We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful day with a great crew” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Queen Cruises

River Queen Cruises
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful day with a great crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We went on this cruise on a Monday. The day was beautiful. We had a fantastic crew, Captain Earl and first mate Leo were very knowledgeable and did a great job of showing the wildlife and explaining the area. Captain Earl would slow or stop the boat to let us see and take pictures of the wildlife. We cruised in the lagoon first and then went into the river where we saw many birds, alligators and turtles. In the lagoon, we saw dolphins and fish jumping out of the water. We were able to stand in the front of the boat to get an even better look of the wildlife and some of the beautiful homes along the way. I would recommend this to anyone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vtgramWallingford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NB
Level Contributor
118 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We opted for the River Queen cruise up the Indian River Lagoon and into St. Sebastian River as it would give us a few hours on the water. The four of us (all seniors) thoroughly enjoyed the trip and the Florida flora and fauna. Captain Earl did his best to see that we had a good time and shared his knowledge of the area, plants, and wildlife. We all learned some interesting things we didn't know. We saw dolphins, alligators, blue heron, turtles, osprey and many other local birds. He slowed the boat several times so we could see them and get some good photos. First Mate Leo was available for anything we needed including a hand on and off the boat and getting the windows zipped so we didn't get soaked when a shower came along. All in all a most pleasant and memorable excursion. Note: the cruise recently moved from Micco to Mulligans pier in Sebastian.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrunners777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
765 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“Always Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

When we get friends and family in from out of town, we always take them on one of the three cruises offered by River Queen Cruises. Our latest "adventure" was with Capt. Benji and her mate, Scott. We only had the four of us, so I was sure they wouldn't take the boat out, as it was clearly stated they had a minimum of 6 passangers. To our delight off we went on the cruise that crossed the lagoon to the Sebastian Inlet and also down a canal to a beautiful location that was very secluded. We saw dolphins, sea turtles, and many species of birds. It was wonderful having our own private cruise and Benji and Scott kept us entertained the whole way. They were both delightful and added so much to an already wonderful experience.
They also offer cruises down the Sebastian River which is like something out of a Tarzan movie, very lovely and quiet, and also to Pelican Island which is a must see for any "birder."
They offer snacks and drinks priced at only $1. The boat also has a restroom on board.
If you're in the Sebastian/Micco area take one of the River Queen cruises for a few hours of beatiful scenary, relaxation and the best nature has to offer.
The boat leaves from the big green marina. There's plenty of parking available too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaragwen270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Fun for All Ages!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Our River Queen Cruise was very enjoyable for our entire family. There were seven of us, four adults and three children, ages 3 years to 70 years. We went in late December, 2011. The day was much cooler than we'd have liked, but it didn't spoil the fun.
Crossing the Lagoon proved to be scenic--lots of dolphins--but windy and quite chilly so we were glad we had jackets and hats along. (There are clear, zip-down windows on the boat which help break the wind, but it's still cold on the lagoon if the day isn't hot and there is a breeze.) Things warmed right up as soon as we got across the lagoon and reached the more sheltered St. Sebastian River.
We didn't see as much wild life as we'd hoped, especially manatees, probably because the weather (and water) were cool, but we still enjoyed the scenery and the leisurely pace of cruising along the river. Even in cool weather, there is always something in bloom along the river. You're never very far from "civilization" but the St. Sebastian River Preserve Park feels like you could be miles from anywhere. The cruise takes you up the south fork of the river through the park preserve. We saw some alligators, many water birds, dolphins and the tail of a manatee--we never did see more than a manatee's tail, unfortunately, because the water just wasn't that warm--but manatees aren't the only thing to see and we had a good time. (The Municipal Power Plant in Vero Beach is the best place to spot manatees if the weather/water are cold elsewhere.)
The boat is a large flat pontoon boat with comfortable bench seating and bathroom facilities. There are snacks, soda and coffee for sale ($1 each). The people who run the tours are great with kids! Each of the kids got to be "captain" and steer the boat on our way back across the lagoon (where there is plenty of room to maneuver). The kids were well-entertained and really enjoyed themselves the entire time!
We spent several pleasant hours, saw some lovely scenery along the river and took lots of pictures. Overall, we felt we got our money's worth and we can recommend the River Queen cruises, especially the one into the St. Sebastian River Preserve Park. Check the Web site for details and to make reservations: http://www.sebastianriverqueencruises.com/.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cmpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pelican Island Trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Basically not much of anything. For $30+ per person we got a boat ride for an hour out, saw a few birds, hardly any coming in to roast, then rode an hour back. People were very nice but it was a waste of my money and time. We could have been told that we were mostly getting a scenic boat ride. There were few birds to see and they never suggested that we bring field glasses to see the few birds that were there.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank catsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Queen Cruises also viewed

 

Been to River Queen Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing