We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable two days”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable two days”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have just returned from a two night break at hintlesham hall,it was a late ruby wedding anniversary treat. The initial room we were given I found a little gloomy but the lovely girl on reception bianca soon sorted things out by offering another room which we both thought was lovely.We were taken to our room by a lovely young chap called Ed who was very helpful carrying our luggage he also served us dinner on our first night in which he did a great job he was a credit to hintlesham very proffesional but also warm and friendly too.The food was fantastic we had the scallops for starter and the pork belly for our main both were wonderful.We are looking forward to a return vist very soon.

Room Tip: We had cherry orchard a large room with a mezzanine bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    227
    79
    38
    19
See reviews for
114
615
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked a 2 night break at the last minute and had a fantastic stay. The room was amazing and overlooked the patio at the back. I agree with other comments about wifi, it really is nonexistent, but if you are going for a chill out it doesnt matter. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and the food was wonderful on both occasions. Special mention must go to Cameron for his witty repartee with my husband and professionalism at all times. The golf course was in fantastic condition and my spa treatments were first class.
All in all one if the best short trips we gave had.

Room Tip: As long as you dont mind being out of the main hotel, Applestore is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie_meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hintlesham Hall is lovely, the architecture, the grounds and the bedrooms are all designed to be unique and special. We stayed in Josephine as we had a dog with us, this room was perfect as was on the ground floor in the separate coach house so we could walk her all around the grounds and then she also had a garden and patio to run around and play too. The hotel gives its guests free wifi which is great however due to character of the room having thick walls we were unable to receive good signal in our room so had to step into the garden to log on, this wasnt an issue though due to the private table and chairs we had on our patio and the tranquility and peacefulness outside. Having a drink in the drawing room before dinner is lovely and comfortable then retreating to the beautifully decorated Parlour for evening dinner. The food is exqusite yet no measly portions! A good nights sleep in a comfortable bed followed by a decent selection of food for breakfast. The full english was delicious as you can tell how fresh the food is! The service is also impeccable therefore we will definitely be back again! I recommend the room Josephine as you really get good value for money and beautiful countryside views from the patio.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaW442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased that you so enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our lovely grounds with your dog. We are always happy to welcome well behaved dogs to the Hall. We look forward to seeing you again soon - with your dog of course !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Just came home from a lovely weekend stay. We stayed in Zoffany. Lovely large bedroom with two sofas and a nice view of part of the garden. Lovely large bathroom with a bath and large walk in shower. Only down side was our 13 year old daughter had a put you up bed which she said was not very comfortable. A proper single bed would have been nice. Staff were very attentive without being over the top. Food was excellent. Well cooked, full of favour and very well presented. Breakfast was the same. My husband had the kippers on the second morning and said they were the best he had.
The WiFi was not very good, so if you were staying there on business you would really struggle. And also the hotel let's dogs stay there, so we had could hear a dog barking when the owners were at breakfast.
All in all a lovely weekend stay with lovely room and food.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The Zoffany Room was very nice and spacious. Great bathroom suite and comfy bed. The food was also very good and the staff were extremely attentive. My only niggle was the free WiFi, very poor, which was frustrating. Glad I wasn't on a business trip and did not rely on it. Good hotel though and set in nice grounds.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent a night in a superior room that we were told had been refurbished. (Zophory ?). Bathroom, linen and toiletries were excellent. Bedroom spacious with lovely seating. Breakfast was also excellent apart from poor croissants.Lovely grounds.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here this week for one night having booked it the week before. Reading some of the reviews after I had booked it made me worry a bit but I shouldn't have done so. We were shown to our room at the top of the hotel, so the attic I guess. The floors up there are very wonky to say the least but it all adds to the charm. When the door to our room, Arcadia, was opened we were stunned. It is a huge room with a very large double bed (2 singles linked), two extremely comfortable armchairs, tea coffee making and a bath. Yes, a bath in the bedroom! The bathroom is large with a huge walk in shower. The view from the room is of the lake and there were ducks and ducklings walking on the lawn.

In the evening we ate in the restaurant. Again I was concerned about how the food would be because of previous reviews. The dining room is large and there is plenty of room between the tables so you don't have to feel squeezed in. We ordered a bottle of Sancerre which is the best I have ever had. We then ordered from the A La Carte menu. A waiter bought some canapés and a roll which were very tasty. My husband and I chose the same meal which doesn't often happen. The scallops were very tasty and cooked to perfection. The guinea fowl was very good as well. The total bill for the meal with wine was £109 which was very reasonable considering the quality of the food and wine.

Breakfast in the morning was, again, wonderful and the toast wonderful. I wonder if the bread is made on the premises because it was certainly very fresh.

All in all I would definitely return to the hotel and hope to next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCPEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review ! Arcadia is, indeed, a very popular room. The team here are all delighted that you so enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
24.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
990 reviews
8.2 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Property: Hintlesham Hall
Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing