We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Llwyn Helyg Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanarthney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

You will never want to stay anywhere else. We were greeted with a cup of tea and delicious homemade scones. Caron and Fiona could not have been more welcoming and friendly, and were always available to advise on local restaurants (this is a very foody part of Wales) or tourist attractions. The house itself has been very well considered and sits in very beautiful and peaceful grounds, but still within walking distance of the village. The rooms are spacious and well decorated, with comfortable (Vi-Spring) beds and beautiful bed linen and towels and plenty of drawers and hanging space (plus an ironing board)! The bathrooms are new and have excellent showers. It feels as if you are staying in a grand hotel, such is the quality. Breakfast is in a sunny room overlooking the garden, and everything you could wish for is offered. The music room has to be seen (heard) to be believed. We were delighted with our stay and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Very peaceful and beautiful location - all rooms equally well appointed and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is an amazing house. Recently built but with large palatial room. Marble floors, and many innovative items of marble furniture. The beds are large and very comfortable. 3D TV in the bedroom. An amazing hi fi listening room with the best equipment I have ever seen or heard. I had a wonderful stay here.
We had good weather and this might have biased my judgement but I found the area extremely beautiful and the activities around the house most enjoyable. The hosts went to great trouble to find good places to eat and help us select the activities that suited us.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dwatsontlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The internal images don't do this beautiful property justice. Hospitality which was amazing and a real home from home on business travel.

No expense has been spared on the interior decoration and quality of furniture, bathrooms and soft furnishings.

Highly recommended and cannot fault in anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights and it is the most lovely B&B that you could find. Caron and Fiona made us so welcome. On arrival at the beautiful house we were made comfortable in the music room with it's vaulted ceiling and treated to coffee and home made cakes.Then Caron played a track from our chosen LP - amazing sound. The house is beautifully decorated with unique marble furniture. Caron is so obviously proud of his home and both he and Fiona just seem to want you to enjoy what they have created, they are genuinely lovely people. We had a room at the back of the house with views over the garden, fields and surrounding hills.This is the 'smallest' room but it is by no means small! Such a big comfortable bed with luxurious bedding. The bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi bath as well as shower.
The location has much to offer- peace and tranquility, castles, gardens,walks, excellent places to eat. Caron recommended a restaurant and actually drove us there- and collected us after a fabulous meal.
Would highly recommend a stay here. As well as the luxurious acommodation, the hosts make this such a special place.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scousepolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Llwyn Helyg Country House is reason enough to visit Wales.

As a travel industry professional, I have to say that everything from the surrounding, the premises, the house, the rooms, the beds and the interior design including the luxurious bathrooms with some of the most incredible marble are all the best I have ever seen.

I really can't wait to visit the wonderful Caron and Fiona again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leif N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Everything that has been said about Llwyn Helyg, Caron and Fiona is spot on. Fabulous food, house and hosts - nothing could be improved upon.
Just spent 3 nights here and really didn't want to leave. Fabulous surrounding countryside - Dryslwyn Castle, The Lost Gardens of Aberglasney and The National Botanical Garden of Wales. As if this all wasn't enough, within walking distance there is an excellent eating place called Wright's Food Emporium where we had fresh sea trout and local cheeses. (Worth checking out this website if you're still unsure about booking!)
I have stayed in 100s of hotels but never experienced the quality and care that you will find here.
Will be looking for an excuse to return pretty soon.

Room Tip: All rooms would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Llwyn Helyg is a combination of welcoming, friendly hosts (Fiona and Caron) and opulent interior design set in the serene countryside of West Wales.
No detail seemed to have been overlooked and I'm certain anything lacking would have been speedily supplied if requested.
This may seem brief but I feel I've captured the essence of the place in these few words and the accompanying photographs.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toasty754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarthney
6.3 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
472 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
835 reviews
7.2 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
93 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
181 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llwyn Helyg Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwyn Helyg Country House

Address: Llanarthney SA32 8HJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanarthney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanarthney
Price Range: £120 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Llwyn Helyg Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Llwyn Helyg Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing