We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Just
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Booked for a round of golf here for three of us. Unfortunately we found out that weather had disrupted our travel arrangements so we needed to find a room for the night at the last minute. The owner of the business helped us out straight away, we had some lovely food and ended up playing the second day as well. Top staff, tough golf course but great fun. Nice Peroni too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

On a recent trip to St Ives, my boyfriend and I decided to book an additional night away and found due to the busy time of year, struggled to find anything in town. We opted for a deal we found at Cape Cornwall which is about a 40 minute "scenic' drive from St Ives. Having looked at the website, we really could not judge what the place was like, so we had very little in terms of expectations based on what we paid. Firstly we arrived to a lovely welcome from the owner's son who was not only helpful, but also humoured the other half in his quest to drive a golf buggy (he looked like a kid on Christmas Day driving it in the car park). We were shown our rooms which were stunning; very new and lovely colour choices. The bathroom was also very new with a huge double shower and decent facilities within the room. Although there was no view to speak of, as soon as you enter the main Club House (where breakfast and dinner are served) we were given a view to die for - right across the cape, over to the light house with a beautiful backdrop of manicured greens. We were not there for any golf, however the facilities looked impressive and they are in the process of building a swimming pool to add to the leisure concept (due to open in 2015). The bar at the Club House was also good and the cream tea was clearly the best we had during our three day trip to Cornwall. We didn't opt for dinner in the hotel, instead we headed into town (5 minutes drive) where we had our choice of three decent local pubs and a fish and chip shop which had a line down the street. We went back to the club house for a night cap and enjoyed a magnificent sun set from the comfort of the bar which also features an huge fireplace and comfy chesterfield sofa's. The next morning, we woke up to blissful silence (in stark contrast to our stay in St Ives) and after breakfast, we went for a stroll down to the cape which once there, offers some of the best panoramic views of Cornwall (100% more beautiful than Lands End). The only let down was the lack of WiFi reception in the room - however this did force me to turn the phone off for 24 hours so it's probably a blessing in disguise. All in all, if your looking for great service, peace, quiet and tranquility, it's the perfect place to stay (and incredibly good value for money). I can't wait to re-book for 2015.

Room Tip: We chose a standard room however there are options to upgrade so if you want a view, I would suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MinkyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Booked 2 rooms for a one night stay, arrived on a beautiful summers evening with friends. Found the room to be of an excellent standard, very clean, great views and friendly service. Breakfast was in a sunny bay window, again with great views, was presented well and very tasty. All in all we had a wonderful time. Only small issue was that the Wifi signal was poor.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_Drake186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night . The room was small but very clean with everything you could need including hair dryer.
The breakfast in the morning was great with a wide choice of cooked and cold.
The only issue with our stay was the mattress was not very supportive so was not the best sleep ever .

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank flipper1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Went to the monthly quiz with the family and had a meal. Choose the chicken breast dish. It was fantastic and tasted delicious. All the flavours went together. Will back again next month and can't wait

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank statman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stumbled upon this almost by accident & very pleased we did.

They encourage visitors to make use of the car park & walk to the cape & then return for refreshments.
This has obviously been recently refurbiished & the result is a very stylish comfortable establishment.
We enjoyed a couple of very nice salads & drinks which were very well presented. The atmosphere was very good with service being very friendly & efficient & very reasonably priced.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed one night at the end of July 2014 in the family room. We had a lovely large tv mounted on the wall so the hotel must have been listening to reviews! Although the room (no. 8)was large, the bed was only a standard double and the mattress needed replacing. We thought a kingsize bed would have been a better option. The bathroom was spotless and all fittings were really contemporary which we loved. It is a converted barn with low windows so no black out curtains so beware if you are travelling with a little one. No view either. Unfortunately we did not sleep well as there was a party going on in the local 'houses' until 3am. Not the hotel's fault though but it really did disturb us. We also could not get Wi-Fi in the room - the manager did apologise but they were having difficulties.

We loved the breakfast and the service was fine. We really enjoyed the evening meal though. The standard of the food was a real surprise. I had a burger and the meat was delicious with melted cheese throughout. My husband said his steak was spot on and the chips were handcut with skin on and gorgeous. We were really pleasantly surprised with quality of the food - well done to the chef. They even rustled up a bowl of plain pasta for my son with grated cheese on. The wine was lovely too and chilled to perfection. MUCH better than I ever expected.

It was a novelty to stay right at the westerly point of England and this hotel suited our purposes well with a clean, contemporary, large room and a really fabulous evening meal. At £120, not bad rates for this part of the country in the peak of the season. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Just
3.4 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
504 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
60 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,773 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 3 in Penzance
849 reviews
10.6 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure

Address: Cape Cornwall Road | St Just, Penzance, St Just TR19 7NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Just
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Just
Price Range: £47 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Cornwall Golf And Country Club
Cape Cornwall Golf & Country Club Hotel St Just In Roseland
Cape Cornwall Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing