We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on.....”
Review of The Suffolk Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hintlesham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Suffolk Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have been blessed with cloudless skies for our stay and fully intended to make the most of Suffolk. Should not have bothered packing, apart from a trip out for supplies we loved the place so much we spent our break relaxing and taking in the environment. The cabins are so well thought out with top end furniture and electrical gadgets. The bathrooms and bedrooms are relaxing enough on their own! We loved sitting in the hot tub at night star gazing, sitting around the chiminea, having a BBQ, watching the wildlife (ducks, swallows dunking in the water every hour and a hawk hunting overhead). Nothing is too much trouble for the owners, very helpful and friendly we will definitely be back and thank you for a wonderful stay, we wish you every success.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honkage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for the review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and the birds life kept you well entertained! We look forward to seeing you again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

4 of us enjoyed a very relaxing 3 night break here in the sunshine last weekend we stayed in Kersey , both bedrooms the same so no arguing, the whole cabin and outside seating area are all of very high quality, we all very much enjoyed experiencing the hot tub under the stars.
This is a great place to just chill. we are already looking to rebook for October
Andrew gave us some good recommendations of places to visit and restaurants , and thank-you for the scones and pastries in the fridge they were delicious !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reader21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for the great review and we are delighted you enjoyed your break with us so much. I am glad you got to make the most of the hot tub and we look forward to hopefully seeing you in October...the wood stove will be awaiting your arrival! Warm regards, Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We enjoyed a lovely weekend break at this lovely place! We ate breakfast and dinners outside on the decking overlooking the lake in the sunshine. The cabins were beautifully decorated and were very clean and tidy. The fittings are all of a very high standard. Having the use of the hot-tub was a really unique and memorable treat! It was lovely to watch the ducks and swallows on the lake, and it will be even more special once the lake has established even more. This is a wonderful place to come and relax and enjoy lots of luxury whether you're lucky enough to have the sun, or for a cosy winter break. Andrew offered some good suggestions of days out and places to eat. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are well situated around the lake. Any is a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. We always appreciate feedback, it makes all the hard work all the more worthwhile! You were so lucky with the weather and it was great to see you out enjoying the outside space and relaxing on the deck over the water in the sunshine....I was a little bit jealous!!! We look forward to hopefully getting the chance to host you again soon. Warm regards, Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Such a beautiful and well thought out place. Andrew and his wife Sarah have built a unique 5 star retreat. They couldn’t do enough for us over an idyllic weekend in the country. It was everything we wanted it to be – country pursuits with a real taste of the outdoors but with a five star twist. Perfect. I can’t recommend it enough.

Room Tip: All the lodges are beautiful but I particulalry liked Lavenham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit so much and had a chance to relax and catch up with friends. We look forward to seeing you again one day soon. Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Was it a gamble booking a log cabin on a farm in Suffolk that hadn't got much history. ?..
Well if it was it was a one horse race and Im a Winner.
We used this as a base for daily sight seeing trips of which there are many options, however it was nice to get back to the cabin every day.
To be honest I will go again but next time I may not bother going out, there's just no reason to everthing has been thought about and put in place at the highest level.
Did I say log cabin, ,, if it were Swiss we, d be calling it a luxury chalet. Luxury remember that.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharpe-and-Gromit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us so much and that your "gamble" with staying with a new site was well rewarded! Look forward to seeing you next time. Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

A far cry from most of the log cabins I have stayed in! The cabins are exquisitely decorated, fully featured with an unsurpassable attention to detail. The outside decking extends over the lake which allowed us to enjoy al fresco breakfast and dinner with the anatidae neighbours. Suffolk is a beautiful county with much to offer, if you can tear yourself away from the cabin! I can’t recommend it more highly.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Tartandrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your break so much and thank you for the kind words...hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked for a 3 night weekend break to celebrate our daughters 21st Birthday. My daughter wanted to stay in a log cabin with a hot tub. Scouring the internet for log cabins with hot tubs wasn't difficult but what I could not find was one's offering two double bedrooms. When I came upon The Suffolk Escape it was offering everything that we wanted and much more. Andrew has definitely done his homework knowing what people want when they go away from home. The bedrooms where both equal in size with emporia beds that are really comfortable, fantastic en-suite bathrooms, bathrobes and even hair straighteners. The kitchen was a great size and fully equipped. The sofa's in the lounge we really comfortable. We were really fortunate and had glorious weather and as soon as we arrived my husband lit the barbecue (first one we have had in a very long time). My daughter and her boyfriend immediately tried out the hot tub and sitting outside enjoying our meal. We even lit the chiminea and enjoyed listening to the wild life around us. The binoculars provided are great to get a close up of the many different types of birds. We even saw the barn owl and a stag. We brought a red pole rib roast joint from Andrew for our Sunday roast and cooking it was so easy having a great kitchen to cook in. The rib roast was fantastic and well worth the expense. My husband and I also tried out the hot tub which was really relaxing and well secluded. My daughter and her boyfriend loved playing the board games that were provided and brought back lots of memories and in fact she has gone out and bought them to play at home. Whilst I was cooking they went for a walk and came upon the the Red Pole cattle who are beautiful and very friendly. It was really difficult to leave on Monday as we could have easily stayed the rest of the week. Andrew and his family are very attentive and cater for all your needs. Well worth a try if you love a bit of luxury in countryside. Cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Kersey Lodge and all 4 Lodge's are the same inside but located at different angles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHill_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for the taking the time to write such a wonderful report on your stay and taking the time to upload your superb photos, the livestock ones in particular were excellent ! . We were honoured to be the venue for the 21st and so pleased you enjoyed the whole break so much. Great to hear the Rib Roast went down so well, it is my favourite cut of any meat! Hope to see you all again one day soon. Warm regards, Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
5.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,030 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
4.6 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suffolk Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suffolk Escape

Address: Northlands Farm Priory Road | Northlands Farm, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hintlesham
Price Range: £100 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our idyllic rural retreat in the heart of Suffolk offers peaceful escapes in 4 luxury adult ony log cabins and our new Sheepyard Barn which welcomes children. The 4 luxury adult only 2-bedroom log cabins with woodstoves plus hot tubs are on the edge of a lake. The cabins are finished to the highest standards including luxury ensuites, outdoor dining pontoon and LED TV’s. Our adult only cabins appeal to couples on romantic escapes and groups of friends wishing to catch up. If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing break then The Suffolk Escape will be perfect for you. The Sheepyard Barn sleeps up to 12 and features an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, wood fired pizza oven, home cinema system, games room and bunk room. It also has a sunken trampoline and outdoor lounge to relax in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Suffolk Escape Hintlesham, Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing