We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming , tranquil 'escape' in beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Vieille Maison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Vieille Maison
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming , tranquil 'escape' in beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed here with my husband and two children in June and it really was excellent. Lovely rustic , cottage - style rooms in a peaceful location. Delicious breakfasts on the charming outdoor terrace surrounded by flowers . A fantastic supper -totally delicious and using fresh , local produce Excellent value and a good wine list.
Good sized , clean pool .
Friendly and laid-back hosts who were happy to help with any needs .... wifi/ iron/ hairdryers / meals for fussy kids etc.
Nice places to visit close by -fab market in Riberac and Aubeterre has lots to offer.
Sun shone for our whole visit which obviously helped make it even more special and relaxing.
A short but enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pillac, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Although we were yesterday the only dinner guests it was cosy to have a good dinner at La Veille Maison. The starters for me and my dinner guest were simply but very tasteful.I had a whole baked camembert. The main courses showed the skills of the chef. One of the dessert was a home-made strawberry cake. Real patisserie quality. The Perchemant wine from the Bergerac region completed our meal. A restaurant very worth to be revisited

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joop L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

we have been visiting this small hotel in a beautiful area of france for over fourteen years - andy and egyia are delightful hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them - you only have to ask , the accommodation is excellent and the food prepared by andy is delicious - very special to eat out on the terrace,overlooking the pool and lovely views on a pleasant warm evening.
All our friends and relatives who have been with us agree La vieille maison is a charming place to stay and such good value for money. see you next year !!

Room Tip: all pleasant, larger rooms 4 and 5 are our favourites room 3 has a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We booked to have a meal here based on a recommendation from friends. We were not disappointed. The menu was interesting and varied. I could have chosen multiple choices from each course . In the end I chose figs with mozarella and Parma ham for the starter which was delicious.For the main course I had fish which was equally good. Desserts were all home made and wonderful. We will visit again. We were well looked after and it was an enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 789JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit, the last being around 3 years ago. I returned because of the beautiful accommodation, friendly service and total escape. I was not disappointed. It was everything I remembered and more. I took my in laws and husband this time and they loved it too. Andy and Egija are wonderful hosts, we enjoyed a personel service that you would never get at a hotel. We ate two out of our three nights at the restaurant onsite. Andy is an amazing chef and Egija makes amazing desserts. You would be missing out if you didn't eat, stay or visit here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DanielleWales9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

It is really difficult to think of anything positive to say about "La Vielle Maison" that hasn't already been said in previous reviews.
Andy and Egija are delightful hosts who spare no efforts in making you feel welcome from the moment you arrive at their delightful family run hotel set in truly beautiful countryside.
When we arrived for our long weekend break in the Dordogne we were fully expecting to sample the gastronomic delights of the local area most evenings, but given one opportunity to sample Andy's culinary skills and Egi's bubbly form of hospitality was quite enough to convince us to save the petrol, stay put and go with the flow.
This wonderful little home away from home is just the perfect antidote to the stresses and strains of everyday existence. Enjoy!!!

Oh, just one thing - a telly and a phone in the room would make this place perfect - sorry Andy, couldn't resist it :-)
(Actually the lack of those things, with the oak beams, sloping floor and the antique french furnishings made such a refreshing change from the business hotels I am used to visiting)

See you next year!

Nige and Bev

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nibz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

9 of us came to stay for one week, leading up to our daughters wedding. we were amazed at the quality of of it all. The hospitality was superb and even though we had only booked to eat on the first night, we found the food to be beautiful.

Egija was such a hardworking and couldn't do enough for everyone, they were all so accomodating. We would deffinetly recommend anyone to visit here and use it as a base for a lovely holiday!

we shall deffinely be returning, especially to sample the pork again!

xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Paul-Lizonne
6.3 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord
Hostellerie du Perigord
#1 of 1 in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
20.8 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
16.2 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
La Braisiere
La Braisiere
#1 of 1 in Saint-Romain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
17.7 mi away
Les Tuileries de Chanteloup
Les Tuileries de Chanteloup
#1 of 2 in La Roche Chalais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
18.1 mi away
Moulin De Vigonac
Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vieille Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vieille Maison

Property: Hotel La Vieille Maison
Address: le Bourg, 24320 Saint-Paul-Lizonne, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Paul-Lizonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Paul-Lizonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel, nestled in the small, quiet hilltop village of St Paul Lizonne, surrounded by stunning countryside and panoramic views. We have 9 en-suite rooms, each with a view over the surrounding hilltops. A large pool awaits those lazy summer afternoons and meals can be served either in our oak beamed restaurant or on the terrace where you can relax and soak up the atmosphere over our locally sourced menu and regional wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Vieille Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Vieille Maison Saint-Paul-Lizonne, Dordogne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing