We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Hoilday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Grace Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
There are many remnants of the tin mining past around St. Just.
Cape Cornwall is a 15 minute walk away.
St Michael's mount, easily reached from Penzance.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
St Just, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barry D
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hoilday”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Very clean and well positioned to explore the West Country, St Just has everything you could ever want in walking distance. The lounge dinner is great for entertaining and keeping everyone together. Local bakery is very good also the butchers has a wide range of fresh meat, we went to one of the many local pubs most nights and they are very welcoming. We had sun every day which helped to explore most of what was on offer even the local wine making company which we hope is just as welcoming as most places we have visited so far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position within cornwall
Liked least: Broken toaster
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Thanks for your great review and glad to hear you like St. Just as much as we do. It's a great little town.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn S
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a wonderful time we had”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me (granny) my daughter her 2 daughters and my 3rd granddaughter all stayed at Grace Cottage.

The cottage surpassed our expectations, spacious, clean, well equipped and homely.
We frequently stay in Cornwall to visit Great Granny but have not resided here before. It was a perfect base.
It was wonderful from the booking until the return home when we were sent items that had been left behind. Thank You so much.

we will be back.

The Shelley / Ryders

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spqce, quality and location
Liked least: Drying facilities limited
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for your great review. We're very glad to hear how much you like the cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joeydolly
N.Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant Venue”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Grace cottage is lovely and inviting. The kitchen is the best equipped we have stayed in. An even nicer welcome was the fresh flowers and wine left for us on arrival. The property is really clean and deceiving in its size from outside. Unfortunately we didnt get the best of weather especially to get washing dried and maybe a dryer would be the one thing that would be useful for the cottage to have. Other than that we had no complaints and would really recommend Grace Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
Thank you for your great review. A washer/drier is something we'll look into. Thanks for the suggestion.

We hope to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George182...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week in St Just. The cottage was lovely and clean and the flowers, wine & milk a lovely welcome Thank you. Grace Cottage was in the perfect position, just around the corner from my brothers house and a few minutes walk from the shops, park, pubs & bus stops. We arrived on Lafrowda Day !! What a fab day it was with a parade of musical icon floats (lit up at the night parade) made by local schools and groups, live music, street food, street entertainers and a children's area. There are so many places to visit in this area, and things to do from beaches, walking, fishing, or just chilling. The Minack Theatre is a must!! The weather was great just one damp day ! The beaches are beautiful. We will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Thank you for reviewing Grace Cottage and speaking so highly of it and St. Just. You'll never find yourself short of things to do in St. Just and the Penwith peninsula! Glad you enjoyed Lafrowda day too, that's always a great day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly H
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but smelled of dogs”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in a great location and beautifully decorated. A lovely touch to welcome with wine and flowers and milk and most of all loo roll!
The cottage welcomes pets but we don't have any and we did notice a smell of dog. We sorted this with scented candles. Also picked up a lot of dog hair from floor and furniture so we hoovered a few times. So if you are sensitive to this then beware. We're not so it wasn't a huge problem more a mild inconvenience. The porch mats does look caked with pet hairs so could easily be replaced.

The cottage is spacious and the kitchen well stocked. We didn't mind the lack of outside play space for our toddler as the park is just at the end of the road so it was great to get him running around there. Shops are just a few minutes walk so it's well located. Parking can be a bit tight outside. Double yellows directly outside the cottage but you never need to park too far away.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
With regards to the smell of dogs. Unfortunately, the guests before you made a terrible mess of the cottage. A lot of it made by their dogs. We ask all our dog owning guests that they don't let their dogs upstairs. The guests before you ignored this request and let their dogs run wild. Our cleaner had to call her husband in to help her clean the cottage before your arrival. They were working for three hours (she would normally be able to prepare the cottage easily in two hours). I apologise if the cottage was not up to its normal immaculate state, but I'm sure you understand our cleaner only had limited time to prepare it before your arrival.

Given you texted me asking if a friend could stay for two nights, to which I agreed and a further text asking if you could extend your stay, I'm assuming you enjoyed your stay? I hope you will consider returning one day and we'll be able to extend the welcome we would normally be able to give and not one limited by our previous guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent... couldn't fault it!”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect cottage in a perfect location. St Ives, Land's end and Penzance all within easy reach, though St Just itself is a lovely little village with a number of pubs if you fancy staying local for the night. We ate in the Kings Arms one night, and the food was really good.
The cottage was immaculate and clean, with a proper kitchen with everything you need. The 2 bathrooms were also a great help!!
You could easily stay here a fortnight if you wanted!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the cottage as much as we do. I'll pass on your comments to our housekeeper, I'm sure she'll appreciate them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanmos
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very pleased with cottage it catered very well for ourselves and our little dog.we will definitely be back to grace cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and homeliness
Liked least: having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing