We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in the perfect place to escape”
Review of The Suffolk Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hintlesham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Suffolk Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just returned from a lovely long weekend staying at the Suffolk Escape. The cabins are lovely, beautifully decorated, really well stocked kitchen, lovely wood burning stove and idyllic setting by the lake with the ducks to keep you company. Hot tub and amazing bath also a bonus.
Couldn't fault it - just wish we could have stayed for longer.
Its a great base to explore Suffolk - some lovely places to eat and visit close by, most recommended by Andrew after we had booked before our arrival.
We had a fabulous relaxing break and we will be back.
Thanks guys, hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Southwold - picked it because of the red kitchen and its didn't disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review Helena, very inspiring for us and I am sure anybody else reading this thinking about a holiday in Suffolk. I am delighted you found everything you need in the cabin and you enjoyed some of the great places to eat locally.
Thank you again for your review and for booking your holiday with us,
Warm regards
Andrew and the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

The most relaxing weekend I think I've ever spent- Escape is most definitely the word. Wonderful setting and the most luxurious accommodation with amazing attention to detail. Bring enough provisions to last and you won't need to leave your cabin- not that you would really want to. Did venture out on the circular farm walk which was lovely- take a little treat for the pigs; but still wanted to hurry back to make the maximum of the Cabin's loveliness. Hot tub, bath and huge comfy bed are to die for. Only downside is that my wife loved the kitchen fittings so much she now wants a new one. If we don't spend all our cash on that we will definitely be back.

John and Sallie

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear John and Sallie,
Wow...."The most relaxing weekend I think I've ever spent"...what a statement, that means a huge amount to me and the rest of the team involved in creating the Suffolk Escape! It is good to hear that you found everything you needed and the cabins were good enough to wow you! Sorry about the new kitchen request John!
Thank you again for your review and for booking your holiday with us,
Warm regards
Andrew and the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Not much left for us to say...3rd visit and still absolutely love the place, cannot believe how easy it is to unwind here. Just to sit and do nothing but watch the ducks, birds, geese and bats in the evening..fascinating. Hot tub is extra special and was used every day more than once. The worlds most comfortable bed, could easily spend the visit just in that!

Thanks again for making us so welcome, making us so relaxed and making going home a real effort.

We will see you again soon, thank you.

Dan and Mel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank honkage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Dan and Mel,
Thank you for review and we are so pleased you enjoyed it again so much! I am glad you enjoyed the wildlife, as the site is maturing the wildlife is growing and growing. We are hoping the wildflower meadow will do well this year and we will leave lot of tall grasses to hopefully encourage the majestic barn owl back hunting again.
Thank you again for the wonderful review and for booking your holiday with us again it is greatly appreciated,
Warm regards
Andrew and the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Three signs of a true escape are when you feel a million miles from home, can't remember what day it is & never want to leave & the space that Andrew & Sarah have created in the lovely suffolk countryside does exactly those things...

Simple yet sumptuous & stylish, the homely & personal touches shine through. We arrived to the family farm, welcomed by Andrew who directed us down to our cabin. We pulled up & soon discovered Aldeburgh was all we'd hoped for & more!

Andrew joined us a bit later to give us the guided your & to explain how to use the appliances & hot tub etc. The informal, warm nature of his welcome is something you rarely find these days.

The luxury speaks for itself- the hot tub, the bath, bed, furnishings, audio & tv systems & the lovely, well thought out kitchen complete with homemade chocolate cake & pastries. However it takes much more than that to make a place feel idyllic & relaxing. You can sense the care that has been put in & the atmosphere that Andrew & Sarah have wanted to create & have done so perfectly. A more than comprehensive guide folder shows they have thought of everything.

We had sunshine & showers but enjoyed every part of cabin living from the lovely aroma of the timbers to the rain pattering on the deck & watching the lake change throughout with it's 25 new ducklings!! Spotted on our walks from the farm were deer, barn owl, bats, Canadian geese, countless varieties of butterflies, birds & the farm's own black pigs who were very pleased to see us with scraps!

We will definately be spreading the Suffolk Escape Love & will be back :)

Liz & Helen (birthday) Boatman

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boaty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Liz and Helen, thank you so very much for such an incredible review, I am sure many, many, people will fid that very useful! I am so pleased the atmosphere we tried to create has been carried through and you found it so relaxing and that everything you could need was there for you. The goslings and ducklings are doing well, the latter that are still around are getting very tame, in fact some guests had them in their hand feeding them! Thank you for spreading the word it really helps a new small business likes us! Hopefully we will see you again one day again soon.
Sorry for the delay in responding but the new baby and lambing has kept us rather busy!
Thank you again for the wonderful review and for booking your holiday with us it is greatly appreciated,
Warm regards
Andrew and the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Second time visit. Amazing as the first. This time with my sister and her boyfriend. This place is so relaxing. It's become home from home. We love this place and will be back again and again. Can't wait. Congratulations to Andrew for his new bundle of joy! See you soon Paz & Davinder

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dingspalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review, it was great to see you both again and thank you for the congratulations for the arrival of William...sorry for the delay in responding but he and lambing have kept us busy! Look forward to seeing you again one day...perhaps a nice summer escape!
Thank you again for booking with us and your feedback,
Warm regards
Andrew & the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is the second time we have stayed and it was even better than the first time! We cannot rate this place highly enough.

From your arrival, with a welcome cake ready for your afternoon tea, you immediately know that you are going to have a very good and relaxing stay. The cabins are well set apart, so are very private, the hot tub is great and very spacious for two - as is the bath!! The accommodation is superbly put together and the kitchens are fully equipt with everything you could need.

We love the self catering element and thoroughly enjoyed going all out on the 'bring your own'. The pace of life stops and all your cares are left well and truly elsewhere. This is a fantastically romantic break for those who love sharing time and space together.

Thank you Andrew and everyone there for providing such and wonderful place to come and unwind. We will be sure to return!

Room Tip: Any! The cabins are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cang30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Wow..we managed to beat the first visit..always a challenge...so great news! It means we are keeping our service levels and attention to detail as high as ever, I will pass this onto the team!

"The pace of life stops and all your cares are left well and truly elsewhere" Well that is fantastic to read...that was one of the objectives I wanted to achieve in creating this business! Yay!!

Thanks for coming to stay again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back once again one day soon.
Warm regards
Andrew and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just had a wonderful Easter break with friends at the Suffolk Escape. We stayed in the Aldburgh cabin and just wanted to say the cabin was fab and had everything you could ask for. Thanks to Andrew and Sarah for the welcome pack, the chocolate cake and pastries went down a treat.
Did a lovely walk on Sunday around the farm and past the golf club. Takes about 1 hour and is approx. 3 miles. Well worth the walk on a sunny Sunday morning and build an appetite for brunch. Liked the idea that its adults only (no screaming kids or footballs being kicked about everywhere) and was very peaceful.
Beds and pillows are to die for, they are so comfortable (best I've ever slept in, including my own bed).
Hot tub was great and even better with a glass of bubbles :-)
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milney71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and that you even found the energy to go for a good long walk around the farm. It is a nice quiet route and does help work up an appetite for the next feast! I am glad you found the beds so comfy, we spent extra than planned on the mattresses and it certainly seems from the guest feedback it was a well worthwhile investment.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again one day soon.
Warm regards
Andrew and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
5.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,033 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
4.6 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suffolk Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suffolk Escape

Address: Northlands Farm Priory Road | Northlands Farm, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hintlesham
Price Range: £100 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our idyllic rural retreat in the heart of Suffolk offers peaceful escapes in 4 luxury adult ony log cabins and our new Sheepyard Barn which welcomes children. The 4 luxury adult only 2-bedroom log cabins with woodstoves plus hot tubs are on the edge of a lake. The cabins are finished to the highest standards including luxury ensuites, outdoor dining pontoon and LED TV’s. Our adult only cabins appeal to couples on romantic escapes and groups of friends wishing to catch up. If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing break then The Suffolk Escape will be perfect for you. The Sheepyard Barn sleeps up to 12 and features an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, wood fired pizza oven, home cinema system, games room and bunk room. It also has a sunken trampoline and outdoor lounge to relax in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Suffolk Escape Hintlesham, Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing