We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Relax, sit in the sun... Enjoy a cool glass of wine and read a book.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Relax, sit in the sun...
Enjoy a cool glass of wine and read a book.
Artwork alongside the double doors - one of the owner's own mosaics.
The owners coastal themed silk paintings and appliqued cushions add Cornish flavour
Comfort in style. High quality Jonh Lewis cotton sheets and duvet covers. Melin Tregwynt blanket.
Relax, put your feet up, and watch TV.  WiFi available.
Settle back into the hand-made cushions...
...and read a book or two.
New, well equipped modern kitchen with granite work surfaces, electric oven, induction hob.
Shaker style shelf storage
Cornish studio pottery mugs.  We source things locally wherever possible.
Essential supplies readily to hand
Dualit toaster and fast boil kettle. Unique, hand made, original fused glass splashback.
Shaker style dining.
Home made bread and Cornish Yarg cheese go VERY well with a glass of wine
Bathroom, with more original artwork, has a toilet, sink and shower. Quality toiletries provided.
Pebble mosaic provides a coastal twist.
Take it easy in the Cornish sun...
...and enjoy a cool drink in the garden.
The spectacular West Penwith Coast near Land's End, only 10 minutes drive away.
Porth Nanven - Cot Valley, one of West Penwith's hidden gems.  A haven for Choughs and seals.
Sennen Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Just, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Atay86
1 review
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Crugkern cottage itself is beautifully furnished and very comfortable; it felt like home straight away. On top of that, the grounds are huge, stunning and almost as lovely as the owners, Chris and Rick. It's the perfect getaway.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
I'm glad it felt like a home from home. As for the gardens, I'm just in the middle of planting out all the lovely plants I acquired at the recent Royal Cornwall Show. I'm a bit of a sucker when it comes to offers! If the rabbits don't get them first it could look quite stunning this year. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Gem !!”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Tucked away in a peaceful location, yet only a short drive to some fantastic places to visit, Crugkern Barn is a hidden gem. The barn is equipped for the perfect stay, with thoughtful touches throughout. From the fresh bread, local yarg and butter on arrival, to the local walking route maps and prepared daysack, Rick and Chris have thought of everything you could possibly need and nothing is ever to much trouble.
We had a fabulous stay at Crugkern, and it was made all the more special by Rick & Chris. It was like staying with friends. They are so thoughtful. Never intrusive, they will be as much or as little a part of your stay as you choose. We enjoyed every bit of their company, and it was a pleasure getting to know them over a glass or two of fizz !!
We can't recommend Crugkern Barn highly enough. Rick & Chris have made this the perfect little bolthole and without any doubt at all, we will be back in the not too distant future. Thank you Rick and Chris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and the fabulous hosts !!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
First of all, thank you for your kind words Andy, and secondly, thank you both for your company. The opportunity to share a glass or two on a summer's evening with you and hear about your days adventures was a delight. It is always a pleasure to help our guests make the most of both the barn and this fabulous area. The stunning weather helped too. I'm glad the maps and daysack came in handy. Do come again, we'd love to see you. Sorry, got to go, I can smell the latest batch of bread baking for our next arrivals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R147a
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Most beautiful and welcoming holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I had the loveliest stay at Crugkern. The cottage was beautifully presented and the hosts Rick and Chris were so welcoming and helpful I felt instantly at home. There are so many places to explore nearby at Cot Valley and all along the coast, whatever the weather. The cottage itself is set in the grounds of their home, amongst stunning gardens and panoramic views across the countryside. Furnished to a very high standard, the cottage is so comfortable, attractive and homely you will not want to leave! Lovely personal touches include homemade bread and yarg on arrival and an exploring backpack to use for coastal walks. I look forward to returning again and can highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Chris and I are delighted that you felt at home in the barn, and enjoyed your strolls around the garden. We had a lovely walk down the Cot Valley and along the coast with some old friends in the early summer sunshine yesterday. I never tire of it. The flowers are stunning at the moment. We'd love to see you here again. We enjoyed your company and you will always be welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahkV23...
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“just perfect”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just the most wonderful stay in the most beautiful barn. Peaceful and perfect in every way. A lovely welcoming email offering travel advice and offers of bedding instantly makes your stay your own. Huge welcoming smiles, homemade bread and yarg is just the beginning. Beautifully decorated, including the owners own stunning artwork and such amazing attention to detail wherever you look - shampoo, soap, slippers and even a rucksack complete with rug, flask and maps. You couldnt wish for more nor want to change a thing. The garden is fabulous and should the weather allow (or not - just put on a coat and wellies!!) the shed is full of sun loungers, bbqs, buckets, spades and body boards. So much more than a home from home - I look forward to many many more nights away! Thank you x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cant fault a thing - it was all just perfect
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Well, it looks as if we have just about got it right. Thank you for your kind words. Discerning visitors are always welcome! It was a pleasure to have your cheerful company, and to have the opportunity to induct you into the mysteries of Yarg. The garden is romping away now in the spring sunshine, and the hanging baskets are going up for you today. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Barn conversion was fantastic and the hosts Rick and Chris couldn't do enough for us giving us walking maps and telling us places to go even asking what sort of pillows we would like. A fresh home baked loaf of bread and local cheese awaited us on arrival.We loved the area and the barn.would highly recommend it to any couples going that way

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Chris and I are delighted that you had a good time here and made the most of what both the area and the barn had to offer. It was a pleasure to have you to stay, we enjoyed your company. Thank you for "test driving" the walking maps, I'm pleased you found them useful. I'm working on the next set as we speak! Good luck on the rest of your UK tour.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleD71...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional barn conversion and lovely hosts”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed for two nights in March 16 in this lovely little barn conversion, situated about a 5 minute drive from St Just. The barn is in a great location should you wish to visit Land's End, the Minack Theatre, St Ives and Penzance.

The conversion is of a very high standard and the furnishings and equipment are quality items. The bed is incredibly comfy with a lovely warm duvet and additional blankets should they be needed. The kitchen is small but has been so well thought out that it is easy to prepare a meal should you wish to cook. The bathroom is lovely with a walk-in shower which could do with a little more pressure but is perfectly fine and there are lovely soft towels and toiletries provided.

The owners, Chris and Rick, and very welcoming and friendly, and provided a fresh loaf of homemade bread (delicious!), a wedge of Cornish Yarg cheese, some milk and butter. They are lovely people and will happily talk about the area and their lives should you wish to have a chat.

This is a delightful barn which can be used to explore Cornwall or just sit and chill in the patio/garden area with a cold beer or glass of wine, and enjoy the fresh air and isolation of the countryside.

We will definitely be going back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We've tried to equip the barn with furnishings and features which would be on our 'wish list' so we are glad you enjoyed it. You are right about the bed. Many guests have commented on how good a nights sleep they have had, although plentiful amounts of clear Cornish air and the peace and quiet of the Cot Valley may also have something to do with it.
On the shower front, the water pressure is a little lower than mains pressure as it is a private water supply from a spring. It is filtered, treated, sterilised and pressurised before coming into the house/barn system. It would have been nice to have fitted a 'power shower' but unfortunately these are not compatible with our system.
Glad you liked the bread and cheese. Yarg cheese is one of my favourites, especially when taken with bread which is just baked.
We enjoyed your company too and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayelette
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home away from home.”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I am looking to move to Cornwall and my focus for the week was to clarify where I wanted to live. I fell in love with St Just on a previous visit, so wanted to spend more time here. This was my first visit to Crugkern Barn and I couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The Barn is fantastic. High spec fixtures, fittings and equipment. Bed and bedding super cosy. Really clean. Best equipped self catering holiday home I have ever stayed in. Would actually love to live in the Barn permanently ☺ real home away from home. Free WiFi was a boon for me as spent my evenings looking for properties and jobs. The icing on the cake was Chris and Rick. They were there when I needed them and the font of all knowledge. I may not have found my new home on this occasion, but I certainly found two new friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind words. Chris and I are delighted that you enjoyed your time here in West Penwith and that the barn lived up to expectations, but sad that you didn't manage to find your new Cornish home this time round. It took us several visits before we found our house so, with the 'selling season' approaching, I'm sure something will take your fancy in the near future. We'll keep our eyes open for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing