We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
260
196
67
25
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
196
67
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lands end the pub crab soup specials board great beer st austell brewery quiz night coastal path sunday carvery minack theatre stunning location an evening meal overlooking the beach out of season lovely food fabulous views sea view
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Went here for Sunday lunch only to find they had done away with the carvery which we had previously enjoyed. Instead the lunch came ready served, it was barely warm, the vegetables were clearly re heated and the gray was gloopy.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We stayed for one night last week to celebrate my partner's special birthday and we could not really fault any aspect of our short trip.
Sennen has always been a special place in her family's heart so the place was on a winner before we started but I thought The Old Success was first rate.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and smiley and looked after us really well. Our room was at the top of the building with a fabulous sea view and loads of space. It was very clean and tastefully decorated with everything we needed..
Breakfast was superb with lots of different cooked options.
So, for us it was excellent and I would recommend a stay. However I can see why some people who only want a meal could be disappointed. The upstairs dining room is reserved mainly for residents, so if they are full then it would be difficult to get a table. That would mean using the bar or the outside tables and they all looked very busy and I can understand there may have been a longer wait than we experienced. There were many customers that evening and all seemed to be having a great time with lots of laughter and chat going on until closing time.
One tiny glitch is the parking arrangements. We were told in advance we would need to park in the public car park, which is next door, and only £5 until 10.00am the next morming. That's fine but on the day we arrived it was full and only getting lucky with someone leaving were we able to park. We were told later that we could have left the car on the forecourt so that is something to bare in mind if you stay.
Definitely worth staying there for luxury in a pub!

Room Tip: Most are sea view but best to ask for one. Two top rooms seem the best.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Success Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you Terry for this amazing review. We are thrilled you and your partner enjoyed your visit to us and we do hope to see you return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We stayed at the Old Success Inn for several years when we visited the Minack Theatre, but it became a bit tired and less inviting. But it's now been taken over by St Austell Breweries who have brightened up thew old place, smartened up the rooms and employed a bright young manager and staff to revitalise the place. The restaurant and bar serve good pub grub, good beer and a range of wines and spirits - Tarquin's blackberry gin went down particularly well. The rooms are bright and clean and many - ours included - have fab views over Sennen beach. Parking is limited but they will reimburse the parking charges and the two large public car parks.
A great stay and our group are eagerly looking forward to our return next year for our annual Minack/Sennen visit. note - free internet for patrons and guests.

Room Tip: rooms with a view of the beach are well worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Salsamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Success Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you for this 5* review, it is greatly appreciated. We are pleased you love our change and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Visited for an evening meal on the 23rd of August, I asked to set up a tab and was informed by the youth who looked like he was in charge of the bar that they don’t allow tabs, fair enough until on two separate occasions when ordering drinks I noticed other guests who had tabs running.

The food at best was OK but be prepared to wait!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Called in one evening whilst camping on the area, managed to find a table on a very busy evening. Ordered food and was informed there was an hour and a quarter wait on food. No issue at all with that people have the choice to wait or go else where. We sat and chatted and meals arrived one hour and twenty mins after ordering so spot on.
Meals ranged from steaks to burgers and all meals were good size, reasonable price and good basic pub food exactly what one would expect.
If in the area again I would happily return and enjoy another couple of beers!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank ACKERS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews