We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Pub Food Experience”
Review of Old Success Inn

Old Success Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Situated on one of Cornwall's most stunning bays, the Old Success is a beautiful 17th century fisherman's inn, which has been transformed into comfortable, modern rooms and apartments while retaining its charm and character. With clear blue sea and fine sands, Sennen Cove is a breathtakingly beautiful location. The Old Success boasts magnificent views overlooking the beach and Whitesand Bay towards The Brisons rocks and Cape Cornwall, the only cape in England.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Average Pub Food Experience”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This pub, sat at the edge of Sennen Cove has many good attributes: the friendliness of the staff, the warmth of the assembled masses sheltering from the same poor weather, and the well-kept-beer. Eating here in the early evening, showed that the food unfortunately, cannot be considered a true attraction, or incentive to visit.

We chose whitbait and crab cakes to start, followed by sea bass and a steak. Whilst not mind-blowingly good, everything came in a timely fashion, though perhaps was not seasoned fully enough. The whitebait was plentiful and the crab cakes fairly well-formed, but the steak was overcooked and the sea bass, bland.

The chips, onion rings, and garlic bread ordered were all "of the freezer" varieties, and when coupled with basics such as steak, I suppose we were disappointed that this meal didn't offer more in the way of an individual streak - something home-made, to really make the meal stand out.

As things stand, we had some average pub-grub, which was not cheap, and nothing makes us want to return there, specifically.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark01824093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    159
    55
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely carvery!!! ”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Second time I've been here for a carvery on a Sunday and it's one of the best I've had (both times).
Such a good selection of foods for the roast and all tasted amazing.
I did feel the staff were a little overwhelmed with service, but this may be due to under staffing. Saying this I didn't feel it was a problem as there were so friendly and apologetic-Laid back atmosphere, which is what we like. We also had our 8month baby in the pram with us- there isn't massive amounts of room in the restaurant but they catered for the space we needed.

Helpful?
Thank FionaDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,876 reviews
1,050 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 911 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as expected”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We decided to dine here in the restaurant when staying overnight after our first day's walking on the SWCP as we did not have the energy to look elsewhere!
The food was OK, but not overly special - I had whitebait followed by the fish pie, whilst my wife had a mushroom starter followed by lobster salad which presented her quite a challenge to extract the meat.
Perhaps we were just not in the right mood to properly enjoy our food - despite 3 pints of St Austell ales each?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The service did not suit with the portions”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The staff were moaning about how they have had to do so many hours, 36 instead of 30. And how they need more staff behind the bar and kitchen. Obviously they are feeling pretty fed up with it all.
I ordered the crab starter thinking it will be a good size portion as there is no airs and graces here, but when the starter was served it was a really stingy amount of crab on a 2 inch circumference of baguette with rocket and mayo. At £9.50 i feel that is pretty poor, but that is my personal opinion and i should of asked about size of portion before ordering.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 6swell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service, good food, lovely location.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Fantastic setting (great for a drink or lunch stop pre or post the lands end walk). I have visited the pub on 4 separate occasions over the years and the service is always consistent. If the weather is good the rooftop decking area is lovely with great views.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amberchatwin1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Success Inn also viewed

 
Sennen Cove, Cornwall
 
Sennen Cove, Cornwall
 

Been to Old Success Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing