We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Success Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cove Cottage(St Buryan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Penzance(Penzance)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marazion Hotel(Marazion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chymorvah Hotel(Marazion)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
238
190
58
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
190
58
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe publands endspecials boardcar parkgreat beerst austell breweryquiz nightscampicape cornwallcoastal pathsunday carveryminack theatrestunning locationan evening mealout of seasonfantastic viewssea view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Been to the old success for a few years now and it is amazing each time! Rooms are lovely all with lovely views of either side of the cove, food is amazing and the terrace is lovely to sit up on in the summer watching the sunset. The staff are brilliant also very relaxed and laid back, well organised and know exactly what they are doing! Can't wait to return in March! Would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

The old success inn but the interior and the cleanliness reflected much as a new inn. The location just few yards away across the ocean. Truly a certified tripadvisor place to stay. A few shops away, we ate fish n chips shop and even though in december, there are not a lot of tourist but the provided a good meal.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annakaranena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We used to stay at this Inn during the 90's but it then seemed to go downhill following a change of Management. We decided to try the place again after about 10 years and were pleasantly surprised. It really seems to have recovered to it's old condition, being clean, comfortable and with a nice atmosphere. The bar is welcoming, staff very pleasant and overall really good. The view and location remains fantastic. Matt, the present Manager seems really good, well organised and attentive.....a good representative for St Austell brewery. I am sure he continue to take this great old Inn forward.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We normally stay at a house in Sennen Cove but as it was only the night we decided to stay here. We are quite familiar with the Old Success as we have had many delicious meals here before so we thought at least we won't be hungry. The staff were all very friendly and helpful couldn't be faulted. The room was warm as it had been pre-heated a nice touch after coming in from a brazing walk this you may seem so what but my husband stayed in a place this week where they didn't do this and it was very cold and had to sleep with his socks on .The room was very clean and nicely furnished with all the towels placed on a heated towel rail. There were plenty of sachets of beverages (no herbal though but I normally bring my own anyway) and all toiletries were in hand pumps soap,lotion,shampoo,conditioner and shower gel. The bed linen was very good quality and the mattress was amazing so comfortable (haven't slept on such a comfortable bed in a hotel ).The food is always great and the breakfast was generous with a wide range of options fruit, cereals ,toast,fish and of course full English with veggie option. Thursday night is quiz night where visitors are made very welcome (we won) perfect end to the day Can't wait to visit again - well done to all who work there

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was my second vist here to this excellent hotel,by the beautiful beaches of Sennen Cove.The room we enjoyed was a very large double, overlooking the beach, I just love laying in bed listening to the waves crashing over the rocks.
The food was always enjoyable, but more than anything, the staff made our holiday very special.
I feel I must mention Matthew, the manager?, he is so focused on the guests comfort, and ensuring that all his staff are happy, there has been a great improvement since our last stay. I loved it then, by the way.
I cant wait to return, maybe in May, and hope to bring my little great-grandaughter, with her parents to share this idyllic Cornish treasure of a hotel. For'Old Success' read Great Success'

Room Tip: Room 1 is large and airy with a wonderful sea-view, and I remember room 12 having the same extraordinary view of Sennen Cove.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews