We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaotic arrival & departure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elveden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Elveden Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

1000 cabins (average 6 occupants) situated along a one-way system country lane. All visitors arriving/departing at the same time twice a week. Of course it's chaos. Our accommodation (3 bedroomed, new-style executive lodge) was absolutely fine, well designed and in good condition. The activities, and every little extra, are usually expensive for what they are. In fine weather, when families can explore and barbecue outside, it should be more enjoyable. In January - very limited!

Room Tip: The lower level of cabins are apparently very tatty. Our executive, new style, 3 bedroom cabin was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6,345 - 6,351 of 8,418 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

We have just returned from spending New Year at Elveden Forest. Our party of 7 adults and 2 children stayed in 2 Comfort Plus lodges. We found the lodges to be quite basic and looking a bit tired.

We hired 7 bicycles and 2 buggies at a total cost of £225, which I found very expensive, especially when several of them had defective lights.

The Swimming area was on the chilly side but the 'Cyclone' was very good.

New Years night was spent at The Foresters. We had a great evening and the staff were very friendly and most helpful. We left at 23.30 and walked to the lake to watch the fireworks. These were excellent and rounded off the evening perfectly.

Overall we had a great break, but it came at a cost, which we found was a bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We shared a comfort plus villa for 8 taking our 11 and 12yr old boys. We've been visiting on and off for years. This time we were dissapointed with the accomodation - If it were half the price maybe not so much. There were lots of faults - broken external door handle, radiators cold, no outside light, etc and just generally tired, 80's styling, cobwebby with a soggy sofa and uncomfy pillows! After all that - we were out and about and enjoyed the activities (if a little over priced- book online before - its cheaper). The aqua sana spa is good, and the pool with its new cyclone ride brilliant. It was just after New Year but eating out was painful - slow to get service and delivery of food and even harder to book tables (though many empty ones around...)drinks & food expensive. Biking around was fine. Overall kids and we enjoyed the break but very expensive for a weekend away.

Room Tip: Try to get a newer / updated chalet - but luck of the draw if not paying more..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wornoutshoes02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Elveden Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

We appreciate your comments and I am sorry to hear that several aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

Whilst it is true to say that there are, and always will be at varying times, accommodation and areas of our Village that are nearing refurbishment, however, we endeavour to maintain every unit to an acceptable standard at all times.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Aqua Sana and the new Tropical Cyclone ride but it is disappointing that you also had issues in the restaurants. The Food and Beverage Manager will be informed of your comments.

Thank you for posting.

Kind regards

Therese Garratt
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I love this place & been here many times BUT have not been since the new cyclone ride has been in action, we are going next Friday and just wondered would this ride be safe for our nearly seven year old son ..he wants to go on it but I just wondered will it be safe for him to go on ?

Will he fall out?

Please help.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayofsoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Elveden Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Hi and thanks for your post.

The new Tropical Cyclone ride has a height restriction of 1.2 meters and all children under 8 years must be accompanied by an adult.

Each raft takes a maximum of 4 riders. There are also is a weight restriction to keep the raft balanced.

I hope you find this information helpful and we look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind regards


Therese Garratt
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

A friend and I stayed Christmas Week. I have never been to Center parcs before. we stayed in the hotel. the hotel is clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. the spa is the best part in my opinion. Center parcs is very family and children orientated and this was beginning to get too much after a few days. the activities can be quite expensive, only the pool is included but there is no adult only area, so we only used the pool once and only for a short period.
i am sure its perfect for large groups and families, but not for me.
i might return for a day spa or over night spa stay, but that would be all as its just not my type of holiday.

Room Tip: The hotel room has a small (bigger than mini bar, smaller than home under counter) fridge and a kett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_pike, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Elveden Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Your comments as a first time visitor have been noted and I appreciate that you found us to be predominantly family orientated.

We do pride ourselves in being able to provide a holiday which can be enjoyed by both families and couples however, as you suggest perhaps a spa break may be something you would consider in the future.

I genuinely hope that you will return.

Kind Regards

Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Don't expect a glamorous first impression of your lodge, it's just a forest retreat but nice inside & it works. We had 4 children, the youngest 2 girls of 6 years, we were lucky to be fairly close to village & the girls managed the biking ok, I would in future pre book the 'closer' lodges, purely because the extra travelling would have been a little much for them. The pool is great fun, we spent 2-3 hours in there per day, my older son done the scuba diving & enjoyed it a lot, we were impressed by the extensive safety checks & hygiene maintenance in the pool area. Hucks diner was good fun. My only regret was not making it to the spa. Time for just an adult break.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Been visiting for 8 years and am feeling that this will be our last.
Stayed in executive 4 bed with games room as usual however this year it was dirty and in need of decorating. The sofas are shabby and the kitchen doors are cracked in places. The carpets in the bedrooms need to be replaced. one bed had been replaced and it was so much cleaner than the other bedrooms. Housekeeping was called and cleaned after we complained but it needed a full days cleaning really not 2 hours.
The oven was so dirty you couldn't see in though the glass window. Outside the seating area had ashtrays from previous visitors full and left on the tables.
The shower in one of the twin rooms wasn't working properly and in all the showers the water wasn't draining so you were paddling in your own shower!
The placemats for the table were greasy and had mould on the underside of them.
On the positive side our company was great. We were disappointed at first but just got on and made the best of it. We had a great weekend but don't feel we will return next year feeling that with the price hike we could probably have a weekend abroad for the same money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conroyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_pike, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Elveden Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Hi there, thank you for your review.

I was so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with aspects of your accommodation.

I can appreciate that this time your experience was not up to the standards of your previous holidays with us.

If you would like a more detailed response to the concerns that you have raised I would kindly ask that you email us with your booking details via our “contact us” section on our website.

I understand, despite your concerns, that you and your family had a great weekend and I genuinely hope that you will reconsider a return visit to give us the opportunity to restore your faith in Center Parcs.

Kind Regards

Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elveden
4.6 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
443 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
9.5 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
643 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
735 reviews
4.3 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Elveden Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Elveden Forest

Address: Elveden Forest, Elveden IP24 3TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Elveden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Elveden
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Elveden Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Elveden Forest Hotel Elveden
Center Parcs Hotel Suffolk
Center Parcs Suffolk
Center Parcs Elveden Forest Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing