We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to Revisit”
Review of Old Success Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Success Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sennen Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed for only one night, late January, in a chilly mid-winter. Easy parking in the small car park, but in high season, this could be difficult. There is however, a public car park just yards away. On checking in, the welcome was warm and genuine, greeted like we were old friends. We had room no. 12 (The Sail Loft) on the top floor. Double aspect windows with spectacular views over Sennen. Actually, it was more like a suite with a dressing room, and an en-suite off the main bedroom. Spotlessly clean, very warm and cosy and beautifully decorated. Lovely selection of toiletries in the bathroom too. We decided to eat in that night and found the food to be good quality and very resonably priced. I will just mention one thing however. I originally ordered a curry from the specials menu. When I tried it, I found it to be a bit heavy on the chillies (much too hot for my taste). The manager immediately offered something instead with no quibbles. What excellent service. The bar area is very 'olde worlde' populated with friendly locals and visitors alike. I noticed other reviewers have commented on it needing a bit of a refurb. Well, this is arguable. I much prefer the eclectic look and loved the mix of old pew-like benches and collection of non-matching tables and chairs. Yes, it did look a bit faded in places, but it was warm, comfy and I felt very much at home. The following morning, we were served an excellent breakfast (lots of choice and vegetarians catered for) and went for the Full English! Freshly cooked, piping hot, and tasted wonderful. I imagine much of it was locally sourced and the bacon tasted like REAL bacon. Great bread too, not the usual 'sliced loaf' variety. It was a shame we could stay only one night but hope to return before too long. And finally, thanks to all the wonderful staff, polite, friendly and welcoming. What more could you ask.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northwoodlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at the Old Success before Xmas based on a recommendation from someone else. We were very impressed with our stay from start to finish. We turned up without a booking and were given a comfortable room. The bar has a great range of drinks and the breakfast next morning was sensational and set us up for the day.

The great service continued as once I had left I realised I had left some expensive toiletries and upon enquiry a week later was informed they would be mailed to me. These arrived the next day. I would thoroughly recommend staying here and commend the staff on their level of service.
Thankyou!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melb0urneTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The Old Success has a great location on the seafront right by the huge sandy beach at Sennen Cove. The hotel has a slightly weatherbeaten outward appearance, but that's not really surprising given that it faces directly out onto the Atlantic. Inside is very comfortable however. The hotel reception is up a short flight of stairs through the door to the right of the main bar entrance. There is a large guests' lounge on the first floor with comfortable sofas and a splendid sea view (and free WiFi access). The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

My room (no. 3) was on the second floor. It was a small room with a double bed (usually let as a single I suspect), and a great view right across the beach and Whitesand bay. Although small, the room was very clean, comfortable and cosy, and had clearly been completely renovated very recently, including the compact, but very well laid-out, en-suite shower room. Given the exposed position of the room, I was initially a little concerned that the secondary double-glazed window wouldn't be very effective in the freezing 40 mile-an-hour north wind that was battering the coast that night. My concerns were unfounded - the room stayed lovely and warm and I had a very comfortable night. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room, given the price I paid (£37/night).

On the ground floor there is a traditional pub (with a nice open fire) serving food lunchtime and evenings every day (except Sunday evenings), and a large separate dining area. Breakfast was served in the dining area and was pretty good.

Although Sennen Cove is the most westerly settlement on the UK mainland, it is easily accessible on the hourly buses between Penzance and Land's End (bus nos. 1/1A/501/504). The bus stop is just a hundred yards along the seafront from the hotel. Although it can be a bit cold and blustery in winter, it is a great base for exploring the stunning West Cornwall coast.

Room Tip: You can sometimes get an extra 5% discount if you book through the hotel's own booking system. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highrise61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Sennen Cove is one of our favourite places and having stayed in holiday accomodation over the years we decided (now the children are grown up) to stay a couple of nights in the Old Success. our bedroom was lovely, clean, comfortable and with a sea view. Cooked breakfast was cooked well though lacking in fresh fruit and only one yoghurt at 9.00 am. Staff very friendly and helpful but main bar area has been painted white (though don't think it had been cleaned for some time)so is very lacking in atmosphere - very quiet, people just eating and then leaving. Where have all the locals gone?? Also where has the Doom Bar gone??? Part of the makeup of the Old Success was the lifeboat crew using the pub. In spite of this we will return and soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgePaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I stayed here whilst on a business trip in the area. The room was superb...king size vi-spring bed, excellent bathroom facilities with locally sourced toiletries and the room was dual aspect offering amazing views of Sennen Cove. The Inn is located directly overlooking the cove benefitting from a fantastic location. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced and breakfast was superb with high quality meats used for the full English breakfast. The staff were very friendly. This place really is a hidden treasure. I will be sure to stay next time I'm down here...great value!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GazChelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I travelled to the Old Success Inn in the 2nd week of December with my boyfriend and could not be more pleased with the welcome we received. The staff were beyond helpful and friendly. The selection of beers available in the bar will please any lover of good drinks.

We stayed in room 6, which has a dual aspect view of the amazing cove and out to sea. There were even dolphins playing in the surf early one morning. The mattress was one of the best I've slept on. The shower is large and powerful with some lovely local toiletries.

After walking the very cold and windy (but beautiful) coastal path, the pub and its real fire were a delight to come back to. We will definitely be returning, maybe during a busier part of the year to take advantage of the pub quiz and local amenities being open instead of closed for winter.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaziJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We love Sennen Cove anyway, and have stayed in holiday cottage accommodation for several years, spending many a lunchtime/evening enjoying the good food, ale and ambience at The Old Success ... this December, having a spot of the pre-Xmas blues, and having noted the approach of an Atlantic swell and storm, decided to just jolly well drive 250 miles down there for the absolute hell of it, for a day's walk on the beach and a night's stay at the pub ... BRILLIANT !! ...so welcoming, so comfortable, so friendly, so relaxing, and great value for money ... incredible spacious room with wowser sea view (including seals and dolphins) ... one very happy couple !!

Room Tip: Room 1 highly recommended (super-king-size bed, sofa, 2 armchairs, fab sea view, very spacious walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanleysAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sennen Cove
1.1 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
540 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
61 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 3 in Penzance
849 reviews
13.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,774 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#2 of 3 in Penzance
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Success Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Success Inn

Address: Cove Hill, Sennen Cove TR19 7DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Sennen Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sennen Cove
Price Range: £77 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Success Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of Cornwall's most stunning bays, the Old Success is a beautiful 17th century fisherman's inn, which has been transformed into comfortable, modern rooms and apartments while retaining its charm and character. With clear blue sea and fine sands, Sennen Cove is a breathtakingly beautiful location. The Old Success boasts magnificent views overlooking the beach and Whitesand Bay towards The Brisons rocks and Cape Cornwall, the only cape in England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Old Success Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Success Hotel Sennen Cove
Old Success Inn Sennen Cove, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing