We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at its best”
Review of Blue Magpie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Magpie Lodge
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nature at its best”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

While driving up to the blue magpie lodge, we realised that we could not be very far from the end of the world :) the lodge in the middle of dense foliage and next to a gentle stream might be anything but luxurious, but it gives you this great outback feeling and you simply feel close to nature by staying there. The food is excellent, as is the service and the manager, when the ice is melted ( he needs a short moment), does anything to please you. We were truly spoilt up to the point that the entire staff got up to wave us off at 4h in the morning! Also our table was particularly nicely decorated for our farrwell dinner just because they liked us... It's possible to take a bath in the river and hiking in the forest is quite nice. And yes, electricity only works from 6pm to 10pm. It adds to the allure of being out in the forest and anyhow, it can be negotiated ;)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    39
    33
    11
    3
See reviews for
15
44
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Good location near entrance of Rainforest, but extremely basic with electricity only available 5:00-7:00am and 6:00-10:00 pm, no wifi, poor mobile connection, credit cards not possible.
Rooms poorly maintained and very humid, obviously no airconditioning nor ventilator in absence of electricity. Very friendly staff and food served thru a very basic but healthy buffet. Beer is very good ...like elsewhere.Small place, I guess only +/- 16 huts available.
Also along the road you can have an interesting walk.
The views and walk thru rainforest does compensate all, but perhaps it could be scheduled with only 1 night in stead of 2.

Room Tip: Just enjoy the park and accept for a moment the hardship of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolasHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southern Province hotels

Bodmin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The rooms here are very basic but comfortable. The electricity is only on 6-10pm and 5-6am so remember to take a torch. The staff are so friendly and helpful, they genuinely want to please, nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is some of the best we tasted in Sri Lanka, homecooked and very fresh. This lodge makes a superb base if you are visiting the rainforest, but do purchase leech socks ( available from the lodge).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Magpie. It is a basic but comfortable and friendly place. It is a nice place to relax and have a pot of tea or a beer after tramping about the rain forest. It has a fine view from the restaurant and form the verandas in front of the rooms. The food is quite tasty.
The only problem with the Blue Magpie is that it is often used by tour groups. Sometimes it is difficult to book a room as a result. Also the group takes over the place and a very different feeling sets in. We were not too happy when a huge tour bus parked right in front of our room and blocked our view.
Thandula Jayarante is a neighbor of the Blue Magpie. He is the best birding and naturalist guide in Sinharaja. He can be booked through the Blue Magpie. His knowledge of the rain forest environment is quite exceptional and he is great company.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sptravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viersen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The Lodge is beautiful located. The staff is very friendly and we enjoyed our tea in front of our room. We had a mosquito net therefore A/C not necessary. Food was delicious and they ask you what time you prefer also early possible. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MundM1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

A quite basic lodge in beautiful, beatuivul location at the doorstep to Sinharaja Roest Reserve. The lodge area is quite nice indeed including the "restaurant" that is outdoor under a big roof. There are flower and birds you can watch as you eat breakfast. Opposite to the small road leading to the lodge is the river where you can take a bath.

Still, the actual rooms are quite basic, but everthing in them worked. Water worked. Electricity worked during the dark hours. Due to the humidity and the lack of AC, things basically did not dry. The place is quite noicy, especially when it rains. But remember, it is a rainforest! :-)

The lodge has very friendly staff and the food is good. You can get a nice beer when getting back from the reserve. And if you ask them nicely (and if you have an hour to spare) you can get home made chips to go with your beer. The best chips I've ever tasted. :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea-mew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

A beautifull location for a lodge, near the park entrance of Sinharaja. Kitchen is good, friendly staff that will point out birds in the suroundings. A nice veranda to look at birds. Electricity is only a few hours at night and early morning - so the fan is not working at night, but there was a good, new mosquito net. So far so good, but the place was really dirty: dust, smashed dead animals on the tiles of the bathroom, to much wild life coming into your room, but well the room was dark, so we missed the most I guess... Hope they will find a cleaner and someone to renovate the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra77_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southern Province
0.0 mi away
Boulder Garden Hotel
Boulder Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kalawana
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 53 in Kandy
1,258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Edge
Rainforest Edge
#1 of 1 in Weddagala
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sinharaja Birder's Lodge
Sinharaja Birder's Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kalawana
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sinharaja Seyana Eco Lodge
0.0 mi away
Sinharaja Rest
Sinharaja Rest
#2 of 12 in Deniyaya
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Magpie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Magpie Lodge

Property: Blue Magpie Lodge
Address: Sinharaja Forest, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 1,312 Speciality Lodging in Southern Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Magpie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing