We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location for lunch”
Review of The Beach Restaurant - CLOSED

The Beach Restaurant
Price range: US$3 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A good place for lunch right on the beach. Good food . The place is trendy and is on a beautiful beach, you can watch the surfers from here. We went for an evening meal and had great food, but the menu didn't change all week, so we only went twice. The staff were lovely but needed some training, the service was too slow. We wondered why the place was empty when there was so many more tables that could have been full.....this made the place lack atmosphere at night...it could be much more efficient if they got it full and got the staff trained to move quicker! We waited twenty minutes for a bottle of wine! We were told we couldn't sit by the window , that the seat was taken, but we didn't see anyone there in the three hours we were there....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Glynis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Owner at The Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for you review and sorry that the service was not what you expected. Just to be clear for the benefit of others reading we are not serving lunch over the peak season this year due to a skills shortage in the kitchen. We have chosen to concentrate the resources that we do have on our evening meals in order to produce the food we know we are capable of. I hope that you can visit us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

A very spacious restaurant, there were only a few people in on the Friday night we went although we had been told it got very busy and booking was essential. The food was excellent, beautifully cooked and presented. The waitress was delightfully, all in all a very good experience

Thank Eunice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Owner at The Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Eunice, thank you very much for writing this great review. Very glad you enjoyed your food and we hope that you can visit us again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Been there three times now, always a good experience! We've had lunch inside and outside, both with their own charm. The mussels I've had were the BEST EVER. I went back this June and almost fainted to find they were not on the menu. But found a fantastic replacement hake dish. Oh my! It is very hard not to want to order the same thing twice here. Just because it is so delicious. On two occasions we went with friends who equally loved the food and on one occasion we just went in for some hot chocolate (even those are yum). Check opening times before coming and make a reservation to prevent disappointment! Highly recommend this place overlooking Sennen beach. Parking is next to restaurant & beach.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Celtic-Inspiration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Owner at The Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you very much for writing this great review, we really appreciate you taking the time to do this. We are so glad your enjoyed your food and hope that you can visit again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having eaten at the Beach Res many times, I would give the 'experience' 9 out of 10. Having worked at the Success I totally sympathise with Dan, as lots of people don't realise, it is not cost effective to open long hours during the day hoping to get the odd walker. During the day there are other alternatives for good quality food at a reasonable price, such as Little Bo and Blue Lagoon. The Beach is a restaurant, not a cafe or snack bar. Sennen needed and since 2004, now have, a quality dining outlet. Anyone reading this should try the Beach, Little Bo and Blue Lagoon, as the experience is hard to beat anywhere.

Thank joeyjones12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Owner at The Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much for your supportive comments, I appreciate it. Having worked in the industry you understand the pitfalls all too well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The food here is a step up from the usual fare. They are taking the time to bring together a diversity of tastes and textures effectively sets it apart from other local eateries. Example, the combination of scallops, black pudding and apple puree with a dressing of crispy onion and pea shoots was an amazing starter, and others on the menu were in the same vein. This isn't at the top end of the 'gastro' experience but it is very good. Wine was at a reasonable price and the staff (mostly looking about 14 years old) were cheerful attentive and efficient. The place is on a raised area above a small beach and has unfettered views of the setting sun. When it's not raining. We were there on a mid-week evening and it was pretty packed. Booking advised which you can do over the 'net. I will look forward to a return trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fishonsaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Owner at The Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your very complimentary comments on our food. You are obviously someone who eats out on a regular basis and it's nice for us to get the feedback. We look forward to you eating with us next time and hope that you enjoy it equally as much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Restaurant also viewed

 
Sennen Cove, Cornwall
Sennen Cove, Cornwall
 
Sennen Cove, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing