We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“pretty good”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

spent 2 days here for our 25th wedding anniversary....room spotless...quiet good..we got it for a deal on amazon Evening food was superb and staff friendly .Breakfast was very good and tummy filling...grounds very well looked after.interesting morning as the roof was leaking at breakfast...1 point off...for staff mopping the floors as you went to breakfast...bed a bit soft ...and internet service kept stopping and starting but thats only a minor point..come here again ..yes1

Room Tip: dont book a room near the fire doors..they bang all the time everyone that uses it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    227
    80
    38
    19
See reviews for
114
619
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ross on Wye, United Kingdom.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

An absolutely splendid imposing Grade 1 listed Elizabethan Manor House with considerable Georgian additions and Stuart interior embellishments, this is such a wonderful place to stay. Peaceful, restful and closely surrounded by beautiful grounds and all in 175 unspoilt acres of rolling Suffolk countryside. Our room was large and spacious, pleasantly furnished and all facilities were first class. Attention to detail and to our comfort was assured by an alert and attentive staff. Extremely comfortable bed and quality bathroom with luxurious accessories. Breakfast was served most efficiently in impressive surroundings, food was plentiful, tasty and with a wide choice on the menu. There is total freedom to use the many historic rooms and, in our case, to walk the grounds in perfect summer weather was an additional bonus. The whole experience on our first stay at this lovely venue was one of calm, friendly and efficient professionalism from all the staff. We didn't use the health spa, gym, heliport or golf course, but nevertheless we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our time here and shall most certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Very many thanks for taking the trouble to leave such a fantastic review. All the team love working at the Hall and we all do everything we possibly can to meet the needs and comfort of our guests. Although, at the moment, we do not have a gym or pool, we do still offer a comprehensive menu of spa and beauty treatments. When you return you may like to join an historical tour of the Hall (or book a private one if a group tour is not scheduled for when you stay with us) which will guide you through to the present day from its beginnings in the 1400's and you will be shown "behind the facade". We look forward to seeing you again and being of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel 18 years ago for Christmas and have very fond memories of our stay, so we decided to book a last minute one night break and we are very pleased we did.
We stayed in a Superior Room which was comfortable, with two armchairs (the windows and sashes need painting) the room was clean.
We did not find the pillows comfortable, but pillows are a very personal choice for comfort
Our break included either afternoon tea or a bottle of champagne on arrival, we had afternoon tea and it was very nice.
Our deal also included dinner from the al a carte menu and this too was very good
Breakfast provided an excellent choice and was very good.
Based on the deal we had from offpeakluxury.com we were very happy with value for money
Although it was not a very nice day (weather) we did go for a walk around the gardens which again are nice, but need some attention and works were being carried out around the health club so it looked untidy with a skip.
I think this hotel could be improved by having a pool

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TindaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Lovely hotel in very peaceful grounds. We stayed in Rialto which was quite bright and nicely furnished (but looked like it could do with a good deep clean!). Reception and waiting staff were a credit to the hotel and nothing was too much bother. As a young couple we often feel we are overlooked but this was definitely not the case where the younger staff were concerned who made an effort to make sure all guests were seen to in good time. Wouldn't recommend the hotel if you're looking for something adventurous, there's nothing to do within walking distance. This suited us fine as a relaxed getaway, but otherwise the nearest big attraction is Ipswich town, a 15 minute drive away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Enjoyed afternoon tea with a group of friends. Such a special occasion with superb food (especially the amazing way special dietary requests were catered for), excellent service and friendly staff in an amazing setting. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are always happy to cater for any guest requirements . We take great pride in serving a truly scrumptious Afternoon Tea and are delighted you so enjoyed it. Come back to us for your next special occasion !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have just returned from a two night break at hintlesham hall,it was a late ruby wedding anniversary treat. The initial room we were given I found a little gloomy but the lovely girl on reception bianca soon sorted things out by offering another room which we both thought was lovely.We were taken to our room by a lovely young chap called Ed who was very helpful carrying our luggage he also served us dinner on our first night in which he did a great job he was a credit to hintlesham very proffesional but also warm and friendly too.The food was fantastic we had the scallops for starter and the pork belly for our main both were wonderful.We are looking forward to a return vist very soon.

Room Tip: We had cherry orchard a large room with a mezzanine bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford Kent
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked a 2 night break at the last minute and had a fantastic stay. The room was amazing and overlooked the patio at the back. I agree with other comments about wifi, it really is nonexistent, but if you are going for a chill out it doesnt matter. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and the food was wonderful on both occasions. Special mention must go to Cameron for his witty repartee with my husband and professionalism at all times. The golf course was in fantastic condition and my spa treatments were first class.
All in all one if the best short trips we gave had.

Room Tip: As long as you dont mind being out of the main hotel, Applestore is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie_meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
24.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,000 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Property: Hintlesham Hall
Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing