We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills Restaurant, Excellent Value, Well Worth A Try”
Review of Lou Marmitou

Lou Marmitou
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Mussidan
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dordogne, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No Frills Restaurant, Excellent Value, Well Worth A Try”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We Returned to Lou Marmitou after a year away. As there are some changes I thought it a good idea to bring things up to date.

On this occasion we went on a weekday Lunch and did book in advance, when we arrived the Car Park was full and many Vehicles in the Car Park opposite, inside the Bar area and Restaurant was nearly full, in total seats about 120.

The decor is very basic, it comfortable and has good ambiance and the constant drone of chatter which all makes for an enjoyable meal. As there is no choice it is a set meal therefore the serving staff is kept to a minimum which helps to keep the cost down. The service is very efficient but don't expect to be in and out in an hour, part of the enjoyment is to relax and enjoy the experience. The meal is 5 course inclusive of Wine, Water, Bread and Coffee, the new all inclusive price is Lunch & Evening with exception of Sunday is €13 Sundays are now €18.

As for the Meal was very much as before and of a good standard local produce cooked on the premises the Soup is always excellent, the second course is usually a salad often traditional Périgordien, the main course is either Duck, Pork sometimes Steak or Lamb served in the French style either with chips, or vegetables often beans green or white. They then offer a Cheese board with a choice of 4 or 5, after this a selection of sweets and coffee to finish. There is always plenty of Wine bread and water on the table, if you require more just ask. The service is excellent, you can either eat in the Bar area which seats about 40 or the Restaurant which seats up to 80, there are a small number of seats outside OK for Summer. It is always best to book; it is normally very busy. The Restaurant is family run and there is always a warm welcome, regulars get the traditional greeting.

They are open every day for Lunch & Dinner except Sunday evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dordinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“French cuisine it ain't.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Came highly recommended by many. We were a group of 8. The decor was, shall we say, basic. The service was a bit slow, not surprising considering there was only one person serving. The food? Soup - OK, melon and ham; ham was a bit thick but very nice. I had quail which if the shotgun hadn't killed it would have been cooked to death. Dry as a stick. Everyone else had lamb, that was old boots! Desserts were a bit poor, charred flans, saggy meringues. Wine was house red which was apparently OK. And a ton of salad and some cheese.
We weren't looking for fancy stuff but unchewable meat is unforgivable.
Fell way below the reviews of others, so not recommended on our experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlesgaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin!!!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Visited twice in September 2013, both set meals

Sunday lunch - 5 courses for 18€ and midweek evening meal for 13€.

This is not a upmarket restaurant but good local tasty food and popular with the locals.
We really liked it and worth a visit

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danskora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordogne, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Value - A Must Try Restaurant”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We have been going there for about 4 years usually for Sunday Lunch. The price for Sunday is €15.00, in the week it is just €12, all inclusive of Wine, 5 courses and Coffee. There is normally no choice it is a set menu, we go regularly and we rarely have the same.

The soup is home made always excellent, the second course is usually a salad often traditional Périgordien, the main course is either Duck, Pork sometimes Steak or Lamb served in the French style either with chips, or beans green or white. They then offer a Cheese board with a choice of 4 or 5, after this a selection of sweets and coffee to finish. There is always plenty of bread and water on the table.

The service is excellent, you can either eat in the Bar area or the Restaurant which seats up to 80, there are a small number of seats outside.

It is best to book; it is always busy with a great atmosphere. If is family run and there is always a warm welcome.

They are open every day for Lunch & Dinner except Sunday evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dordinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing value, nicely cooked food.”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just one menu all day at 12 euros per head.
For that you get a bottle of wine; bread keeps coming throughout the meal; soup (self served from a tureen delivered to your table; second course - usually pate and or ham; main course - always a choice of two meats; salad with cheeses; choice from a selection of deserts on a tray and coffee.

All food nicely cooked, wholesome and tasty. My teenage daughter is more than a little picky but she really enjoyed our meals here and, when given the choice of where to go, chose for us to eat here.

Beers, soft drinks and aperitifs are very reasonably priced.

You really should take advantage of Lou Marmitou if you're in the vicinity, it's a gem!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kilmeedyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lou Marmitou also viewed

 
Mussidan, Dordogne
Mussidan, Dordogne
 
Saint-Medard-de-Mussidan, Dordogne
 

Been to Lou Marmitou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing