We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another FABULOUS time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elveden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Elveden Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

we have just got back from yet another wonderful stay at Center parcs. we stayed in the lakeview hotel and had room 28 on the first floor. it is one of the older style rooms and was lovely. it had everything you would expect from a hotel room.i could not see the point of paying an extra £40 for one of the "newer" rooms just to get a flat screen tv and being on the top floor!
we spent quite a lot of time this holiday at the aqua sana. i tried the dry floatation experience which was wonderful. a real treat and the beautician, olivia, made me feel so at ease. i also had a facial, massage and pedicure. my husband also went for the mens massage and facial, something that he thought was a tad expensive but he really enjoyed it.
we ate out at the foresters inn, bella italia and the indian. the food could not be faulted in each of them. there was enough choice in each of them. the italian just pipped it for us as it had a great atmosphere.
there is a new HUGE water ride being built in the swimming complex. i knew about it before we got here but i cant say the building work disturbed us...thank goodness as seeing the huge crane when you get here can be a little worrying!! the only thing it affected was the outdoor salt water pool which is now closed.
they have revamped the gift shop, given it another name, but to be honest its still the gift shop selling the same stuff!
the food shop still did cakes that could feed a family of four! yummy!!
all in all nothing much has changed since we were here last year but thats what we like. theres still plenty to do or not do if thats the case. cant wait for june 2013!

Room Tip: i dont think its worth paying the extra to upgrade to a newer room. the money saved could be used to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7,137 - 7,143 of 8,566 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

We've just returned from a 4-night stay at Elveden. Friends have all raved about how wonderful Center Parcs holidays are, so this year we decided to see what all the fuss was about and booked a break with our 3 young children. I have to say I was a little dubious - the whole concept feels a bit like enforced fun, and after reading a variety of less than positive reviews I was prepared to be disappointed. Fortunately, my reservations were unfounded.

Arrival is a bit chaotic as everyone's trying to park up close to their villa at the same time, and if you accidentally drive past your accommodation you've got a 2-mile trip round the one-way system to get back there, unless you dare to reverse against the flow of traffic (bitter experience talking :-)). If you can delay driving on to the site until after the initial flurry, it's probably worth it.

We were staying in a 3-bedroom new style woodland lodge, which was clean and well-equipped. Really liked the little touches like the child's step provided in the bathroom so they can reach the sink, and the chalk for the blackboard, which kept our 3 entertained. Appreciated the hospitality tray and dishwasher tablets provided too. Beds felt really comfy initially, but there was something strangely synthetic about the bedlinen; every night I woke at some point feeling slightly suffocated by the heat that the bedding seemed to be giving off. Maybe that's just me though...!
Our villa looked out onto woodland, and just as the other reviews promise, within minutes ducks & squirrels had come to say hello, with deer putting in an appearance in the background.

We were only a 10-minute walk from restaurants/activities, so could have left our bikes at home, although little bike rides added to the enjoyment for our children. Our son learnt to ride without stabilisers whilst we were here (he had to, we'd forgotten to pack them...) but it didn't feel entirely safe letting him wobble his way up and down the road as there were service vehicles constantly driving around the site, which took some of the sheen off the "no cars" ethos.

Our kids (7, 5 & 2) all loved the swimming pools. They were busy, but never overcrowded, and do seem to get a bit quieter over lunchtime and later in the day if you want to avoid the crowds. If you wanted to you could spend the whole day here as there's a cafe and a Starbucks within the pool areas. There's something for everyone: paddling areas, wave pool, jacuzzis, waterslides. Loads of lifeguards round too - you felt like you were in safe hands. The changing rooms feel slightly chaotic, they could do with more of the family cubicles.

We tried to keep costs down by not booking too many activities; as a family we did 10-pin bowling and the adventure golf, our 5 year-old son did crossbow which was only a 20-minute session but he loved it, and our 7 year-old daughter did rollerskating (with considerably more confidence & panache than her mum) which was great fun, although I'd got the impression there'd be some tuition of some kind, rather than just a lady helping you do up your knee-pads. All in, we spent £50 on activites, but can see how costs could quickly mount up.

There's enough to do here anyway that you don't really need to book loads of activities, but if you do want to plan things then do book them up sooner rather than later. We enjoyed exploring the play areas, the lake beach, and of course the pool, none of which cost anything at all.

We also kept costs down by eating in our villa rather than dining out in restaurants. A lot of reviews suggest that the restaurants are over-priced, but having looked at the menus they don't seem to have hiked the priced up at all, it was what you'd expect for Cafe Rouge etc, and most places appear to do kids meal deals too for £5 - £6. Likewise, although the shop wasn't cheap it wasn't overpriced either - milk was under £1.50 for a 4-pint carton, baguettes were just over £1. There are plenty of supermarkets in nearby towns so if you stock up en route you really only need to buy basics whilst you're on site.

We're lucky in that our children have a 2-week holiday at Whit so we can take advantage of off-peak prices during the 2nd week when most schools have gone back. We paid £459 for our 4-night stay, which I feel was worth it; had we gone the week earlier the same thing would have cost over £1000, which would have felt ridiculously overpriced.

In summary, a good experience enjoyed by all our family; would definitely consider doing it again but only if the price was right.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank McThirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Just got back from an amazing holiday at center parcs, it was our first time with center parcs and was a really lovely experience, kids loved it as did me and my husband, loads to do for Adults and children, already thinking about our next trip there :).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Another very good stay with Centre Parcs, the 2 bed executive villa (old style), was clean and comfy, although some of the fixtures and fittings in the bathrooms were a little tired. Our 4yr old daughter loved the pool, and the pony ride, but the member of staff leading the pony was very grumpy! The food was very nice, if a little pricey. The outside areas were clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This was our first trip to Centre Parcs (we chose Elveden) and we took our 15-month old son. From arrival to departure, we never had the slightest bit of hassle or problem with any of the facilities or services - it was all so well organised. It was also very refreshing to note that *all* of the staff we encountered actually looked happy in their work and were extremely welcoming and friendly. The facilities for children were excellent, with highchairs, changing areas, playgrounds everywhere, and even free jars of baby food if you want them in some restaurants. Many restaurants also have either small play areas or large ones to keep the kids busy while your food's being cooked. We stayed in a New Style Executive lodge and the decor and fittings were fantastic - very modern, sturdy and clean. All in all it was a lovely relaxing break with no worries or problems at all. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonRandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Hi We have just come back from Elveden Forest Center Parcs in Thetford, and this was our 4 th time there!

Both me and my wife love it there and normally use the Lakeview Hotel. Hoped to het the Honeymoon Suite but unfortunately was booked so took the new design room. Have to say the room was lovely and clean, and maids came in most days but my only gripe was the bed! It was really uncomfortable and springy and the settee that you get, you are nearly sitting on the floor!

The hotel is ideal for couples without kids otherwise i would suggest a villa.
Despite the horrible weather, we enjoyed our stay there but be warned, take lots of money for food and clothes if you dont do any attractions just the swimming!

Room Tip: Couples: Try to book Honeymoon suite, otherwise you may want to put the heavy blanket under the base...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazdudeuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Elveden Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

So glad to read that you and your wife love your visits to Center Parcs and have returned for a fourth time.

Not so good to read your review of our bed and sofa and sorry that you found them so uncomfortable. We do usually receive positive reviews regarding these and your feedback has been passed to our Housekeeping Services Manager.

So glad you still enjoyed your visit and can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Christine Norman
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This was our first stay in a 'pet friendly' villa. The pet smell was strong and the drains in our cloakroom smelt so bad we didn't use it, lots of air fresheners had been used but that wasn't good, lots of smells competing. The villa had damage including frayed blind, stains on carpets, missing skirting boards, nail pops and large scratches on patio doors, duvets were lumpy - not the image portrayed when booking and not good value for money.

Room Tip: Non pet rooms are much cleaner and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalsallMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elveden
4.5 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
648 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
13.8 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
460 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
533 reviews
4.3 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Elveden Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Elveden Forest

Address: Elveden Forest, Elveden IP24 3TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Elveden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Elveden
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Elveden Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Elveden Forest Hotel Elveden
Center Parcs Hotel Suffolk
Center Parcs Suffolk
Center Parcs Elveden Forest Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing