We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK pub food”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 St Just B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I only visited The Wellington once during my stay in St Just. It seems to be the quietest of the four pubs in the town, but it may have just been the time of year (mid December). However, at least they were actually serving food on the night I was there (whereas the pub I had been planning to eat at - The King's Arms - had decided that they weren't serving food that night). I'd been on a fairly long walk, and needed some carbohydrates, so I went for ham, eggs & chips (£8.95). This being a St Austell Brewery managed pub (like many in this part of Cornwall), the chips were the coated kind (which I don't particularly like), but the ham was good, and the eggs nicely done. It was just what I needed really, and reasonably good value. The service was fine, but given that I was the only person eating I wouldn't have expected less.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Highrise61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Wellington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

We have strong family connections to st just and could not think of a better place to spend our first wedding anniversary. We booked a two night stay at the Wellington Hotel, having been so impressed with the food on previous visits.

When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady called Tracy who showed us to our room. Yes the room was a little dated, but it was clean and comfortable with everything we needed.

We enjoyed several - well probably more than several - drinks in the bar than afternoon and were welcomed to join Tracy and the locals in their chatter, and found them all to be very warm and friendly.

We were surprised that the pub had been taken over by new owners since our last visit in 2010 as it is still so authentic, and were delighted to meet Nick and Sandra the new and proud owners, they are both very warm and friendly and seemed to know what they have to do to keep both visiting trade and their locals happy.

The bar and catering staff remained the same, well, if it ain't broke don't fix it! Plus the wonderful home cooked menu was as good as ever, o.m.g. The chips are legendary!!!!! Sandra is keen to update the letting rooms and we agree that If a change needs to be made, that's where.

The breakfast is fantastic, wonderful locally produced food cooked to perfection. What better way to start your day.

All in all, if you want a 5 star hotel, don't book here, book a 5 star hotel!!!! If you want a 5 star welcome then DO book here!!!!!!

We cannot imagine what people expect for £50. This is an excellent value, warm, homely hotel with wonderful, friendly staff, fantastic food and we cannot wait to go back!!!!

Thanks again to everyone, especially Tracy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westonwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Warm and comfortable, clean and friendly. This was very reasonably priced lovely granite old coaching inn. The room we had was in the converted stables at the back of the pub so it was quiet and a short alley meant you could avoid the temptation of walking through the pub to your room. Sometimes we did and sometimes we didnt!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kajoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Could not get in at The Commercial so blindly booked The Wellington. On the plus side the room was big, on the negative the place was tired, the mattress old, the bathroom unclean, the breakfast v average. The night cost £75 for the room, had it been £50 I may have been happy and expected less. Food and service at The Commercial was very good. Sunset at Cape Cornwall wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoycetheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Myself and 2 colleagues were on a fact finding tour for my company, Tallyho Events. We chose The Wellington Hotel as it was central to exploring the areas we wanted to visit. Walking into the entrance of the hotel, you are immediately in the bar area, where we were actually greeted by several of the regulars, which put us at our ease. The lady behind the bar showed us to our rooms on the ground floor, which were basic but totally acceptable. The next morning we went in for breakfast, and the menu looked a bit sparse, basically stating that breakfast consisted of bacon, egg and sausage, so being 3 grown (ie overweight) men we thought we would be looking for a 2nd breakfast elsewhere, however we were pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was 2 eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms and tomato, with thick sliced fried bread and ample toast. There was also the option to have cereal to start. On finishing breakfast I got chatting to a lovely lady called Sandra, who it turned out had just taken over the hotel with her husband Nick. Over the course of the next couple of days I was able to get to know more about them both, and they were an absolute delight. If you decide to visit the area, then drop them a line and they will be more than happy to look after you. Both Sandra and Nick know that they have changes to make as you can see by previous comments, but they are very committed to making those small changes that need making. In closing I have awarded this hotel a five, NOT because of the decor but purely on the fact that EVERY member of staff and the new owners were warm, friendly and 100% efficient. I will be returning to the Wellington in a few months time to take a small break away and I am looking forward to seeing Sandra and Nick again, and will update you with their progress.

Room Tip: If you do not mind stairs then ask for a room upstairs as this will shelter you from any noise from...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTallyho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Not bad value for money and would probably have been an OK stay (one Saturday night before starting a Lands End to John O'Groats bike ride) on another night. However, we were one floor above the bar, and whilst we anticipated a bit of noise up to maybe 11:30, it continued until at least 0100. I wasn't about the confront a whole bar, so tried rininging, but the number listed was out of date (noting so was the number on the Fire Card). If you want to serve drinks to people who are clearly very drunk and shouting, why bother putting people in bedrooms above the bar. also, the shower didn't work at all. Not impressed.

Room Tip: Try the annexe - other people in my group who stayed were completely satisfied.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lousontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

our welcome was great, the rooms were clean and smoke free. situated right in heart of this small town. it was a pleasant experience. the owners were friendly and warm and helped us a great deal for figuring out places to visit which were off the map. over me and my friends enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adityajain86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Just
0.9 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
4.3 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
506 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
485 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
816 reviews
10.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: Market Square, St Just TR19 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Just
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Just
Price Range: £69 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the A3306 Lands End to St Ives road, one of Cornwall's most picturesque drives. Imposing granite building overlooking the main square. Rooms in main building or overlooking the garden. Ideal centre for walking, climbing, touring, bird watching, water sports and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing