We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
spalding
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fabulous hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

This was our second trip to Hintlesham Hall this time we took our son, daughter in law and six year old grandson. It is a beautiful old country house hotel with fantastic grounds. Each bedroom is different and the ones we have had have been a really good size. Both rooms were lovely, the only slight problem that others may need to be aware of is our room (Arcadia), which was lovely, was on the second floor and it is a bit of a climb, but well worth it! It was lovely to have bedrooms that were big enough to have two armchairs to relax in, instead of having to sit on the bed. Both rooms had really good size shower cubicles and huge shower heads with good pressure, we even had a lovely bath in our bedroom!

The choice at breakfast is very good and the quality of the breakfast was excellent.

We had the afternoon tea which was lovely we shared one between two of us, which was really enough for both of us. The sandwiches were lovely and moist and the cakes were delicious.

We also had dinner in the hotel which was delicious, the dining room is lovely and each table is well spaced. There was a good choice for each course and the service was attentive without being obtrusive.

There are three different lounge areas, which means that people can spread out and enjoy privacy if they wish it, relaxing in big squashy chairs and enjoying the log fires. The grounds are also beautiful they surround Hintlesham Hall so the whole area is so peaceful and is beautiful to walk around.

From the moment you walk through the entrance, all the staff were so polite, helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There was a slight problem with the window in our son's bedroom which was quickly rectified while we were out.

It was such a relaxing stay, the hotel radiates warmth and an old fashioned charm which makes it a really special place to stay. I know we will be returning again, and now the family realise what we were raving about they can't wait to come back as well, our grandson said he was very sad to be leaving and couldn't we afford to stay for longer!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room on the second floor if you have a problem with stairs. They have some lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Delighted to know you had such a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    220
    77
    37
    17
See reviews for
108
600
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed for two nights through Secret Escapes. The cost included Table D'Hote dinner on the first night. An impressive country house, although some TLC is required in certain areas. Attention to detail could also be improved upon (salt and pepper cellars empty on our first visit to the restaurant for dinner. Handles missing from the chest of drawers in our room).
The service was good and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Used the Table D'Hote menu both evenings. Good selection of wine, at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and i have stayed here twice within the last 12 months and both stays have been excellent. The restaurant is expensive but very good with an excellent wine list. On our first trip we stayed in the main house - the room was very large with great views and a four poster bed. The second visit we stayed in the coaching building which was amazing - the room was split level and had a roll top bath at the end of the bed.

High recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend booked one night stay for us as a Valentines treat. A beautiful bouquet of flowers, a huge box of chocolates and a nicely chilled bottle of champagne was waiting fir us as we arrived.We stayed in a superior room( Applestore) which was really spacious and upgraded to a 5 course Valentine menu which was superb. I cannot fault the service or the quality of the food. It was well priced and beautifully presented. Looking forward to a nice breakfast and a walk around grounds tomorrow. We will definitely come back. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F10NAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

We booked a Secret Escapes break at this delightful country house hotel. It really is a lovely house which still retains its original features and beyond reception has stunning lounges and drawing rooms beautifully furnished with all the gilded portraits and heavy drapes one associates with stately homes. Our room was vast and well appointed with a giant bed, sofa, table and chairs, two chests of drawers and a walk in wardrobe. A large fireplace with a floral arrangement added a little more to the feeling of being in a TV period drama! The bathroom was large with bath and shower.
The dining room is a gem and worth a visit even if not eating there. We had dinner the first night which was the Table d'hôte. It was preceded by drinks in the lounge accompanied by amuse bouche, a nice touch. The meal was well presented but not particularly impressive. At £33 it was disappointing and not good value. Breakfast is , again, not what we have come to expect from this type of hotel. The buffet section is a number of tiny bowls of fruit and yoghurt with croissants and pastries, all perfectly acceptable but it feels a little meagre. One orders a cooked breakfast . The first day I chose kippers and was surprised to have boil in a bag presented! The next day I ordered black pudding and tomato with poached egg. This is where the heading comes from. Half a slice of black pudding! Breakfast is £18.50!
Apart from that the stay was great. The staff work hard; they have to because there are so few of them! Gordon, the head waiter, is here, there and everywhere and goes the extra mile. It's a beautiful house and well worth a visit. We shall certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peroma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

General manager was extremely rude to my wife, and refused to assist in helping tow car out of a road which should be clearly roped off, as apparently it's not the first time this has happened. If this is on the land of the hotel then it should be your responsibility to sort this problem out. There is no excuse for the way you dealt with the situation and I certainly will not be visiting again, especially after so many memorable events at the hotel. It has clearly lost its personal touch and is becoming very much like the chain hotels. Gutted.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank STEPH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for giving us to opportunity to respond concerning this unfortunate incident. Your wife left the delineated tarmac drive late at night and inadvertently got her car firmly stuck in the farmer’s field which is not part of the hotel’s land. Two of our staff immediately went to assist but, as it was so bogged down, were unable to release it. Two senior managers then went to assist but were also unable to help. It is with regret that we were unable to assist further but the car was well and truly stuck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
485 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We purchased a Tickles deal for this hotel and were very pleased with what we got. At first we were surprised that we were not staying in the main building, but were pleasantly surprised with our room. We loved strolling around the grounds and really enjoyed the scenery. We chose to eat dinner at the restaurant in the main building and it was the highlight of our stay. The food was perfect in every way and the service was the best we have received in the UK. We couldn't wait for breakfast the following morning and it was also exceptional. Although we were quite full, we were counting down the hours until our afternoon tea which was enjoyed in one of the smaller side rooms and again exceeded our expectations. Excellent getaway - highly recommended!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank foodie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Property: Hintlesham Hall
Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing