We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb and Relaxing”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just returned from a one night stay at the hotel. It cannot be faulted in any way.
There is a most relaxing and elegant air about this hotel and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel most welcome by all members of staff.
Our room - Regalia - was large and tastefully appointed and definitely not too hot, as a previous reviewer had mentioned. A delightful, modern, ensuite bathroom with powerful shower as well, and the generous complimentary supply of White Company sweet smelling bath products was an additional delight. The evening meal and the breakfast were lovely and plentiful, served in a classy oak panelled dining room with a gracious elegance about it and the grounds and gardens are also extensive and pretty. I would heartily recommend Hintlesham Hall to everyone, We got a good deal on Amazon Local for dinner, bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Regalia is the only room we saw, it is perfect.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
There are newer reviews for Hintlesham Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked 2 superior rooms for 2 nights.

On arrival the hotel looks impressive as you drive along its private drive.

Receptionist greeted us warmly, efficiently and appropriately. Immediately arranging for our luggage to be taken to our room.

Both rooms were spotless, comfortable, and had all the usual touches one would expect for a hotel like this, but are all too often missing. Good quality tea, coffee selection and plenty of wardrobes/drawers and matching hangers, it's the detail which makes it. Complimentary shower gel and shampoo by the White Company, plentiful.

Dinner was served in a beautiful wood panelled room which was candlelit and every table adorned with crisp white linen, spotless glassware and a smiling customers.

Food quality, presentation and choice was excellent, no complaints here and the service was attentive but unobtrusive.

Breakfast was served in the larger and less intimate dining room, good selection of continental breakfast options and again, service was impeccable. Friendly without being overly familiar but not stuffy either. The cooked breakfast was fresh, hot and well cooked/presented.

The public lounges and library have a grand feel about them but are all a little worn around the edges which makes it incredibly comfortable and very homely. There are bits and bobs which need aesthetic attention but the overall experience here was superb.

Every member of staff with whom we interacted was at the top of their game, clearly at this hotel service is essential and I will certainly be returning to enjoy more of the same when I next take some time off. I'm pleased to write a review which is a reflection of how service should be.

Room Tip: Definitely worth going for a superior room or a suite, just to make the most of the house.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Serviceisessential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We visited Hintlesham Hall for the second time a couple of weekends ago. It was my daughters Birthday and we stayed on Saturday night on a Dinner bed and breakfast deal in two de-luxe rooms.

The rooms were really beautiful; we had ground floor rooms in the linked building [may once have been the stable block perhaps,] and the rooms were really wonderful and appear to have been recently updated, perhaps since our last visit about a year before.
Large bathroom, well appointed, plenty of storage in the lobby area, tea and coffee facilities and water provided. My daughter and her partner had a small dog with them so their room had direct access to the gardens, complete with outside table and chairs, so we enjoyed champagne and birthday cake in the sunshine in the afternoon.

Dinner in the beautiful dining room was extremely good, and although we chose to have dishes not included on the fixed menu, the price was still very reasonable for the quality provided. We were surprised however that the restaurant appeared very quiet for a Saturday night, ,and most diners had left the restaurant by about 9.45, perhaps the lure of the comfortable luxurious guest rooms was too good to resist.

Overall therefore a most enjoyable night and we will certainly visit again soon.

One very slight issue. Our otherwise lovely room [26 I think] has a well used pathway directly outside the bedroom and bathroom window, with staff and clients walking within a few inches of the windows, which means that it is necessary to keep the curtains closed much of the time. It would be easily possible to divert pedestrians via the alternative pathway to the front entrance of this block, or at least to put some planting directly in front of these windows to keep passing people a little further away from them.

Room Tip: As stated in my review, all the rooms we saw were of a very high standard.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary on Friday and we had a lovely relaxing stay. We stayed in a superior room and it had bags of character and lovely White Company bathroom products. I booked directly with the hotel and got a good price.
I enjoy spa treatments and the only reason I didn't give the hotel 5* is I miss the pool and spa, however I booked a massage for both of us and the therapist was brilliant, it took place in a private room and was very relaxing and a good price for a country house hotel.
We ate in the restaurant and had a delicious meal from the a la carte menu, a minor problem was dealt with quickly and graciously and is a mark of a good service led hotel.
I would recommend the hotel and hope to stay there again in the near future.
Thanks again to all the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri-Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel and once again the service was excellent, dinner was imaginative, well presented and very tasty, and the room was stylishly decorated with all the comforts one would require. My only gripe is that there was not the choice I would have expected for a hotel of this quality at breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Apart from having to wait 2 months to get in on a Saturday, it was worth the wait. The experience starts by driving past the hotel and it is a beautiful building, the staff are all friendly and attentive, the food is really excellent and well presented. One piece of advice go there hungry. We had a table outside and the rear garden is very pretty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank damoore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I treated mum to a birthday weekend at Hintlesham Hall. Afternoon tea and breakfast were lovely and the staff very friendly and attentive. However, the rooms were unbearably hot and even with the window open, it was very uncomfortable and impossible for a good nights sleep. I dread to think what they are like in the summer!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,029 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,147 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range: £90 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing