We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a lovely place”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Clydey, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janetscht...
Coulsdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage itself is charming but absolutely filthy. Plates with food on in the cupboards. Utensils and kitchen were thick with grease and grime. We had to spend half a day cleaning and put some things in the out building because we couldn't stand to have them in the cottage with us. There wasn't a surface that I felt confident to touch without disinfecting first. So disappointing considering we came here to relax. The cottage is stunning, but so dirty, I would not recommend. What a shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thanks for leaving a review, we appreciate all feedback. The owner has spoken to the housekeeper about the issues you mentioned and will ensure that the property continues to be thoroughly cleaned in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaBlo...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dark cottage with absolutely no privacy inside or outside”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I know you can't do much about the location of a cottage in respect of sunshine etc but the location of this cottage in relation to it's surroundings is not shown in the photos. The cottage was very dark inside and you couldn't have the curtains fully open because the people in the holiday cottage opposite could see right in. The second and third bedroom and upstairs bathroom are accessed through the main bedroom and you are expected to place a screen at the end of your bed to get some privacy. Not good. The upstairs bathroom ceiling slopes so low that you bang your head every time to use the toilet. The cleaning is also not very thorough. There were cobwebs everywhere. The whole cottage needs a really good clean, the fridge , cooker , bathroom and door handles on the kitchen cupboard doors, the windows.

The only good thing about the cottage was the comfy bed and level of equipment. The garden/courtyard had loads of weeds, around the approach to the front of the cottages all weedy and neglected.

It became just somewhere to sleep rather than a home from home experience.

We loved South Wales though , the area is beautiful and there is lots to see and do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: South west Wales
Liked least: The cottage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate the feedback. The owner has spoken to the housekeeper about the standard of the property and will ensure that the property is consistently cleaned to a high standard in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard L
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home from home!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a 5 day stay at Star Mill Cottage. Arrived to find a bottle of wine and bag of choccies waiting for us - great start to a holiday. The cottage is simply wonderful - Lucy and Bob (the owners) have put so much thought into providing everything that you could need. The bathrooms are equipped with gels and soaps. The kitchen is fully loaded with dishwasher, washing machine, microwave etc. Thoughtful touches abound everywhere - provision of dishwasher tablets, washing up powder, birdfood for the numerous feeders in the gardens, plenty of luxurious towels, Wi-Fi connectivity, 3 TVs etc etc. The cottage is full of history and is in an idyllic setting - a perfect place to escape the rat race and rediscover yourself. This holiday meant a lot to my family as our planned holiday earlier in the year had to be cancelled following the death of my mother and this was the first opportunity that we had to take leave of dealing with her estate. I am so glad that we chose Star Mill Cottage - we had a wonderful week exploring amazing places and coming back each night to our home-from-home. Words can't describe how much this holiday meant to my family and I can't recommend Star Mill Cottage highly enough. Deserves to be booked every night of the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sense of history in the cottage
Liked least: Spiders!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varley197...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from the beautiful Star Mill Cottage. The cottage is very welcoming and cosy. It is well equipped with all the essentials you need for your stay, plus a lot of added extras such as dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, sauces and condiments, and lots more. There was even a bottle of wine and chocolates on our arrival (nice touch, thank you lucy & Bob). It was just so nice being able to go somewhere and not having to go out and buy all these little things that add up to a lot. The bed was so comfy I didn't want to get out of it but there is so much to see and do that you just have to. We thought this place was amazing and would recommend it to anyone. Thank you for a lovely weekend Lucy & Bob.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that is was so well equipped
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany H
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday in charming cottage with everything you could ever need.”
Reviewed 27 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Arriving late on a miserable wet Friday evening a week or 2 before Christmas feeling thoroughly fed up after getting lost (thanks to Sat Nav) and a speeding ticket (thanks to bad driving) we arrived at Star Mill Cottage to have our moods lifted entirely. The cottage was lit up by two Christmas trees and fairy lights all up the stairs, it was warm and cosy, nicely decorated and the perfect antidote to a miserable journey.

We absolutely loved our time at Star Mill Cottage and spent much of our holiday enjoying what the cottage had to offer, including nights curled up with a book in front of the wood burner or making use of the internet enabled TV. We had indulgent baths in the gorgeous roll top bath and baked cakes in the oven.

Star is a tiny hamlet with lovely walks near by and it's only a 10 mile trip to Cardigan and Poppit Sands.

Can't praise this place enough really. We were so pleased and had a wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing