We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Success Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marazion Hotel(Marazion)
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Penzance(Penzance)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
239
191
58
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
191
58
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe publands endspecials boardcar parkgreat beerst austell breweryquiz nightscampicape cornwallcoastal pathsunday carveryminack theatrestunning locationan evening mealout of seasonfantastic viewssea view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2010

This hotel has a fantastic location, overlooking the beach at Sennen Cove. Our room had a gorgeous view of the sea and, although quite small, it was very clean and the bed and linen were of good quality.
Unlike the previous reviewer, we found the food to be of excellent quality, certainly better than standard pub grub.
There are definitely the makings of a great hotel here; great location,nice food, well presented (perhaps the bar and communal areas could do with a lick of paint), but all of this is let down by the service...or lack of it.
The general feeling given by staff is that you are an inconvenience. There is minimal interaction with staff, they seem to do their best to avoid you, and they are short and to the point when you do finally get hold of them. There were few, if any, smiles. It is such a shame, because the hotel has such potential in the right hands.
Also, just because this hotel is in a peaceful corner of Cornwall, do not expect a peaceful night's sleep. The hotel is quite lively. They have live music on Saturday nights, which is great if you fancy some entertainment....but the sound can be heard loudly throughout the whole hotel, so don't expect to get any sleep before the pub closes. The disruption is not confined to Saturday's either; on Sunday night we were kept awake by the heavy thudding of rock music echoing in the room. This was not music from the bar (they were playing Abba, that we couldn't hear), but seemed to be coming from elsewhere in the hotel, as it was not any louder when we opened the window. We couldn't figure out where it was coming from, perhaps the floor above, but there are no music facilities in the rooms. In any case, it stopped some time after midnight. It must be said that we had the best night's sleep of our holiday when we stopped over in a Travelodge on the way home.
We won't be visiting the hotel again, but will definitely be returning to Sennen Cove in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokeyr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The Old Success is in a great location, almost on the beautiful beach at Sennen Cove. Our room was spacious, clean, very comfortable and had a fantastic view. The restaurant served standard pub food in the evening, which was good but nothing special. They ran out of two of the specials quite early in the evening. The breakfast was disappointing. We had to wait 25 minutes and the food was quite poor quality.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyjb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We enjoyed our stay in Sennen Cove (just north of Land's End) greatly. The village is quaint, the sea beautiful and the rocks and coastline surrounding it magnificent - excellent photo opportunities. Our room was clean, but a bit sparse. We stayed in the small double, which was a bit tight, and the bed seemed smaller than normal to accomodate the room size. I recommend paying extra for the normal-sized double rooms. Most rooms have sea views, including ours - partial view of the sea, and part of the pub yard and parking lot. The pub closes at 11, so we had no problems with noise, even with the window open. Parking was a bit tight, but free. Good breakfast. We enjoyed our stay, particularly the location - it seemed like all that Cornwall should be.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwestWriter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We stayed here for 9 nights after visiting Sennen Cove on our last trip to Cornwall. You could not get a better location for this Inn, right opposite and most beautiful beach and the pub itself is lovely - however.... With 2 x young children we decided to book into one of the 3 x self catering apartments that the pubs has and after looking forward to our trip all year, we were very very very disappointed - in fact disgusted - with the quality of the accomodation. The first room we were in - The puffin - was extremely dirty and very damp. Everything that was left in the apartment felt damp after one night, bedding, clothes, towels everything. My 6 month old had a cold when we arrived and the damp in this room really did not help his chest. There was cobwebs on nearly every ceiling lamp, the fire doors did not close properly, the only window that opened was a small one in the kitchen, which incidently has mould round the window sills (as did the bathroom) and the quality of cleaning was appaling. We were on the 3rd night moved to the Dolphin apartment, which although not brilliant was a much improvement on the puffin. Unfortunately, this room also suffered from bad damp and again the cleanliness was appalling. We spent nearly 2 hours when we moved in hoovering and cleaning the floors.

We did complain to the managers on our arrival but unfortunatly his attitude was basically if you don't like it go elsewhere - we did try this but unfortunately could not find anywhere available or we would of.

This Inn saving grace is Dave who was very helpful and also quite embarassed by the standard of the rooms. Apparently the B&B rooms have been refubished and are much better but we did not get to see these. My husband did end up having a meeting with the area manager who agreed to deduct some money from our bill and did ensure us that the problems in the self catering rooms would be addressed.

Unfortunately this did put a real dampner on our holiday - when travelling with a 2 year old and 6 month old the last thing you want to worry about in your accomodation is weather its damp and clean..... One final note - the parking is very limited - there is a public carpark opposite but this does cvost £5 per day if you leave it in there all day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rags01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

we stayed in room 3, this was booked for our 25th wedding anniversary. the smallest room ever! situated right above the carpark where people sit and drink and smoke and fill the room with the smell of smoke and there is no chance of going to sleep til they have gone. the bathroom is so dated, small and mouldy.
cant believe that the management would put anyone in this room.
the chef's, when they can, stand outside the kitchen smoking, a real put off if you want food and there is nowhere else to get food. dont eat in the bar, everyone and anyone can bring their mutt into the bar, lovely when you want to eat food.
the staff were friendly but this inn really does need a makeover, the lounge area smells like an old people's home and you have to hold your nose til you get outside. the decking area outside is impressive, but the smell from the gents toilets on the way off is a real put off.
other than that, sea views are great and sennen is one of the nices places on earth. if we go back again, we will rent out one of the many seafront accommodations.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mand83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews