We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best we've experienced for food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a three-day break at this hotel and, having travelled widely both in the U.K. and Europe, would say this was one of the best. We did have a problem with the room originally allotted to us but the room was changed immediately and we were given a complimentary bottle of wine at dinner to compensate. Both breakfast and dinners were the best we have experienced, although the dinner times available on week-days were a little late for us. Will certainly book there again.

Room Tip: We had a Privilege room but would imagine others were also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Marian A,
Thank you for taking the time to write a response.
Guest satisfaction is an important part of the overall service standard we strive to offer, and we are pleased to see we solved your problem to your satisfaction.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 1,928 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was there at the weekend where there was a wedding. My room was well away from the reception but the disco music was incredibly loud. I don't know what time it went on till. Thank God I had some earplugs with me.
The accommodation was very good. Good sized room and the bathroom too was spacious and spotless.
We were staying on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis.
Dinner in the hotel was okay. The starters and dessert / cheeseboard were good, but the main meals so-so.
Unfortunately in the morning we encountered a jobsworth. My partner asked if she could have a coffee before breakfast to take outside to have with a cigarette.
A song and dance was made of this and she was made to sign for it. Like the dinner bill, where everything was listed and itemised with price then zeroed out at bottom, the coffee was same.
I met her then for breakfast, which was okay. Did we have to sign for this? No - they had our room number on their list.
I was embarrassed sitting there having breakfast though when an American couple arrived. They didn't want breakfast but asked if they just have a coffee. Unfortunately for them they got jobsworth. No. They couldn't. They could have one in the bar, but it wasn't opened at that time they were told. They went off not impressed and neither was I at how they were treated.
I had some drinks in the bar the previous day so didn't pay much attention to the bill when I checked out, but now that I am at home I can see that jobsworth did infact charge £3.95 for my partner's coffee she had just prior to breakfast. Miserable, miserable sod that he was.

Room Tip: Ask to be well away from reception and other side of hotel if there is a wedding party on, should yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DazScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear DazScot,
Thank you very much for your response. We will address your feedback with our F&B department and look into our procedure again. Our aim is to provide excellent customer service. We are very sorry that you left our hotel with mixed views.
Hopefully you will give us a chance and re-visit the Mercure Hotel Albrighton Hall & Spa.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had a 1 night spa stay here in July. Fantastic package and extremely good value for money. Staff were helpful and very accommodating as I was organising this for 9 guests. Rooms are huge. Very modern and clean. Staff couldn't do enough to help, the al la carte food which we were upgraded to as part of the spa package due to booking direct was top notch. The hotel has a very nice setting. We also had afternoon tea which was plentiful and luxurious ... The spa itself is a little small, however, treatments were lovely. The option to sit out on sun loungers on the summer is also a nice little bonus with bar staff waiting drinks.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank HolidayMad87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear HolidayMad87,
Thank you for taking time to write a positive response about your recent stay.
All feedback is valuable to us. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We found this hotel on the Last minute website, having to plan a holiday at short notice. The rates were very reasonable, so when we arrived we were thrilled by finding such an impressive hotel. The hotel and grounds were beautiful, with a lovely view of a small lake and fountain outside of our room. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and took pride in their excellent customer care. Breakfast was excellent in a wonderful oak lined dining room.

Room Tip: We had a lovely view from our room, facing the small lake, but guests on the other side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Marianne H,
Thank you for your recent review. It is good to see that the hotel was ideal for your holiday.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

we had a fantastic time during our stay, the sun was shinning on. our room was big and had good views across the lawn areas, the staff were great and friendly, the food was great and the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Anthony J,
Thank you for your time and posting such a great comment about your stay.
Hopefully we can welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed as a family of four at the Albrighton last weekend and I have to say it was a wonderful stay. The hotel was very clean, accommodating our two young children and we even got to use the spa. Children loved the pool which was heated and being a Sunday it was very quiet so we got to enjoy the pool to ourselves.

The restaurant catered for all our needs and staff were very friendly.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I look forward to our next stay here.

Room Tip: Our family room was over looking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uksmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you, for taking the time to add your lovely feedback to Tripadvisor, the staff and I very much appreciate this.

I am so pleased that you and your family fully enjoyed your recent stay and that you had the time to fully enjoy our leisure facilities and the pool for your own use!

I do hope that we can welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa when you are next in the area.

Kind regards

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A very attractive venue with beautiful grounds and surroundings. The accommodation was a little disappointing, rooms were very hot without air conditioning.
The free wifi was really poor in many places and almost non-existent in the rooms or restaurants. The staff did not seem to care to much about this or any other issues we had.
The restaurant was quite good but dinner was a little expensive, breakfast quality was good.

Room Tip: Avoid sunny spots as room very hot and no air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jason045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them.

Kind regards,

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albrighton
3.5 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
375 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
8 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Price Range: £72 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Newly refurbished The Orchid Rooms at Inspiration Leisure and Spa offers a gym, fitness classes, a pool, relaxation lounge and thermal suite including a sauna, steam room, ice room, and six treatment rooms, two of which are doubles. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing