We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely short break”
Review of Old Success Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Success Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sennen Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Fantastic location and views from our clean and comfortable room, dual aspect large sash windows. This cove is truly heavenly.
Excellent and good value pub style (but top quality) food.
Friendly and helpful staff, especially accommodating with car parking challenges.
Lovely and relatively easy walk along coast path to Lands End.
Cant wait until our next visit.

Room Tip: If you can make sure you get room at front with sea views. Sun setting in to the sea is breathtakin...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Old Success Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here for work as it was the nearest place available to me to where I had my meeting in the morning.The food was very good pub grub, tasty and great value, the room was great and very clean with a lovely modern bathroom and the bed was soooooo comfy with good pillows and thick curtains so no dawn waking! BUT the location was the thing, it was absolutely stunning! We were able to sit on a decked area that overlooked the bay and were very lucky with the beautiful weather. I have already raved about the Old Success to many people and will continue to do so. I will definitely stay again if I get the chance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Situated right on the sea front at Sennen Cove the Old Success Inn enjoys fantastic sea views. I was staying on a Friday night in June 2014, prior to setting off from Land's End the next day to cycle to John O'Groats. The pub was lively and vibrant and I enjoyed sitting with a pint watching another group of cyclists unloading bikes from a Land Rover. They were also staying overnight prior to cycle to the other end of the country. My bike, along with theirs, was securely locked up in the pub's store room.

The ensuite room was very comfortable and full of character. Being in a building dating from 1619 I imagine the other rooms also had character. I slept well and it was surprisingly quiet despite the vibrancy of the bar. The next morning I gate crashed the other cyclists buffet style breakfast. This was excellent with plentiful supplies of cereals, fruit, juice and bacon, sausages eggs etc. There was also proof that the smoke detectors work when the fire alarm was set off by someone leaving their toast to carbonise in the toaster.

The only downside for the cyclist is the long and very steep hill from the beach up to the main road. Unless you are lucky enough to have a Land Rover to carry you and your bike the couple of miles to Lands End.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RoystonWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the old success at the end of May in preparation for my brothers wedding. I must say the hotel is in one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited. The hotel was clean and tidy at all times. The staff were so so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were lovely presented. If you ever find yourself looking for a hotel in this area, the old success is the one you should choose.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A great pub doing nice food and god beer. A warm welcome awaits and the location and views are second to none!! They cater for everyone from young to old. If you have trouble with steps then you will struggle but they do have a ground floor flat available. The beer terrace overlooking the beach is great when the sun is shinning.

Room Tip: you get a sea view from most rooms I have stayed in but ask for one when you book.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stirs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I spent two nights here with my husband on the 11th and 12th June. The room was ensuite with tea and coffee in the room. The bed was comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty of choice. Sennen Cove is a small picturesque fishing village. Lands End is a 5 minute walk from the hotel up a steep track. The bay is beautiful with a large stretch of golden sand and clear, but cold water.

Room Tip: If you go to bed early, ask for one at the back and not over the front where the outside tables are...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turkeycrew09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stopped here after 18 miles walking on day 1 of our latest instalment of the SWCP. It had been quite a tough day, so the comfortable sea-view room (with a bath most importantly!) was most welcome.
Breakfast was OK, so all round a pretty good stopping point for walkers even though options are limited in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sennen Cove
1.1 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
505 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
54 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
814 reviews
20.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
602 reviews
13.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Success Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Success Inn

Address: Cove Hill, Sennen Cove TR19 7DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Sennen Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sennen Cove
Price Range: £52 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Success Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of Cornwall's most stunning bays, the Old Success is a beautiful 17th century fisherman's inn, which has been transformed into comfortable, modern rooms and apartments while retaining its charm and character. With clear blue sea and fine sands, Sennen Cove is a breathtakingly beautiful location. The Old Success boasts magnificent views overlooking the beach and Whitesand Bay towards The Brisons rocks and Cape Cornwall, the only cape in England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Old Success Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Success Hotel Sennen Cove
Old Success Inn Sennen Cove, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing