We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great weekend”
Review of Old Success Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Success Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sennen Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another great weekend”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I have been visiting the Old Success for many years we were surprised to hear Colin and Jackie had left. Matt has taken over at the moment .We have known him for a couple of years, he made us very welcome and we had a great weekend .Staff were friendly food and drinks really good .Room was comfortable and very clean.Small car park not a problem if you were blocked in just asked Matt and it was sorted .Booked for next Easter , hope the brewery give Matt the job !

Room Tip: Best rooms 12. 11. 1 .2. 6 have stayed in all of them all have great views 12 .11 are at the top of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    172
    54
    18
    7
See reviews for
62
279
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BRISTOL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

we have stayed here for a few years, in the hotel and the self catering apartments when we bring the dog. This place is lovely, the team are brilliant, food is lovely and view is stunning, rooms are spotless and we always leave wanting to book our next stay. Matt the manager recently helped us out with a last minute booking and we cant thank him enough for helping us out .Stay here, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAIRECHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just returned from a lovely 4 night break at The Old Success inn. I think the room sizes must vary greatly at this inn because we stayed in a spacious room (room 11) with a sofa and contemporary furnishings and large bathroom. It was very clean and staff came in every day to freshen up the room. Also we had a beautiful view of the beach. The newly refurbished restaurant has a lovely ambiance and we had some very good meals there. If you are looking for an impersonal, characterless environment then stick to Travelodge or Premier Inn but if you are looking for a traditional cornish inn with character and history with a fab view of the cornish coastline then you would be hard pushed to find somewhere better than the Old Success.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lyvejive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Just cannot fault the location, over looking Sennan Beach, a mile walk from Lands End, and oh what a lovely walk it is. Would highly recommend to couples looking for a peaceful break. The rooms were small but perfectly suitable for our needs, very clean and well cared for. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The homemade food in the bar was reasonably priced and delicious. Would love, love, love to stay here again :))

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSMgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Beautiful location. Difficult parking when the restaurant is full for lunch - no reservation for overnight guests in the small car park. Lots of stairs and door to lug bags through. The room was so small you had to bend under a sloping beam to get round the bed - could have been a disaster going to the bathroom in the middle of the night! Also, as the side of the bed had been sat on a lot it sloped and I felt as though I was falling out of the bed each time I turned over! The bathroom was excellent, however and the evening meal in the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This Inn was the fourth we stayed in during our walking tour of Cornwall and it was less than we expected. The room was very small and has not been kept up-to-date. The bathroom which was long and very narrow ( 3 feet?) felt like it was right in the bedroom. Undercooked fried eggs for breakfast but otherwise the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This pub doesn't need to work hard to attract guests due to it's superb location and it shows in the overall state of the public areas. That said, the restaurant is light and airy. Clearly there has been some investment here which made it delightful to sit in for our breakfast. The main bar is shabby but adorned with maritime memorabilia and clearly a favourite haunt of members of the life boat team which adds to it's charm and where we chose to eat. Service was excellent. My fish and chips were delicious. Our room was large, bright and sunny on the top floor with dual aspect windows from which to enjoy the seascape. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom, while large, needs updating. The room was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was one of the best we've had with a large selection to choose from. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sennen Cove
1.1 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
8.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sennen Cove Cottage
Sennen Cove Cottage
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Success Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Success Inn

Property: Old Success Inn
Address: Cove Hill, Sennen Cove TR19 7DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Sennen Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sennen Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Success Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of Cornwall's most stunning bays, the Old Success is a beautiful 17th century fisherman's inn, which has been transformed into comfortable, modern rooms and apartments while retaining its charm and character. With clear blue sea and fine sands, Sennen Cove is a breathtakingly beautiful location. The Old Success boasts magnificent views overlooking the beach and Whitesand Bay towards The Brisons rocks and Cape Cornwall, the only cape in England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Old Success Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Success Hotel Sennen Cove
Old Success Inn Sennen Cove, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing