We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous holiday destination”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
theoodono...
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
“Fabulous holiday destination”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in April 2018

After a recent 2 week vacation to this beautiful part of the world,I highly recommend it as a perfect place to unwind.
The house is very clean,spacious and well equipped.The courtyard and pool area are without doubt an extra bonus, especially with us having 2 young children in our company. This space also consists of a beautiful barbeque area(and pizza oven) which we made great use of.
This region has such spectacular and rugged scenery, with so much to offer, whether you choose to stay local for the day or go for a drive. There are lots of amazing walking routes close by, and a climb to the top of one of the many Corbierres hills to absorb the sunset is a must! The children loved it!
We also spent our time exploring ancient ruins, having a dip at a couple of waterfalls and days at the beach.
Peter and Dominique are such warm and friendly hosts, and we valued their knowledge and advise on the many things to see and do.
We can gladly say it will be a memorable holiday, and we are looking forward to returning in the near future to this hidden gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our place. The area is stunning and we would love to see you back again.
Kind regards
Dominique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christmuk...
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“a beautiful stay- we're already looking at dates for next year!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for a week in August at Maison de la Fontaine with a family group and had the most wonderful time. When we arrived Dominique was there to welcome us and provided us with lots of helpful local information. The house itself is great! The kitchen was massive and really well equipped which was great for our family (we are big foodies who love to cook!). The bedrooms are spacious and light and somehow despite the 30 plus degree heat were really cool in the evenings which meant we all slept well. The courtyard garden was absolutely perfect. Lots of seating space for us all and we loved the pool. I must mention the built in BBQ and pizza oven which we made the most of! We are already discussing when we can all come again!

A few tips: ask for directions for the mussels and oyster shops in leucate and go there to buy some amazing mussels.
Go to the cave in the village for one of their tapas nights. You have to book in advance but this is a great excuse to sample some of the wine which is excellent and very cheap! You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and outside space, the quiet village location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. I very much enjoyed having you as guests and I am delighted you want to book again. Look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne F
Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnifique”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

All 9 of us had an excellent stay. The facilities were of a high standard. Lovely picturesque hamlet, very quiet and relaxing. Good base for exploring the region and would recommend the property to amyone. Dominique was extremely helpful and a pleasure to share a glass of wine with.
Anne

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miss_nibb...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Everything we wanted or needed”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

It's hard to fault this place. Myself and my partners family wanted somewhere 8 of us could stay under one roof, but a place with a view! This place had it all!
On arrival at Maison de la Fontaine, we were greeted by Dominique who made us feel instantly welcome. She was able to answer all our questions both regarding the Villa and the surrounding areas. She recommended some beautiful places to visit that would be suitable for our party. Dominique was also happy to answer any queries we had throughout our stay and was only happy to help.
The villa itself was v spacious and the pool and outdoor space was perfect for the days we just wanted to relax at the villa. The villa was equipped with a fully working kitchen and family bathroom aswell as en suite bedrooms for the adults. It was the little extras that really made it home from home I.e. The complimentary bottle of wine and homemade jam and the extra blankets incase it got chilly during the evenings, which it didn't but who can predict European weather?!
Set in a quaint traditional French village, this villa has it all, the views, beautiful surroundings, fantastic facilities and a v welcoming owner. I have recommended it to all our family and friends and hope to visit again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities of the villa
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2013
Thanks Joanne for your lovely comments. It was great to look after you and your friends. We hope we see you again soon. Au revoir
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrailerBy...
Huddersfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hightlight for us in 2013, definitely going back!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Stayed at Maison de la fontaine with 3 small children aged 7, 5 and 2. The gite is located in the lovely landscape of the Corbieres in a quiet village and the weather was fantastic. We made full use of the pool which was ideal to keep our children happy. The area is truly beautiful with stunning , very safe beaches. The gite is very well appointed , spacious and there is a real attention to detail. Peter and Dominique were fantastic hosts and always on hand for advice on what to visit. The home made jam and local wine were a nice touch. Dominique tried to teach the kids a few French phrases and gave us plenty of tips on the best places to visit for a family. We had a great time and look forward to returning very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Range of activities in all directions.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Reviewed 28 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as guests and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2RedMancs
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful stress-busting holiday staying at this house”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We had a wonderful stress-busting holiday staying at this house set at the edge of a small village with fabulous views of the surrounding hills. Maison de la Fountaine has four good sized bedrooms and a modern, well-equipped family sized kitchen. There are lots of wineries nearby and Carcassonne, Perpignon and Narbonne are in easy driving distance. We made the most of the great weather, recharging our batteries sunbathing and relaxing by the pool in the private courtyard area. We also walked one of the well-signposted local trails from the village over the hills and it was well worth it for the stunning views down on the valleys and the village. The wine from the local Cave is very good and it was nice to sit outside as the sun was setting and finish off the day with a nice glass of the local red. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet position with great views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is a very peaceful village and the perfect place to recharge batteries. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Kind regards
Dominique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;