We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We got a great deal through secret escapes. The house and gardens are lovely. We liked our room which had a roll top bath facing the window so you could view the back gardens. It also had a large ensuite shower room. It was tidied every day and re stocked with white company toiletries and bottles of water for free. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night which was very average, but Ipswich is close so we ate out on the other evenings. Breakfast was good. Staff very attentive. When there's no staff at the bar just go to reception, 5 seconds away. Perhaps they should get a bell for those who stand there for 15 minutes waiting like a lemon!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    215
    76
    36
    17
See reviews for
106
591
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My partner and i stayed at Hintlesham Hall for one night to celebrate my birthday. On arrival check in was very quick and we were shown to our room straight away.
The staff were attentive, professional and courteous at all times.We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent as was the service. Breakfast was lovely and cooked to order.The only downside was that our room (blossom) was so hot that we had to have the fan on all night,the room itself was lovely and the bathroom exceptional.We had a great stay and will be making a return visit.Highly recommend, if it wasn't for the exceptionally hot room i would have rated higher.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I returned for our 2nd visit within 3 months and were fortunate to get the same room Heart of Oak which is a large room complete with four poster bed. Afternoon tea and dinner were excellent with very attentive staff. The breakfast was excellent and very filling. We were very lucky to have a perfect warm sunny day which enabled us to go for long walks in the gardens. We will be making another visit later in the year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearess63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Today we Celebrated our 8th wedding anniversary-By Visiting Hintlesham Hall for a 'Behind The Façade Tour with an Afternoon Tea...we have visited many times over the years For other occasions but not our anniversary.

The tour was worth the price to find out lots of historical information regarding the Hall & afterwards we were all taken to the courtyard gardens-
the weather being beautiful to have afternoon tea outside!

Sadly the afternoon tea did not go without a few hitches our dietary requirements seem to have been a problem & my husbands Vegetarian selection had been forgotten!
We sat and watched everybody else's Afternoon Tea being brought out all around us on the Traditional advertised fancy three -tiered cake stands & when it was time for ours they came out on plates!
To say I wasn't happy With the situation was an understatement...After all this was a very special occasion i Complained about the situation they corrected it immediately...This would of been a five--star review but due to the advanced notice of our booking for today's tour the execution of it I can say that I was not a hundred percent happy therefore that's why I recommend the amount of stars I have left!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Firstly, happy anniversary ! I am delighted that you return to the Hall so often and I am so glad that you enjoyed the tour and the wealth of historical information we have on the Hall. It was great that the beautiful weather meant you could enjoy tea on our lovely terraces over-looking the gardens but am sorry that you had to wait longer than the other members of the tour party for your tea. I apologise that your tea was not served in exactly the same way but pleased to note this was immediately rectified when you mentioned it to our staff. I do hope this did not detract too much from your anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hall in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for a short summer break. it's been on my list of places to go for some time. Lets get the positives out of the way first. The building and it's location is stunning. The breakfast was very good as was the service in the restaurant, that's it.

We arrived on a Tuesday and asked the resectionist if we could have coffee outside, she said she would send somebody out. After 20 minutes waiting we left and went to the nearest pub for lunch.

It took a considerable time to get a drink at the bar that evening, there seemed a distinct lack of staff in the bar. Dinner can only be described as adequate, pork, spinach, a potato croquet and some beans. The quality of ingrediants was good but it lacked imagination, it was very ordinary.

After dinner we thought we would have a nightcap.....no bar staff to get us drinks, we waited 15 minutes and went to bed.

Probably the most disappointing part of the stay was the travesty that was once the "Victorian herb garden" a feature that Robert Carrier spoke of very fondly in a cookbook I have of his. From the photographs in the book its unrecognisable. It's also mentioned on the hotels web site. It's a dry wasteland that I doubt has seen any serious attention for some time.

I'm not sure what this hotel is trying to be but when we stayed a failed in a lot of places

It may have once been a luxury hotel but no more.

Room Tip: The room we had was well appointed and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments concerning our building, location, your room, breakfast and the service you received - we are delighted all these aspects were pleasing and apologise if you had to wait for drinks longer than you would have liked.
Our herb garden, like all gardens in East Anglia just now, has sadly suffered somewhat in this prolonged dry spell and like all properties, we are struggling to keep everything watered and looking lush. However, despite its current dry state I am pleased to be able to tell you that Chef and his team is still using a variety of herbs from this lovely garden in our cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our second stay in this lovely hotel, as good in the summer as it was in January. We stayed on one of the hottest days/nights of the year; the grounds are delightful with lots of shady areas to sit and read. A gin and tonic on the terrace followed by an excellent dinner and then a peaceful night's sleep in the super king sized bed, a perfect stay. Just one 'niggle' ...... Why is it considered stylish to have carpet on the step up to the shower? It was just a soggy mess that stained the bath mat and towels!!

Room Tip: Meghan is a lovely room, except for the carpeted shower step
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We went to a wedding at Hintlesham Hall. Whilst it was all very lovely, the wedding reception was split over several small rooms in a U shape. We felt that this meant there was a lack of atmosphere as you had small groups of people in each room rather than people mixing, so it never "got going" really. Other than that it was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katerobharryned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
9.5 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Property: Hintlesham Hall
Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing