We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Lou Marmitou

Lou Marmitou
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Mussidan
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nicosia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Went yesterday - Sunday and Friday night. Wonderful. Despite a change of ownership several years ago this restaurant remains as fabulous now as it did 21 years ago. Excellent value - Sunday lunch 17€ and and other meals 13€50. Five courses plus unlimited wine and bread topped off with lovely strong black coffee. A treat for the senses too. Local food and home cooking. Nothing grim here. All wonderful. Under Family ownership too. Varied menus.

Helpful?
Thank jenh1969nicosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“French food and hospitality at it's very worst. Tres grim”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

A French greasy spoon. Things don't have to be this bad, do they? Grim to le brim. Poor service, poor quality food, tinned tomatoes for God's sake! Cheap yes, but even so! Like some subsidised factory canteen from the 1970's. Never again, thanks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leBarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londres
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Are we talking about the same place?!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I went there after checking tripadvisor and I am not thanking you... I thought the food was appalling. Terrible standards. I'm so surprised so many of you like it!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LabarLondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value typically local cuisine”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I must disagree with our friend from Glasgow. This restaurant provides basic local food for the community for a sensible price. Five courses and unlimited highly quaffable wine for around ten quid is excellent. There are a host of fine dining restaurants in the area so if that's what you want you seek them out. I've been here a dozen or so times with friends and family and had great service and enjoyable evenings.

give it a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordogne, France
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No Frills Restaurant, Excellent Value, Well Worth A Try”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We Returned to Lou Marmitou after a year away. As there are some changes I thought it a good idea to bring things up to date.

On this occasion we went on a weekday Lunch and did book in advance, when we arrived the Car Park was full and many Vehicles in the Car Park opposite, inside the Bar area and Restaurant was nearly full, in total seats about 120.

The decor is very basic, it comfortable and has good ambiance and the constant drone of chatter which all makes for an enjoyable meal. As there is no choice it is a set meal therefore the serving staff is kept to a minimum which helps to keep the cost down. The service is very efficient but don't expect to be in and out in an hour, part of the enjoyment is to relax and enjoy the experience. The meal is 5 course inclusive of Wine, Water, Bread and Coffee, the new all inclusive price is Lunch & Evening with exception of Sunday is €13 Sundays are now €18.

As for the Meal was very much as before and of a good standard local produce cooked on the premises the Soup is always excellent, the second course is usually a salad often traditional Périgordien, the main course is either Duck, Pork sometimes Steak or Lamb served in the French style either with chips, or vegetables often beans green or white. They then offer a Cheese board with a choice of 4 or 5, after this a selection of sweets and coffee to finish. There is always plenty of Wine bread and water on the table, if you require more just ask. The service is excellent, you can either eat in the Bar area which seats about 40 or the Restaurant which seats up to 80, there are a small number of seats outside OK for Summer. It is always best to book; it is normally very busy. The Restaurant is family run and there is always a warm welcome, regulars get the traditional greeting.

They are open every day for Lunch & Dinner except Sunday evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dordinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lou Marmitou also viewed

 
Saint-Medard-de-Mussidan, Dordogne
 
Mussidan, Dordogne
Saint-Jean-d'Estissac, Dordogne
 

Been to Lou Marmitou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing