We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less then exciting for little people”

National Wool Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Less then exciting for little people”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Nice to see some of the machines which make up the process, many of which were running and were well explained by the staff. A shame some parts of the process are not done here as they would have been in the past. This is the national woollen museum, so I would expect it to show the whole process. There were some good videos running in the cafe area to show more of the story. We had visited without checking the web site before we arrived so were not aware of a "wooly tail trail" the reception staff just sent us on our way to join the tour which had only just started. This may have helped some what as our two little people were less then excited by the tour and what there was to see and do! Very little sign of anything to do for little people.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugsphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    42
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good museum and excellent cafe”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Me and my girlfriend enjoyed the museum very much. It is packed full of information and there are lots of clear signs to guide you round the areas of the museum.

We stopped in the cafe for a pasty and a cup of tea after looking round the museum. The food was excellent and not badly priced.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARDIFF, WALES
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent Half Day”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Visited, with family of various ages, on a wettish day in August. Excellent, organic cafe and a really fascinating guided tour. Interested, informative and chatty staff, free to get in, free parking, nice shop and nothing not to like.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank paul o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Day out on a rainy day”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Lots of interesting exhibits and the demonstration we caught the end of was very insightful.
Did end up interrupting someone who was filming but there were no signs to indicate this so how were we to know? Think this was more down to the film crew than the museum though.

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Keeping dry on a rainy day...”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I live close to the museum and still find it great for rainy day activity. The coffee shop ofrfers plenty of homemade fare and decent hot drinks while the museum itself is staffed with helpful, knowledgable staff. There are regular demonstrations of the machinery and loads of stuff to interact with. If you go when it's busy (public holidays, etc) there will be more demonstrations and more staff on hand but if you go when it's quiet you can take your time and not be disturbed by hoards of kids. Finish off your trip in the coffee shop and souvinir shop where you buy stuff that has been made on site! I love it. :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Wool Museum also viewed

Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 
Llanwrda, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to National Wool Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing