We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way.”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend booked one night stay for us as a Valentines treat. A beautiful bouquet of flowers, a huge box of chocolates and a nicely chilled bottle of champagne was waiting fir us as we arrived.We stayed in a superior room( Applestore) which was really spacious and upgraded to a 5 course Valentine menu which was superb. I cannot fault the service or the quality of the food. It was well priced and beautifully presented. Looking forward to a nice breakfast and a walk around grounds tomorrow. We will definitely come back. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F10NAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    230
    83
    39
    19
See reviews for
117
629
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

We booked a Secret Escapes break at this delightful country house hotel. It really is a lovely house which still retains its original features and beyond reception has stunning lounges and drawing rooms beautifully furnished with all the gilded portraits and heavy drapes one associates with stately homes. Our room was vast and well appointed with a giant bed, sofa, table and chairs, two chests of drawers and a walk in wardrobe. A large fireplace with a floral arrangement added a little more to the feeling of being in a TV period drama! The bathroom was large with bath and shower.
The dining room is a gem and worth a visit even if not eating there. We had dinner the first night which was the Table d'hôte. It was preceded by drinks in the lounge accompanied by amuse bouche, a nice touch. The meal was well presented but not particularly impressive. At £33 it was disappointing and not good value. Breakfast is , again, not what we have come to expect from this type of hotel. The buffet section is a number of tiny bowls of fruit and yoghurt with croissants and pastries, all perfectly acceptable but it feels a little meagre. One orders a cooked breakfast . The first day I chose kippers and was surprised to have boil in a bag presented! The next day I ordered black pudding and tomato with poached egg. This is where the heading comes from. Half a slice of black pudding! Breakfast is £18.50!
Apart from that the stay was great. The staff work hard; they have to because there are so few of them! Gordon, the head waiter, is here, there and everywhere and goes the extra mile. It's a beautiful house and well worth a visit. We shall certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peroma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

General manager was extremely rude to my wife, and refused to assist in helping tow car out of a road which should be clearly roped off, as apparently it's not the first time this has happened. If this is on the land of the hotel then it should be your responsibility to sort this problem out. There is no excuse for the way you dealt with the situation and I certainly will not be visiting again, especially after so many memorable events at the hotel. It has clearly lost its personal touch and is becoming very much like the chain hotels. Gutted.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank STEPH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for giving us to opportunity to respond concerning this unfortunate incident. Your wife left the delineated tarmac drive late at night and inadvertently got her car firmly stuck in the farmer’s field which is not part of the hotel’s land. Two of our staff immediately went to assist but, as it was so bogged down, were unable to release it. Two senior managers then went to assist but were also unable to help. It is with regret that we were unable to assist further but the car was well and truly stuck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We purchased a Tickles deal for this hotel and were very pleased with what we got. At first we were surprised that we were not staying in the main building, but were pleasantly surprised with our room. We loved strolling around the grounds and really enjoyed the scenery. We chose to eat dinner at the restaurant in the main building and it was the highlight of our stay. The food was perfect in every way and the service was the best we have received in the UK. We couldn't wait for breakfast the following morning and it was also exceptional. Although we were quite full, we were counting down the hours until our afternoon tea which was enjoyed in one of the smaller side rooms and again exceeded our expectations. Excellent getaway - highly recommended!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank foodie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here for a post-christmas break, have stayed here before & returned several times as always enjoyed it. Will be brief as all the other glowing reviews say it all. Lovely room, spacious & clean, this time in one of the bigger rooms situated across from the main hotel, so had a cottage feel to it, beamed high ceiling, reception just across the way. Dinner on the first night was the usual high standard, BUT the dining room was very chilly as no heating apparent, no open fires lit in the lounges either despite the snow outside, it would have been magical to have had the fires lit in the lounges. We decided not to eat in the dining room on the second night as was so cold in there, so had a bar meal which was very good. The grounds were amazing in the snow & we took a lot of photos. Staff very friendly & efficient. Will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparrow040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is a delightful hotel located in open countryside. This was a wonderful three day stay where we were treated to superb food and a fantastic room. The staff were attentive and extremely helpful at all levels. We were met by a very helpful porter who carried our cases to our room. It was an adventure finding the various room in this country house. Open fires greeted you in two of the three lounges. What a great experience. We will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Manan room which is a standard room located on the ground floor. The bedroom was about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AceClassOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We booked through the Secret Escapes website, the deal on offer was just to good not to take advantage of!!

The hotel was steeped in snow during our visit, this gave the Hall a real magical feel. We brought our dog and we were given a excellent room with direct access to a private courtyard, just perfect!!

Staff were very pleasant and there was lots of information available on local walks and places of interest. We dined in the restaurant and had the a la carte menu, not cheap at £12 for starters and £24 for main courses, but good all the same.

The Hall is spectacular, although very large it manages to retain a very homely feel. Roaring log fires in some of the public rooms gave some relief from the bitter weather outside.

In all, a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. Great place to stay if you want to bring your dog as some the walks are lovely.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesfult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,015 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,125 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Property: Hintlesham Hall
Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing