We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour & Afternoon Tea”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Tour & Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Today we Celebrated our 8th wedding anniversary-By Visiting Hintlesham Hall for a 'Behind The Façade Tour with an Afternoon Tea...we have visited many times over the years For other occasions but not our anniversary.

The tour was worth the price to find out lots of historical information regarding the Hall & afterwards we were all taken to the courtyard gardens-
the weather being beautiful to have afternoon tea outside!

Sadly the afternoon tea did not go without a few hitches our dietary requirements seem to have been a problem & my husbands Vegetarian selection had been forgotten!
We sat and watched everybody else's Afternoon Tea being brought out all around us on the Traditional advertised fancy three -tiered cake stands & when it was time for ours they came out on plates!
To say I wasn't happy With the situation was an understatement...After all this was a very special occasion i Complained about the situation they corrected it immediately...This would of been a five--star review but due to the advanced notice of our booking for today's tour the execution of it I can say that I was not a hundred percent happy therefore that's why I recommend the amount of stars I have left!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Firstly, happy anniversary ! I am delighted that you return to the Hall so often and I am so glad that you enjoyed the tour and the wealth of historical information we have on the Hall. It was great that the beautiful weather meant you could enjoy tea on our lovely terraces over-looking the gardens but am sorry that you had to wait longer than the other members of the tour party for your tea. I apologise that your tea was not served in exactly the same way but pleased to note this was immediately rectified when you mentioned it to our staff. I do hope this did not detract too much from your anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hall in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    227
    79
    38
    19
See reviews for
114
616
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for a short summer break. it's been on my list of places to go for some time. Lets get the positives out of the way first. The building and it's location is stunning. The breakfast was very good as was the service in the restaurant, that's it.

We arrived on a Tuesday and asked the resectionist if we could have coffee outside, she said she would send somebody out. After 20 minutes waiting we left and went to the nearest pub for lunch.

It took a considerable time to get a drink at the bar that evening, there seemed a distinct lack of staff in the bar. Dinner can only be described as adequate, pork, spinach, a potato croquet and some beans. The quality of ingrediants was good but it lacked imagination, it was very ordinary.

After dinner we thought we would have a nightcap.....no bar staff to get us drinks, we waited 15 minutes and went to bed.

Probably the most disappointing part of the stay was the travesty that was once the "Victorian herb garden" a feature that Robert Carrier spoke of very fondly in a cookbook I have of his. From the photographs in the book its unrecognisable. It's also mentioned on the hotels web site. It's a dry wasteland that I doubt has seen any serious attention for some time.

I'm not sure what this hotel is trying to be but when we stayed a failed in a lot of places

It may have once been a luxury hotel but no more.

Room Tip: The room we had was well appointed and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments concerning our building, location, your room, breakfast and the service you received - we are delighted all these aspects were pleasing and apologise if you had to wait for drinks longer than you would have liked.
Our herb garden, like all gardens in East Anglia just now, has sadly suffered somewhat in this prolonged dry spell and like all properties, we are struggling to keep everything watered and looking lush. However, despite its current dry state I am pleased to be able to tell you that Chef and his team is still using a variety of herbs from this lovely garden in our cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our second stay in this lovely hotel, as good in the summer as it was in January. We stayed on one of the hottest days/nights of the year; the grounds are delightful with lots of shady areas to sit and read. A gin and tonic on the terrace followed by an excellent dinner and then a peaceful night's sleep in the super king sized bed, a perfect stay. Just one 'niggle' ...... Why is it considered stylish to have carpet on the step up to the shower? It was just a soggy mess that stained the bath mat and towels!!

Room Tip: Meghan is a lovely room, except for the carpeted shower step
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We went to a wedding at Hintlesham Hall. Whilst it was all very lovely, the wedding reception was split over several small rooms in a U shape. We felt that this meant there was a lack of atmosphere as you had small groups of people in each room rather than people mixing, so it never "got going" really. Other than that it was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katerobharryned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outside Basingstoke
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Upmarket hotel in spacious grounds. Our room was large but, without air-con in a heatwave, was unbearable; open windows brought in flies and an early morning pigeon chorus.

The Amazon two-night deal provided dinner on the first night, which was good, as were the cooked breakfasts. Staff were welcoming and helpful.

The location proved good for visiting Ipswich, a fascinating town, using the park-and-ride nearby, but it's quite a way round to the Suffolk coast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We got an offer through Amazon to spend 2 nights at this manor house style hotel in Suffolk, just outside of Ipswich and are very glad we took it up.
The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, sooo quiet and peaceful. The rooms are large and elegant and our Labrador was welcome. We were given a ground floor room that opened onto the side gardens, and Freddie appreciated being able to have a lovely sniff around there. The firt evening included a 3 course meal that was delicious and served in the Hall's dining room - again very elegant. The tarrif included breakfast for two mornings as we stayed 2 nights. The second evening we ordered room service and sat out in our private garden in our robes and enjoyed our meal inn the beautiful evening. This hotel doesn't offer all those add ons like a pool and spa, it is simply somewhere to relax and unwind, far, far, far from the maddening crowd.

Room Tip: Take your dog and get an extra large room on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words - we are so glad your stay was so relaxing and enjoyable and, subject to availability, we are always happy to have well-behaved dogs stay with us. Not just our rooms on the ground floor are light, airy and spacious ! We look forward to welcoming you and your lovely Labrador back to the Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have just spent a pleasant couple of days exploring Suffolk.What a lovely county -we will certainly visit the area again-We stayed at Hintlesham as part of a Travelbird package which included a 2night stay with bed and breakfast and dinner on the first night.It was very good value.
The hotel is very attractive and is set in beautiful gardens.Do seek out the herb garden which is very aromatic.We stayed in a superior room called Regatta which had lovely views over the rear garden.The room was large and had a good sized bathroom with a sunken bath and separate shower cubicle.The antique furniture in the room was in keeping with the hotel although the table was very wonky !Breakfast on our first morning was very good,but not so on our second morning which was disappointing.Bacon was fatty and undercooked and staff had to be asked to replenish fruit salad.Perhaps this could be addressed by one member of the waiting staff being responsible for checking the buffet table regularly.All the staff that we met were polite and pleasant .Evening dinner was also disappointing or maybe we expected too much.The herb soup was ok,the sirloin steak with pepper sauce was nothing special and the strawberry meringue tasted as though it had been made from a meringue mix.The white wine we chose was served warm.A definite no no for me.We asked for the wine to be chilled down and this was done without any fuss.The dining room is lovely with high ceiling,large fireplace and huge portraits.The atmosphere is formal .
Reception desk is made of dark wood and initially looks unwelcoming - a flower display would make such a difference.Finally,the central driveway has a couple of deep pot holes near the pond so watch your car suspension.Overall a pleasant stay but could have been excellent,just needs tweaking.

Room Tip: Be prepared for creaky floors in main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniversarycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
24.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
993 reviews
8.2 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Property: Hintlesham Hall
Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing