We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel in the middle of nowhere!”
Review of YHA Land's End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Land's End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed at this Youth Hostel after a 10 day cycle from Bournemouth to Land's End.

The Good: The owners were very welcoming, friendly people who took good care of me. I distinctly remember them doing my washing and helping out with my trips around the local area (and the owner's Pogue's collection which left much to be desired). The food and bar was also top notch and, as is the case with most youth hostels, I met a wonderful range of people; some starting their bike rides from Land's End to John O' Groats and some simply going for a spot of meditation! Expect to socialise with all sorts in Youth Hostels; there is a tangible sense of community and this one, with its living room and communal dining area, was no exception.

Secondly, the views were fantastic, especially on a clear day you were able to see right across the natural bay (I'd recommend talking a walk down to see the sunset). Amenities were very basic but very good - nice, comfortable bedding, clean rooms, and warm showers!! Which was certainly welcome after 250km cycling on the road. The value of all youth hostels is very, very good, I think it was only £15 a night to stay here.

The Bad: Not much at all, just be prepared that the Youth Hostel is absolutely in the middle of nowhere - I remember cycling 2 miles to the 'local' co-op in St. Just to get my ready meal macaroni cheese; probably a better idea just to pop for the in-house dinner. Absolutely no mobile phone signal (I could deal with this for about 5 minutes) and, as with all youth hostels the communal setting does have its downsides - 3 drunk engineers from Wiltshire absolutely ruined the last night of my trip through the unhappy choice of them sleeping in my room.

Overall a cheap and cosy Youth Hostel in absolutely nowhere with a genuine community feel and welcoming owners.

Room Tip: One without drunkards from the West Country
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for YHA Land's End
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

What a great youth hostel! this was the first time i stayed in a hostel and i can say i will happily stay in one again!! The staff couldnt have been more helpful, friendly and welcoming!!! The room was really nice, it had a great view out to the sea. The food there was very good and a good price. If your looking for somewhere to stay at Lands End look no further!! I will defiantly be staying there again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trojanarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Everything was great there. My family and i would likely to stayed there again for summer vacation.

The staff, Richard was friendly to us. He give us alot of useful information to travel in Cornwall. He was such a nice guy.

At night time, u can camp outside the hostel back yard, those rabbit will come out to join u to camp together. Its so cute.

For ppl who travelling at night to the YHA hostel, please becareful on the road.

Room Tip: Room that face back yard would be great!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Went on last minute 2 night camping trip. Camped on the back lawn overlooking the sea in the distance. Peaceful, relaxed and nice feel about the place. Use of kitchen, fridge ideal. And could walk to pub!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank cime de carrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed here for just over a week with our 10 month old who really enjoyed the large lawn and getting to know all the other guests (who we kept bumping into at various beaches/villages!). Really nice youth hostel with a sociable feel and very friendly staff. Travel cot and highchair provided which was very useful. Great view of the sea from our family room and only a 10 min walk down to the beach. No en-suite bathroom but 3 good showers very close to our bedroom.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Great hostel - wonderful location. Not entirely convinced by YHA breakfast, but that says more about company policy than this actual place. We had a lovely time.

Tip - go in daylight if you want to walk to the nearest pub. we went after dark, missed the shortcut and walked MILES around the roads. It was worth it though!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownLongEaredOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Perfect location, but just don't follow your sat-nav, as it might send you to completely different place. There's long and very narrow driveway from the village of Kelynack. The room we stayed in was four bedroom (two bunk beds) en-suite (the bathroom facilities are the newest thing in the whole hostel we heard). There's restaurant and bar, kitchen serves breakfasts and evening meals (got to be booked in advance). If you are lucky enough to have good weather you can enjoy views or walks along the Atlantic coast.

Room Tip: The en-suite room in south end of hostel (ground floor) is best choice, especially for families, alt...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endrju_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Just
3.6 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
506 reviews
2.7 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
54 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,690 reviews
5.8 mi away
YHA Penzance
YHA Penzance
#1 of 1 in Castle Horneck
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Land's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Land's End

Address: Letcha Vean Cot Valley, St Just TR19 7NT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Just
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in St Just
Price Range: £27 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Land's End 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, PitchUp, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your YHA Land's End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing