We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to stay at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasure to stay at”
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I feel I have to write to say what a lovely stay we had once again at Albrighton Hall Shrewsbury Oct 14th and 15th We have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past and have always been very pleased with the standard and I am very fussy . There are really good facilities with a nice pool and a squash court and gym with friendly staff . This stay was as always a pleasure from the moment we arrived to the day we sadly left . Very professional and friendly at check in . The room was well equipped and very clean , which I am a stickler on. The breakfast was a delight as always with an excellent selection and high quality , beautifully presented. The staff are in my opinion exceptional They are very professional but maintain a warm friendly manner, and nothing is too much trouble for them. When we arrived one of the house keeping staff took the trouble to show us which would be the best way to access the car park and the facilities which was a great help. When being served in the dining room you were always made to feel welcome and that anything they could for you no matter how busy they were was no trouble. The setting of the hotel is lovley and it is just 10 mins into shrewsbury which has a great variety of shops with still some lovley character in the town.. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and I do not recommend places lightly. My husband and I will most definitely be visiting again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawndg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 October 2010
Dear Guest,

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been part of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury in the near future.
Kind regards,
Cristina de Oliveira-Frewen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    585
    269
    112
    74
See reviews for
272
926
46
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Our stay at this hotel was loveley, i booked it for my partners 21st birthday, a spa package and i realy cant fault it. All the staff were amazing and went all out to help you with anything. The food was amazing the best dinner ive had at a retaurant in a while, breakfast was just as impressive, a never ending amount of food 'buffet style', it was regularly topped up so you never had to wait for anything. The room was loveley, although the bathroom was a little standard as the taps and plug could do with being replaced. We used the spa and were very impressed with the whole experience. The leisure facilities also are very nice.
Overall a loveley hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 October 2010
Dear Guest,

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your recent stay at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury. I will of course pass on your lovely comments to the staff. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Cristina de Oliveira-Frewen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2010

A big old house with period style modern extensions and conference facilities set by a pond, in lovely countryside. The place is old school, (and, coincidentally, is an old school for the blind, Mons. Blunkett once lived there as a tender youth), but in a nice-cup-of-tea-with-your-nan sort of way. The carpets were laid in the 70s I'd guess, and you wouldn't want to eat your dinner off them. But fortunately, that's not a requirement of the hotel.

Our party had three rooms. Two were a bit unawesome, but it was my birthday (aah!) and they upgraded us to a really nice suite up in the eaves. Loads of space then, with sofas, and jackdaws (prince of birds!) hopping about outside the window. All the rooms have got new flat screen TVs, which makes it feel considerably more up-to-date than would otherwise be the case.

Dindins? Well, that's to be taken in the restaurant. The restaurant is nice - lots of soft furnishings, dim lights and high ceilings give it good acoustics and ambience. The food is pretty good value, and nicely presented, but the fish we had smelt a bit fishy -- it was fine, but not the freshest. Desserts were good. Breakfast was excellent.

The best thing however was the staff. All of them (yes, ALL!) were polite, friendly, and attentive. I mean outstandingly so. They do things like say "hello" when you walk past them (and when did that last happen anywhere south of Leamington Spa?) They were great. HATS OFF TO THEM!

Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry_Bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 October 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. The team and I very much appreciate this. I would personally like to thank you for your kind comments about the staff and I know that they will use the comments to further more improve customer service.
Kindest regards

Cristina de Oliveira-Frewen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We took a late booking and reviews suggested this hotel would be a great place to stay. Due to the lateness of the booking, our booking had not been confirmed with the hotel, but the check-in ladies handled this minor problem very efficiently. We were located in a room away from a noisy wedding reception, which we were grateful for. Unfortunately, this did not stop rowdy guests from disturbing us from outside the hotel at 0230. What really let this hotel down was the service and standard of food in the restaurant. Neither my husband or I enjoyed more than a third of our three course meal, and the staff were either over-friendly or downright rude. Breakfast was a shambles with food not being readily available and staff being less than helpful when bringing tea and coffee to the table. Check-out was smooth and efficient considering the number of wedding guests checking out at the same time as us.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0ffee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Dear Guest,

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury very soon.
Kind regards,
Cristina de Oliveira-Frewen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I stayed for 1 night and had a beautiful large room, with windows that opened. Comfy bed, good shower, all very clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Evening meal in room was ok, cheese board was great. Breakfast, only had continental was ok, although a bit pricey. Spa and pool was wonderful, grounds are lovely

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann100London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on Tripadvisor. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury very soon.
Kind regards,

Cristina de Oliveira-Frewen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Really enjoyed visiting this lovely hotel, just outside Shrewsbury. Had trouble parking when we arrived but it turned out to be a wedding in full swing, after the guests had left we had no problems. Greeted by a very friendly receiptionist and our room was in the Stables, luckily very modern and a great sized room and super sized bathroom. Enjoyed a swim and my husband had a sauna in the very nice pool/spa area. Enjoyed being able to select what I wanted for breakfast and the specialist jam was gorgeous! All the food was restocked very promptly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnbrown1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Dear Guest,

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Cristina de Oliveira-Frewen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Weekend break for myself and my partner, 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast.

Hotel is easy to find, located close to Shrewsbury. Grand old manor house converted to hotel, some nice original features remain including the creaky floored, the only creaky floor i hasten to add, drawing room.

Bedroom was vast, well it had to be to fit in the vast comfy bed. Clean comfortable and well equipped. Grounds were really nice, as were the spa facilities, particularly enjoyed the thermal suite after a long day out on my MTB. My only query is the route to the bedroom, not a complaint as we quickly found short cuts, but i was in room 50 and had to go up 2 flights of stairs, along a corridor, then down 1 flight of stairs and along another corridor. Totally confused me and i still cant work it out lol.

I have had bad experiances with these D,B&B deals in the past but not here. Food was very nice, although some did have a small supplement. Lamb shank was huge and well worth the extra. Wine on the expensive side but was top notch, no marked up cheapo supermarket plonk in sight. Bar was also a tad expensive but no more than other hotel bars.

However, anywhere is only as good as the staff that work there. Its here this hotel shines. I and my partner are keen mountain bikers and have some expensive kit which we did not fancy leaving in the car park. Before we booked we called and asked if there was somewhere we could lock them up, the lady on the phone said it would not be a problem and that we could finalise the arrangements when we checked in. So we turned up on friday hours before our check in with a view to leaving the car in the car park, pulling on our cycle stuff and going out for a ride on the Long Mynd. Went in to let them know it was our car and remind them that they promised we could have somewhere to lock the bikes up. Not a problem they checked us in immediately and arranged for the bikes to be locked up in the front of house office.

So off we went on our bike ride. On the way back up into Shrewsbury we spotted a nice looking E road/Greenway, and still having some energy we couldnt resist. Unfourtunately we did get covered top to toe in mud. Rather sheepishly i went to the reception to explain that we were rather more muddy than we were exspecting. After having a good laugh at the state of me and explaining that there was no need to ask if I had a good ride, they came up with an alternative plan and gave us the use of one of the conferance rooms to store the bikes mud and all. We checked the bikes out again on saturday for a ride up into Wales, when we got back a wedding was in full flow and reception was rammed. As soon as i was spotted a smile and wave and one of the girls came around with the key to let us back in.

Despite being Awkward and having them running around for a pair of Bikes the three ladies we encountered on the Reception were top class. Always smiling always interested to know if everything was fine and if there was anything they could do, sorry i didnt get the names, but i have seen that the hotels manager does read the reviews. Hopefully she will read this one and pass on my thanks to the reception staff on duty 9th and 10th October, they really made my stay stress free and enjoyable and deserve a big pat on the back.

One last mention on the staff front, Ewan from the resturant is also first class. His memory is near perfect which gives his service a very friendly personal touch. Once again the service was attentive without being intrusive and genuinly looking for ways to enhance your experiance.

Whoever is in charge of staff recruitment, retention and training needs a clap on the back.

Well done will be back :)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mak3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Dear Guest,

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury. I will of course pass on your lovely comments to the staff. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Cristina de Oliveira-Frewen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albrighton
3.6 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
3.5 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
6.2 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Newly refurbished The Orchid Rooms at Inspiration Leisure and Spa offers a gym, fitness classes, a pool, relaxation lounge and thermal suite including a sauna, steam room, ice room, and six treatment rooms, two of which are doubles. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing