We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Experience to be repeated again and again!”
other traveller has booked this property
Master bedroom suite - views over the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom suite - views over the sea
BBQ on the beach at night The beach is at the end of the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Master bedroom suite - views over the sea
BBQ on the beach at night
The beach is at the end of the garden
Wide veranda overlooking the sea
Evening sunset
Use of neighbouring swimming pool
Traditional open fronted entrance
Peace and quiet to write
Very high ceilings and enormous common areas
Highest quality teak furniture throughout
Dining room space for 10
The most fantastic meals prepared by our chef
Cool polished concrete floors throughout
Highest quality linen and very comfortable beds
En-suite living room
Ensuite bathrooms
With open air showers
Second bedroom
With daybeds suitable for children
Six acres of lush tropical gardens
Hammocks positioned throughout the garden
Badminton and volley ball courts
Fresh water lake with tropical fish
Private beach hut
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Puttalam, North Western Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary S
New Malden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Experience to be repeated again and again!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have been home a week now after our holiday in Sri Lanka and everything is still so fresh in my mind. We had a totally amazing holiday and the biggest factor making this so, was Khomba House and the wonderful staff.

Indrani's cooking skills left us speechless. Every meal she produced was an extravaganza of colour and flavour and quantity but on our last night, which was also Robert's birthday, she excelled herself and she is so modest with it. In fact they all went to town to make it such a special evening. I was so overwhelmed by their generosity of spirit, it made me cry with gratitude.

Sisera, God bless him, is a total treasure, so pleasant, happiest when he helps you, gave us good advice on trip info and above all made Khomba House feel like being part of a family. After an overnight stay in Kandy, it felt like being home when we returned, they all seemed genuinely happy to see us back and equally we were pleased to be back.

We were all constantly amazed by how hard Guyan worked, he always seemed to be busy waiting table, watering the beautiful garden, making beds, lighting lamps, carrying beach hut mattresses to and fro, sweeping, and always with a happy smile.

And finally, a big thank you to you and yours for creating such a magnificent holiday villa which was very clean, very comfortable, very well staffed and very well equipped. In fact everything one needed to make it a holiday to be repeated again and again.

Mary and Robert
Surrey

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equicoltd
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical place, amazing food - paradise”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I just had to write to let you know what a wonderful time we had at Khomba House. All four of us agreed it was our best beach holiday ever and we have never been looked after as well as we were for our time in Sri Lanka. Sisera, Indrani and Gayan were an absolute delight and so helpful but completely unobtrusive.
The house itself is beautiful and the shower rooms are the best ever - shower by day in the sunshine or shower by night and watch the stars. One day we also had a little jumping frog that entertained us in our bathroom by jumping from the basin to the wall opposite and sticking on the wall.
The food was exceptional at all meals, how does Indrani do so many versions of vegetables with no repeats ! We were all amazed by her talent and by how much we could eat. Every meal was an eating experience and beautifully presented with Gayans military precision in laying the table and setting chairs etc.
Robert had his birthday while we were at Khomba House and it will be a birthday none of us will forget. Sisera helped us by producing wrapping paper, sellotape and glue for the presents, and the breakfast was unbelievable even by Indrani standards. In the evening we put on some music from my laptopn but Sisera and Gayan were not satisfied with that and produced speakers and amplifier and wired it up for us - voila music and dancing on the lawn under the stars - magical.
Everything we wanted to do was organised by Sisera and nothing was too much effort. You have a superb team working at the house.
Thank you for the most wonderful holiday, we are now wondering if your house in Italy has a similar set up ?
Kind Regards and many thanks
Marion Jukes

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and the staff
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle...
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The simply wonderful life”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Khomba House presents a most ideal setting for spending time with friends or family, the layout of the house, garden and beach hut provides great space for sharing and seclusion. The dolphin and wildlife park excursions provided exceptional experiences worth getting off the day beds for but also timed and managed perfectly. We delighted in the beautiful design of the house and the incredibly gracious hosting. Manager Sisera, his wife Indrani and their crew, looked after all our needs with beautiful sri lankan food, perfect timing for tea, ease in making all arrangements for tours, pumping up the tires on the bikes and being utterly delightful to chat to and to learn about the area and the country. The nearby resorts especially Pelagama staff extended similarly warm and helpful hospitality with great pool side snacks, cold beers and coconuts fresh off the tree.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - because food, adventure, people and accommodation all delivered
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanda m
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Khomba House is a real discovery, perfectly situated with a lovely spacious garden which led down to the very clean and deserted beach. The design has been painstakingly thought through with cool airy seating areas and very comfortable loungers dotted around the house. The bedrooms are wonderfully spacious with extremely comfortable beds and walk in showers which are open to the elements. The real plus is the lovely Sisera and Indira who looked after us beautfully and kept the house spotless. Indira's cooking was totally delicious and very varied using all locally sourced ingredients and every meal was a real treat. A very relaxing spoiling stay and I would definately love to visit again. PS It is also a real bonus to be able to stroll over to the other camps too and enjoy a swim in their pool!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: layout and the delicious
Liked least: I didn't
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana D
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed 17 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful house tastefully decorated. The amplitude of the rooms, the spacious porch, tropical landscape and the beach a few meters are perfect to enjoy a nice stay. The service staff is almost invisible, the sense of privacy is huge, making you feel at home. The attention is perfect and the food absolutely delicious. A highly recommended place for a relaxing stay. A perfect place for families or couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful and new house
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdSandema...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Khomba House - Fantastic!”
Reviewed 18 May 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Khomba House for 8 days and it was by far the best place we have ever stayed. The house itself is beautifully designed, with cool breezes running through it's open plan, incredibly spacious rooms and delightful features throughout. Sisera and Indira looked after us so well and nothing seemed too much for them. Indira's cooking must surely rival the best chefs in Sri Lanka - her curries are knockout and I would especially recommend the Chilli Crab. Sisera lit up every day with his amazing smile, he was so friendly and they were both great.

The place itself is a bit off the beaten track and so relaxing. It is far superior to the overcrowded beaches of Galle etc... in the South. There are three resorts down the beach, all of which are extremely laid back so that you can move from one to another and are welcomed at each. Bar Reef is immediately next door and has an enormous saltwater pool, and then there is Palagama next to that with it's equally large freshwater pool. I cannot recommend Khomba House highly enough, and I have stayed in many a villa - we shall certainly be back to this hidden gem!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2011
Good man - thanks for this!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing