We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable property in wonderful location”
other travellers have booked this property
East Blockhouse is outlined in red with Angle beach to the South and Freshwater West to the North
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
East Blockhouse is outlined in red with Angle beach to the South and Freshwater West to the North
The living area has large comfortable sofas and a flat screen TV with freeview. The kitchen is well equipped and includes a dishwasher and nespresso machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
East Blockhouse is outlined in red with Angle beach to the South and Freshwater West to the North
The living area has large comfortable sofas and a flat screen TV with freeview.
The kitchen is well equipped and includes a dishwasher and nespresso machine
The spacious en-suite master bedroom.
The en-suite bathroom
The third bedroom with comfy twin beds.
The family bathroom with bath and large shower.
Converted from a military building we are not your usual holiday cottage.
A two minute walk from the door puts you right on the coastal path
Angle beach is just a 10-15 minute walk away. It is dog friendly and great for families.
We are lucky to experience some amazing sunsets here at East Blockhouse.
With over 60 beaches in Pembrokeshire you are spoilt for choice.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Angle, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daviema
St Albans, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable property in wonderful location”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking to escape to the West Wales coastline with our dog for a week and stumbled across East Blockhouse. We were sold by the picture of the property on the edge of the cliffs only a stones throw from wonderful beaches.

We were not disappointed! Angle is a two hour drive west of Cardiff and is found just as you run out of road! Were we were met by a smiley Simon who showed us around Ty Gaer (the three bed property) and then we didn't see him for the rest of the week (they live a hundred metres away in their own house - very unobtrusive).
The property was very well thought out and incredibly comfortable. Bedrooms were great, one with an en-suite and also a large family bathroom. Both showers were great - comfortably big enough for my 6' 8" frame!

Lounge was great with a big TV (TV's with freeview in all bedrooms) and good sofas. Well equipped kitchen and large table.
The property also benefitted from having a dog friendly garden which our miniature schnauzer could not escape from.

One of the best things was location - only a 3 minute walk from the door to the coast path and what seemed like our own stretch of coastline and cliffs - stunning - we took the opportunity to take a bottle of wine down and enjoy the sunset.

The local village Angle has two pubs (25 and 35 minute walks), both friendly with good food. The local beach, only a 15 minute walk across a field and down the cost path also served great home made food and sits on the nearest beach.

We were fortunate with the weather and walked every day except one. Dozens of amazing beaches and cliff top walks are within reach.

Amazing, relaxing, peaceful break - thoroughly recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and that you would recommend us. We must be doing something right! Best Wishes Jennie and Simon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamaD88
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodation right next to the coast.”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Ty Gaer is a fabulous holiday accomodatiion, right by the sea. The standard of accommodation is excellent. The owners have taken great care to ensure the highest standards of all the rooms, from the showers, to the comfortable beds. The accommodation is dog friendly, but you would never guess that dogs have stayed in the house and I would still rent this place even if I didn't have a dog. There is another holiday let owned by the same people, Jennie and Simon, right next door to Ty Gaer but we couldn't hear the family of four that were staying, the wall are very thick and the respective gardens are very separate, so we hardly saw them.

You are right next to the coastal path and we spent a number of evenings, just a few metres from the house, sitting and looking out to the sea with a glass of wine; no-one is around, it's so peaceful and you really do have that coastal path to yourselves, it is paradise.

We ate in Angle a few times, it's about a 15 minute walk to the beach with a great cafe on the beachfront, Wavecrest cafe which is open until 4pm, serving really good quality food. We also ate at the two pubs in Angle, both really good food and very friendly : the Hibernian Inn and the Old Point House.

Location wise, Ty Gaer is in a great place to visit South Pembrokeshire, Freshwater East and West, Stackpole, (Stackpole Inn serves good food) Barafundle Bay, Tenby. We also travelled to North Pembrokeshire and walked the coastal path from Marloes and also Porthgain and Abereiddy . The Shed Bistro at Porthgain also served fab food.

It was a great week away and we struck gold in finding Ty Gaer.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your holiday here and we hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the future. Best Wishes Jennie and Simon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janyc15
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home and space to roam!”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 3rd visit to East Blockhouse, but first time to Ty Gaer having stayed in the 2-bed Ty Haf previously. We have 3 kids aged 7-9 and they loved the space, the ponies, exploring the fort, Dylan the dog, and the TVs in the bedroom!! The chocolate Easter bunnies on arrival were a lovely extra touch (plus a welcome bottle of wine & welshcakes for us!) Although it's well off the beaten path and looks unusual from the outside, inside, the under floor heating, spacious layout and attention to detail make it feel special. The views from both sides are stunning. There's a well-appointed kitchen, books, board games & Wi-Fi plus a games-room & free laundry next door. The local beach is never too busy, perfect for rock-pooling and paddling, with a great little cafe. It's an easy walk down along the beautiful coastal path. We also loved exploring Barafundle and Stackpole which are within 20-30 mins drive and both stunning. Jennie & Simon have a wealth of suggestions for days out in Pembrokeshire having explored it all with their own kids. We really love it here and will definitely be back again. If you want local amenities, it's probably not for you (although Asda do deliver!) but if you want to enjoy a touch of wilderness in peace & comfort, then I would definitely recommend it!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you loved your holiday here and we look forward to welcoming you back again.Best Wishes Jennie and Simon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing