We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 St Just B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This place is a lovely little pub in the town the meals are lovely, very good value!! Staff very friendly stayed in St Just for a week and this was the best place to eat and drink!!!! Your dog is allowed in while you eat which for us was excellent, or you can just sit outside and watch the world go by!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

What a splendid place to have a break from normality. St Just 'Feast' is a local tradition involving merry making and local customs. We were lucky enough to stumble over this little known piece of Cornish tradion and even more lucky to book the Wellington Hotel. I understand that the new owners Nick & Sandra are in the process of updating the 11 bedrooms. We stayed in one of the family rooms at the back of the hotel. It was of a very good standard, certainly equal to any of the major Motel chains in the UK. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom clean and sparkling, with nice soft towels !
We were extremely[and pleasantly] surprised by the size of the full English breakfast, [and the fact that the sausage was real and not full of bread]This meal kept us going till late afternoon.
We joined in the festivities in the evening, the hosts Nick & Sandra were very friendly, as were the locals. We ate in the pub both evenings, portions are not for the faint hearted!
We intend to put 'Feast' on our calendar for next year and the Wellington Hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiter if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

3 of us stayed for one night so we could have an early start on the Saturday morning to check in at the airfield as well as give us the window to transfer to the boat if the flights were delayed.
We had a refurbished family room which was very good for one night. Good shower and bathroom.
We did not eat in the hotel for our evening meal, but will do so when we stay next as the portions looked impressive. This is a locals pub as some of the others we popped into. Breakfast was laid on early for us at 7.30am and if we needed to get off to transfer we were offered a breakfast take away. Weather was excellent so enjoyed a very large multi course breakfast with the highlight of local bread (bakers next door) and tasty bacon and sausages. A kipper option would have been nice but I didnt feel the need to eat until the evening!
Position wise St Just is perfect for bird watching the valleys without the need to drive back to Penzance for the evening and perfect for the airfield. Will stay again and recommend to anyone as a good value stay,
?

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed for 3 days in September with my 2 sisters and 1 nephew. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience, very friendly room clean and comfortable food homely well cooked and ample servings, staff and locals friendly and made us feel very welcome. Will stay there again if I get back to St. Just.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank CcOuRtB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had to stay here as The Isles of Scilly were fogbound and we couldn't be flown across. The room was very big and the bed comfortable and clean but it was very old-fashioned and could do with a revamp. The food was pub grub and OK and we were grateful for a bed for the night, but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay , very welcoming and friendly , would not hesitate to recommend. Accommodation comfortable and clean , breakfast a mighty start to the day and delicious as well.
We tend not to stay in the same place twice but this is one place I would break that rule for.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinewakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Visiting from Australia and touring around Devon and Cornwall we had not booked any hotels.
We drove into Saint Just and saw the Wellington Hotel. First appearance was not over impressive but when we were shown the room our opinion changed. Very comfortable room with a huge en suite and a delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Just
0.9 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
4.3 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
514 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
487 reviews
3.3 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
490 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: Market Square, St Just TR19 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Just
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Just
Price Range: £71 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the A3306 Lands End to St Ives road, one of Cornwall's most picturesque drives. Imposing granite building overlooking the main square. Rooms in main building or overlooking the garden. Ideal centre for walking, climbing, touring, bird watching, water sports and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing