We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“High standard rural retreat.”
other travellers have booked this property
View of the property from the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the property from the pool
Stunning Main Bedroom, with exposed stone walls and a vaulted ceiling. Amazing views to wake up to. The glass doorway which will lead out onto a decked balcony for you to enjoy morning coffee.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
View of the property from the pool
Stunning Main Bedroom, with exposed stone walls and a vaulted ceiling. Amazing views to wake up to.
The glass doorway which will lead out onto a decked balcony for you to enjoy morning coffee.
The Main Bedroom ensuite
A touch of luxury, with central bath and walk in shower.
Double bedroom No. 2 Overlooks the garden and pool.
Double bedroom 3. Wake up to views across the fields, the grazing horses, even the occasional deer.
Twin room with views across the open countryside.
Family bathroom with bath and shower.
Set in the beautiful French countryside, an ideal retreat to unwind and relax.
Even on a dull day, the beautiful heated pool is very welcoming.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Chalus, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
808Claire
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“High standard rural retreat.”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just got back from spending a week at this house. Whilst I agree with the reviews I note that they are a couple of years ago and no one mentioned the mice. Yes it's called the mouse house and we thought that was because of the charming pottery mice hidden through out the house but there are plenty of field mice too!! At times there were three or four running around whilst we were watching tv. Lucky we weren't frightened but if you are this is not the property for you! You need to make sure all the food is put away or it's been eaten by the morning. Makes for a noisy nights sleep if you are a light sleeper too. Pool was great as the children could stand up and even a selection of inflatables was provided. Great base for getting out and about. Can definitely recommend the local go ape and zip wire. Oradour sur Glane is a visit not to be missed. Guide book in the information booklet at the house. "Lest we should not forget"

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickShrim...
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A highly specced and very comfortable place for a holiday”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Renovated property completed to highest comfort and standard. Master bedroom a feature, games room for teenagers, pool, hot tub, Sky TV, gas BBQ. Huge, well stocked kitchen too. What you see is what you get. Excellent description and pictures.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you Nick,much appreciated.
Regards
Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet idyllic farmhouse luxury”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed over the new year and had the best new year ever . Relaxing in the hot tub , playing pool and visiting some fabulous places . Can't recommend this place enough, if I had my way I would say nothing and keep it a secret x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina M
Ilkeston, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I was looking for a relaxing holiday in the sun and I got it. The house, the surroundings and the peace were perfect. La Maison de la Souris is very well equipped, well thought and beautifully decorated. Having stayed in many gites, they can be sometimes disappointing with the quality of the furniture and kitchen equipment but not in this house. It is obvious that the owners have taken care to make it a home from home. We hardly moved from the house as it had everything we were looking for. The adults were able to relax with good books only interrupted by dips in the pool and my teenage son had fun in the pool but also with the Xbox and pool/air hockey table as well as listening to his music (he never once said he was bored!). I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PROPERTY.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury of the house and outdoor areas
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesWB19...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow, wow and wow”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Resisted the temptation not to leave a review in the hope of keeping this gem of a place a secret, but reluctantly decided it is so good others need to know about it.

Location: pretty idyllic. Not far from the airport, stunning scenery especially when you're basking next to the warm pool. The surrounding villages are picture postcard material.

Accommodation: this is high-end throughout with spacious and modern rooms equipped with everything you need and unexpected added extras which only serve to reinforce the fact that you made a good choice in booking The Mouse House.

Pool: actually perfect. Warm and surrounded by new decking. Great for pool-side BBQs as the sun goes down.

Children's verdict (ages 10 and 12): Love the indoor pool tables, the swimming pool is amazing, we got to play football, we could make a lot of noise as there is no-one around, and our bedrooms were great. We went zip wiring nearby and it was amazing as it was over a huge lake.

Overall: Trying hard to think of any negatives and failing. Andrea, who we booked with, provided a faultless service and we have already assured her we will be booking again. Soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of everything
Liked least: No dishwasher! (that's just me being lazy!)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location close to lots of amenities yet in a rural setting
Liked least: The floor bouncing when the washing machine was on spin!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing