We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Looking for some fine dining to celebrate our 45th Wedding Anniversary, we chose Hintlesham Hall, even though it was over an hour's drive away. We were not disappointed. We went for their all inclusive lunchtime menu & this represented excellent value. The food was delicious & the service very attentive, without being intrusive.

Our only negative comment, is that it does need a major overhaul as regards the interior decor, which certainly looks way past its sell by date & very dated by today's standards. We understand they are working on this & such a beautiful house will definitely benefit from some inspirational design ideas.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

As a late Mothers Day treat, Nan, Mum and Daughters visited for afternoon tea. Whilst the service and staff were excellent we found the actual afternoon tea to be poor. Sandwiches were dry with one filling we were not able to identify - a green coloured mush. Cakes were uninspiring, a small fruit tart with dry pastry, a slice of fruitcake, a tasteless eclair and a very dry scone. The tea was ok but only gave everyone two very small cups and so generally we were all agreed that it was not worth the cost of £16.50 per head. Also it was a beautiful sunny day but we were seated in the darkest most gloomy room imagineable. It was a shame as we'd looked forward to our visit but sadly will not return or recommend Hintlesham Hall for afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank lisa4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Lovely old 33 bedroomed hotel standing comfortably in its own grounds. The hotel provides traditional comfort and service. We stayed on a two night deal, which included a room up-grade, dinner on the first night and breakfast on both. Our allocated room was huge with traditional décor, a four-poster style bed, which was large and comfortable and newly equipped bathroom with shower and bath. As expected, dinner and breakfast were both of a high standard and served in the main cavernous dining room. Unusually for a hotel, there was a keg of Adnams Bitter – gravity fed at room temperature, in the bar. Chilled lager and beer also available as well as wines and spirits etc.. The staff throughout the hotel were helpful and attentive. Although there is no lift, I believe guests with mobility problems can be accommodated. Golf on the adjacent golf course available at reduced prices, but there is no pool, spa or fitness room. Would definitely look for another offer sometime

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peebee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have just returned home after a one night stay at this Wonderful Hall. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable ( we stayed in the coach house annex) with everything you could need. The bed was very comfy. Dinner was amazing and beautifully presented. The staff were friendly and could not do enough to help. The gardens were lovely. We went for a treat, hoping for a time to relax and be pampered. We certainly had both! We can't wait to return for a longer stay. thank you to all the staff who worked so hard to make our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank HornchurchPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have been visiting Hintlesham Hall for the past 15 years and always enjoyed my visits for lunch and afternoon tea. However on my visit this week I was shocked to learn that there is an additional charge for an extra tea bag (£3 + ). Apparently this is because they are using a more expensive tea brand (on a personal note I didn't like it, it was very weak and had no depth to it) much prefer the previous. I feel sorry for the waiting staff who have to try to explain the reasoning behind the extra costs. It doesn't make sense that management can justify this extortionate cost for a teabag, especially when you can have refills of fresh coffee for no additional charge. I for one will not be returning while this policy is in place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank Marilynb52suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your valued custom over the years and for taking the time to post your comments. We have only this last week implemented our new tea standard. This new standard includes the introduction of fresh leaf tea in nine varieties (including green tea and decaffeinated), with the provision of hot water in a separate pot to replenish the teapot. This way we are able to provide four cups of tea per person with our Afternoon Tea. Therefore, a request for further tea is served as fresh tea service and as such brings the additional charge.

I do hope you will visit us again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hall and being of service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here in March 2014 for a long weekend including a wedding. The grounds are lovely and well maintained. The tennis courts and ponds could do with looking as they are damaged and over grown. I don't think the recent weather has helped though. The rooms are gorgeous. My boyfriend and I stayed in a room right at the top of the building. I would not recommend the top floor to anyone who has issues bending or extremely tall. As its in the roof some of the ceilings are low, even over the bed. The floor is uneven too in some parts but that, again, is due to such a high old building. The inside of the building in general is amazing with grand paintings, high ceilings and soft furnishings.
On our first night half of the wedding party stayed and we had a dinning room to ourselves. The food was amazing and the room well set out. For breakfast was the traditional cooked breakfast or continental breakfast and everything was ready and set out.
The day of the wedding it was brilliant sunshine so everyone could take advantage of the grounds for pictures, drinks etc
There is a reception room with sofas, open fires, bookcases and information with history of the Hall. The cloakrooms were always spotless and well maintained. There are fresh flowers in near enough every window through out the hallways (maybe not so great is you suffer from hayfever haha). The bar area had seating and was well equipped even for our large group as we had booked every room in the Hall for the wedding night.
All the staff were very well dressed and very helpful. There was always someone to contact if you needed anything.
The morning after the wedding the breakfast room wasn't as well set out and we had to keep asking for things but I guess as there were so many of us I guess this can be expected.
Overall I can see why the bride and groom chose the Hintlesham Hall for their wedding even though it was a few hours drive from their home. Its a luxury place to get away from things. As there was hardly any phone and internet connection you have no choice but too get away from the modern distractions and relax, enjoy the facilities and chill out.

Room Tip: I only marked the room down by one as some aren't accessible to some people due to stairs/low/sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed in a room called Meghan, for an overnight stay including dinner and breakfast the next morning. This was a night away to forget about work or parenting or troubles and worries. It was exactly as intended. Everything was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff are helpful and friendly but not overbearing or intrusive. The grounds are nice to walk around, just for some fresh air and some peace and quiet (although you can hear the traffic from the nearby main road, its not too bad).

Dinner was lovely, breakfast excellent. My only niggle was that i ordered a newspaper and had to phone up reception in the morning to remind them. Hardly worth mentioning really.

If i brought my kids here, i'm sure the staff would make them feel very welcome, but it is not really the right place for them. This is a quiet peaceful retreat and not at all geared up for keeping kids entertained.

great looking golf course and clubhouse right next door. Didn't try it myself, but looked very nice, and quite popular.

I would definitley visit this place again. Wonderful place to relax if you like peace and quiet, the atmosphere of a stately home, reading, free wi-fi, casual strolls in the fresh air. brilliant.

Room Tip: you will obviously have a better view from an upstairs room. Downstairs rooms will have people walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agentnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
13.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,233 reviews
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
10.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Address: George Street | Nr Ipswich, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range: £93 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful grade 1 listed country house, that over the years has transformed in to the hotel that it is now. We have an interesting history, our guests are welcome to view the history on our website. Our new spa make us the perfect place to stay, offering a wide range of treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing