We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six go to Norfolk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Fransham
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We are six ladies who regularly go away on long weekends and do a little walking and site seeing. We spent such a weekend in the separate, self catering accommodation at Greenbanks Hotel. The self catering accommodation looks like a typical Nofolk barn but is new and extremely modern and suited our needs perfectly. We overlooked the pretty lake with its abundance of wildlife and where you can fish, if you wish. Walking round it also made a lovely early morning stroll. Although we self catered, we ate in the hotel restaurant a couple of times and had delicious and beautifully presented meals each time. Jenny the owner couldn't have made us more welcome, as did her son and daughter in law Alex [the chef] and Julie. Exclusive use of the swimming pool with its sauna and jacuzzi was also a plus. We'd go there again. M.K.

Room Tip: The ground floor of the self catering accommodation with its wheelchair access and wetroom.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneofsix186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Trying hard to be a higher level restraunt at £28 for 3 course, but just not cutting the mustard. Felt more like a breakfast cafe than a restaurant with bright lighting and little atmosphere. Things you would/wouldn't expect at this level.. Plastic butter packs on the table, no ground salt/pepper mill, rediculasly fast between each course, asking several times for pudding order, English mustard terrible powder mix, water glasses from asda, veg boiled to destruction. Steak was nice (although no choice of potato, to our surprise served with chips without mentioning in the menu apart from 'served with vegetables. Steak and chips was not what we were looking for).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank DBMatkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just stayed a couple of nights, lovely barn conversion done to a high standard, the only down side is the electric single beds (which are very narrow, unable to turn over in them) and the mattress is very very soft so you sink into them, so not much support, but apart from that the property had everything we needed, full kitchen, TV in both lounge and bedroom, underfloor heating, amazing bathroom, which is great for the disabled guests. We had the evening meal and was excellent, good choice and well cooked, the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The pool is amazing, lovely and warm, great hot tub to relax in and good changing facilities, all in all an excellent place

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindacookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We recently stayed at Greenbanks and could not fault it. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, the food was excellent and a special thank you to Jennie who couldn't do enough for us in the food department. The setting is beautiful with a large lake you can go for a wander round. The rooms are all individual, like chalets. Ours was very spacious with a staircase leading up to a room for our teenager who was thrilled with the docking station on the TV and free Wifi. We are recommending Greenbanks to everyone and just hope there is room for us when we visit again.

Room Tip: Room 9 was perfect for us with a room upstairs for our teenager
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in this charming hotel - upstairs rooms in main building. A little road noise but nothing to worry about. Food was especially good and everyone there was so, so helpful. Could not do enough for my elderly mother - wonderful service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed for a week in a party of five in barn apartment which comprises two double rooms and bathroom upstairs and one double room, bathroom and kitchen/living area downstairs. Warm welcome from the owners. Accomodation beautifully finished with luxurious and spacious bathrooms, good sized bedrooms and attractive features such as decked outside area and upstairs balcony overlooking scenic pond/lake area. Pathways around the water run very close to the barn though, so there's often a privacy problem if you want to keep bedroom blinds open to enjoy the views! My only grumble regarding the barn as a self catering option is that there is nothing like the living area needed to accommodate five or six people (only one small two seater sofa, small dining table and four dining chairs), and the kitchen could be better equipped for cooking (would be useful to have side plates, garlic press, steamer, and more breakfast/dessert bowls and cutlery needed). Unfortunately some mugs and wine glasses not very clean from previous occupants, hairs on plates, so would prefer maids to check such items are ready for new occupants. Great facilities for disabled travellers, all wheelchair friendly, and hoists, shower chair etc all available. Fab swimming pool available to book for exclusive use (advisable to pre-book before arrival to secure the days/ times you prefer). My 10 year old son loved spotting herons and other birds, and we found a small grassy area near the lake to play catch and badminton, but if I had young children I'd be concerned about the lack of boundary from the barn to the water and car-park. Perfectly located to explore Norfolk - Sandringham, Holkham Hall and beach, Wells-next-the-Sea, Pensthorpe Nature Reserve, Langham Glass, Holt, Gressenhall workhouse, seal-spotting boat trips...reached everything within half an hour to an hour. Waitrose 10 mins away in Swaffham and Co-op in nearby Derham. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Page71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

very high spec rooms, with all you could expect. we stayed in the external units, not the new barn conversion and the room size was spacious and although designed to accommodate disability didn't notice it. The staff were very attentive and couldn't have been more helpful - we didn't want a full meal on the Sunday and they went off menu for a light snack instead for us despite having a full house in the restaurant. Easy to get to and within easy reach of small market towns by way of beautiful countryside - didn't get to try the pool but had lovely walk round the lake

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom_debstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Fransham
15.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,149 reviews
7.4 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
126 reviews
20.0 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
834 reviews
10.6 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
903 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Greenbanks Main Road | Dereham, Great Fransham NR19 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Fransham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Fransham
Price Range: £109 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant Norfolk/Great Fransham
Greenbanks Country Dereham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing