic but comfortable - only negative was they was no AC. Bar and bar staff great and helpful - restaurant staff excellent too. We had evening meal basic menu but good quality and served in the restaurant with lovely white linen tablecloths - a real bonus. Lovely grounds to the hotel and very clean except the windows in the restaurant - in need of a good wash. Gym and Spa were good despite the ice room out of order.Biggest asset is the staff all were friendly and well trained. Would return for a break - bed was a kingsize and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

The team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit to Shropshire.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury.

Kind regards,

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were a coach party of 30 from our local gardening club in Essex and our tour guide booked us into this hotel as the location was perfect to travel to various well known gardens in the Shropshire/Shrewsbury area. The rooms were lovely & clean, food was really good value for money. The staff were absolutely outstanding...as for the head waiter Angelo, well, he bent over backwards to please. He was lovely & cheerful kept us in fits of laughter. He sure is an asset to the hotel. The grounds are splendid and the Old School Building is magnificent. The Spa treatment is Wonderful

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you, for your lovely feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased that the group and you fully enjoyed your recent stay with us at Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in the future.

Kindest regards

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albrighton
3.5 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.4 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
15.8 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Newly refurbished The Orchid Rooms at Inspiration Leisure and Spa offers a gym, fitness classes, a pool, relaxation lounge and thermal suite including a sauna, steam room, ice room, and six treatment rooms, two of which are doubles. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing