We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superbly run hotel giving excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Reviewed 16 August 2009

from the moment we checked in we felt very welcome.the standard of our rooms was well above those we have previously experienced in more expensive hotels.it is a well maintained hotel in beautiful surroundings.the staff were, for the most part, polite, helpful and friendly. i am extremely happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,837 - 1,843 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2009

Thought it looked a bit posh for us but was welcomed as if we belonged. Grounds were exquisite, spa refreshing and accommodation very comfortable. We were permitted to stay on a use the facilities after check-out which was a bonus with excellent shower/changing facilities via the pool changing rooms. Room was well equipped and spacious and we only paid £79.00 for it. Breakfast was delicious with a selection of cerals/fresh fruit/yoghurts and a choice of breakfast - nothing was too much trouble.
Really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Mercure Albrighton Hotel And spa on 4th August 2009. Within fifteen minutes of returning to our room (21:00hrs approx) we had a phone call from reception advising that we were making excessive noise. The person on the lower floor had complained and rather than visit and check the Receptionist phoned us. As a couple approaching retirement age the only noise produced was walking on the floor. The TV was not even on. The soundproofing is terrible and you can hear occupants of other rooms using the bathrooms. At my age I do not expect to be strongly reprimanded for walking around a room. I should say that we previously visited this Hotel and stayed in a ground floor room and the impact noise from the room above was excessive, we did not complain. We expressed our concerns to the duty Manager who advised that the Area manager would contact us, That of course has not happened. My advice, avoid this hotel if you propose to walk around your room or use the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

This is a lovely hotel standing in its own grounds that are beautifully kept the rooms are excellent and so is the food but its the staff that make this hotel they are incredible nothing is to much trouble and they go that extra mile to make sure your stay is a perfect one. I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

This is an ideal hotel for relaxing and forgetting about everything. Located off the beaten track in scenic grounds, the rooms are very comfortable and the service impressive.

The only downside is its isolation, you will have to drive everywhere if using this as a base to explore Shropshire.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keithyboy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

It's probably not the best idea to stay at a hotel for a leisure break when there is a large wedding booked the same weekend. Regardless of the hotel I find that I tend to get treated as a second-class citizen when I'm not part of the wedding party and this was no different. It's a shame really as this hotel has a lovely setting and a real old comfortable feeling to it. On arrival (just before the wedding guests turned up) we were told that we were staying in the old School Masters House which is an annex to the main hotel. Not really a problem as it was away from the noisy wedding party, but it could do with a bit of more careful cleaning and new windows. Not a bad room but it certainly wasn't the 'superior' room that the hotel described it as. An old TV, old wooden windows and the coffee making tray hidden in the wardrobe could have been better placed. The bathroom smelt of damp (even though it's been refurbished). The mattress wasn't the best I've slept in. We booked the spa break deal via laterooms which saved us a small fortune with DB&B. The walk to the spa/gym through the busy bar full of wedding guests isn't ideal, especially when you have to walk back through it in your now sweaty gear and you are getting looks like 'why is this person allowed to walk through here?'.

Good points (they probably outweigh the bad - just) - Gym - excellent facilities including machine & free weights. CV machines are plenty and all are functional. They've spent a lot of money on this gym. Pool - again excellent. The hot-tub & thermal rooms are the best I've used in this quality of hotel. Restaurant (Oak Room) - excellent menu & service. A joy to eat in here. Bar - not the best selection of drinks and quite expensive too. At least they have Sky Sports. Breakfast - excellent. Top tip - get there early! At least before 9.30am as there are not enough tables for guests when it's full. Everything you could wish for in a breakfast. Would I stay again? Probably. One last thing - don't bother with the internet connection. I tried for 2 hours to connect and then gave up.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank White_Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

we picked this hotel because it seemed an amazing deal - £99 b&b for two of us and full use of the spa facilities! We had a lovely relaxing time in the excellent spa, then ate in the bar lounge and had delicious supper and wine, served with promptness and panache. Our room was comfortable if a little small (the twin beds were quite close and we are only colleagues!) and very clean. Very comfy mattresses indeed. All in all, we had a really lovely time and it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hedgetrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albrighton
3.5 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
375 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
8 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Price Range: £71 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Newly refurbished The Orchid Rooms at Inspiration Leisure and Spa offers a gym, fitness classes, a pool, relaxation lounge and thermal suite including a sauna, steam room, ice room, and six treatment rooms, two of which are doubles. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing