We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced”

Gatakers Landing Restaurant
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We went there for a family function and for the price we did not get value for money. Very run down looking place too. This was the first time we had been there & I wouldn't bother going back. Nobody at my table was happy with their meal for what they paid. The only positive about the place was the outlook.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank KayScri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    12
    8
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Views of wildlife abundant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had lunch at Gatakers and the food was great. I loved the barramundi spring rolls. Also loved the views and the wild life...10 pelicans and a whale...early in the season, along with other birds and a bush turkey wandering around. We were also entertained by a beautiful young lady, just returned from Thailand, doing her original songs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Recently went here for a birthday party. Paid $30 a head, choice roast beef or barramundi with beans, carrots, potato bake, cauliflower au gratin. You got either 1 slice of beef or about 1 tablespoon of fish(not both) , one scoop beans and carrot (together) one scoop potato bake and one of the cauliflower but no cauliflower for the last table left to be served. The quality was poor. We did also have nibbles of bruschetta and breads and butter. But for the price a rip off. Many people within thr group were also very disappointed. The whole place is so shabby and run down and the outside (roofing) eating area looks dangerous with very rusted beams.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirl071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxed atmosphere that didn't disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The casual environment complemented the wonderful coconut baramundi. The fish and salad was fresh and beautifully prepared and presented. Cannot wait to try other produce from the vast menu. The chef prepared the most devine lemon tarts. Too much food, required a doggy bag

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank biggenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Incompetent service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Visited with a large group and although a nice menu was organised, the waitresses were slow and incompetent. Were not friendly either.
The place has amazing potential - but food was average. Other than the position, it doesn't have much else.
Would rather spend my money at other restaurants in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Camilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gatakers Landing Restaurant also viewed

Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 
Urangan, Hervey Bay
 

Been to Gatakers Landing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing