We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Liverpool
1 review
“Lovely hotel, lovely location”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Only stayed here for 1 night but would have been very happy to stay for longer! We were originally going to stay in the centre of Shrewsbury but the hotels were far more expensive and no where near as nice. This hotel is only a few miles out and has a lot more to offer with an 'olde-worldy' country house feel together with modern rooms and a great health suite.

Staff were relaxed and friendly and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverPole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    595
    270
    116
    80
See reviews for
278
939
46
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Lovely hotel that for us was convenient,just north of shrewsbury, In its own grounds, this stately home and spa was clean,service was efficient,room was spacious, with a lovely bathroom. When we arrived our room was not ready(we had arrived early!)so the desk upgraded us to another room without hesitation!. Grounds were well groomed with a lake with fish ,gardens and lots of trees.
Overall a very pleasant stay and we shall without a doubt return and recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hookyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Old building, beautiful grounds, huge room and very friendly service. Had dinner in restaurant and that, too, was excellent.

Our only complaint would be that our room was extremely difficult to find and we would have appreciated if we had been taken to it when we arrived.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julcsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw uk
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

a very pleasant setting and location , quiet and relaxing good sized rooms, lovely leisure facilities, food was good, staff freindly and helpful. even when under pressure . only negatives lack of free wi-fi and length of time for our evening meal, although this was due to other guests rather than the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowSwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I have just returned from a one night spa break at Albrighton Hall. The staff were friendly and polite. Our room was fantastic, overlooking the pond and grounds. The restaurant was gorgeous and the meal was out of this world. The only downside I would say would be that the rooms didn't have satellite or cable which would have been nice whilst we were getting ready for dinner. The breakfast again was delicious and I can honestly say the staff were fabulous. Highly recommended, well worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArielWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Had a wondefrull relaxing time at this hotel. I couldnt have asked for anything more. The staff were frendly and helpfull - despite being very busy! The Spa area was excellent, clean and well staffed.

The location is fantastic and the local area is well woth exploring. Will certainly be coming back as in addition these things i also thought it was really good value for money.

Mr Newgeant.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We stayed at the Albrighton for 3 nights in April, with the aim of a relaxing few days away from home. We were not disappointed.

Staff were friendly and helpful from start to finish. The room was a good size, with a good tele and a lovely refurbished bathroom. The windows were small but let plenty of light in and had a nice view of the grounds. The bed was big with a comfy mattress. The hotel is quiet and we got a good night's sleep every night.

Unlike some other reviewers on here, we enjoyed the pool and steam/sauna suite. The only problem was how busy they always were - which I suppose is a good sign! It was also the Easter holidays, though, which I'm sure contributed. The (relatively small) pool was clean with good changing rooms, and the steam rooms and sauna were all of a decent size.

On the first night we had dinner in the restaurant. The meal was reasonably good, and fine for the price (£16 for 2 courses). However, there are better places to eat locally that you might want to consider - the New Inn at Baschurch and The Inn at Grinshill are both excellent, similarly priced and less than 20 minutes away. Breakfast was very good, though.

Parts of the hotel are a bit shabby, such as some of the corridors, but the bits that matter are in a good state - ie. bedrooms, the leisure club, the bar and the restaurant.

For £65/night B&B, this hotel is excellent value, and we will definitely be using it again for a chilled break.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ms1Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albrighton
3.6 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
621 reviews
3.5 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
6.2 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Newly refurbished The Orchid Rooms at Inspiration Leisure and Spa offers a gym, fitness classes, a pool, relaxation lounge and thermal suite including a sauna, steam room, ice room, and six treatment rooms, two of which are doubles. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing