We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,405)
Filter reviews
9,405 results
Traveller rating
4,094
2,998
1,357
594
362
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,094
2,998
1,357
594
362
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinter wonderlandaqua sanaswimming poolpancake housegreat funsports barall ageshired bikesbed lodgequad bikingten pin bowlingschool holidayscafe rougecaptive audienceroller skatingmid week breakadventure golf
Filter
Updating list...
5,574 - 5,579 of 9,405 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great stay in June 2014 at Elvedon. There was plenty to do and the children loved cycling and swimming. We didn't book too many activities as they are expensive. But there was still lots to do including swimming, playing pool, table tennis, roller disco etc
I would recommend taking provisions with you and making the most of the free facilities as the restaurants are also expensive.
The wildlife was on our doorstep which was fantastic.
Great holiday, well thought out and ideal for families.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshamJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Elveden Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your post.

We are delighted to hear that you had great family time and the children enjoyed the swimming and cycling.

Center Parcs is the first organisation to be awarded The Wildlife Trust's Biodiversity Benchmark for all of its sites and we pride ourselves on the variety and volume of wildlife that dwell in our forest environment. It is therefore great to note that you found the wildlife fantastic.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Therese Garratt
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at the Lakeview Hotel June 2014 with my partner. On the day of arrival we got very lost with another couple. We followed the signs but ended up somewhere completely different. Once you know your way around thanks to the free map on arrival, we just ignored it.
We hired some bikes for the week, collecting was quick and simple and the bikes well maintained. The only issue i had about cycling around the woods was there was always a manmade structure. There was no escape. The closest we got to a cycling in the woods experience was following the perimeter fence around the camp still being able to see the villas. It was still a pleasant experience when it was quiet (to be discussed).
The subtropical Swimming centre was great! the only issue was that the pool has plants all around. While this adds to the atmosphere, it also adds dead leaves and dirt to the pool. Particularly the pool midway down the rapids. That was pretty filthy.
The food was fairly high priced, though that is to be expected in a cornered market. In their defense, most of the food was of great standard.
There were only 2 real issues for us.
1) the Lakeview hotel prison guard we deemed 'The Jailer'. This was a chamber maid who kept her keys on a chain. Now this may not seem too bad, but a rings of keys on a long chain hanging from your belt slapping against her legs as she walked up and down past our room drived us insane. We knew every morning when the guards were up and about so we had to plan our escape so they can perform bunk inspections.
2) RAF Lakenheath. Noise. Noise noise noise. Heavy cargo planes from 8.30am to 7pm. Every day. Ever watch the Hungergames? When someone dies and the cannon fires? Just like that. Now either Centre Parcs deer are very dangerous, or RAF had alot of training going on.

Next time we plan on going to Sherwood. I still would recommend this place as we pull out of the war it'll quieten down and I have complained about The Jailer so that should be resolved soon. We had a brilliant break and thoroughly enjoy Center Parc breaks away.

Room Tip: Be careful with villas by the lake. Cable ski and ariel tree trek are surprisingly noisey and theres a pontoon with floating scaffolding for cable ski maintenance.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

You come for the activities especially things you cannot do at home: our group liked the thrill of the tree trekking and zip wire across the lake, and the Cyclone in the tropical pool (it is hot inside so splashes are welcome). Also enjoyed Segway ride in the woods. All the guides are friendly and helpful. Children also liked meeting the owl, making teddy bears and the wave pool.
We stayed in 2 four bedroom Pine villas. Both clean and spacious. A few ant visitors but so what, it does feel like wildlife is all around. The ducks and squirrels ask to be fed.
Tips wise do note no mobile signals in much of the camp so arrange meeting up in advance. The supermarket has a good range and food is not overpriced. You may want to bring kitchen rolls, dishwasher tabs bin bags etc if doing a lot of self catering.
Definitely recommended, especially if you are prepared to have a go at some new activities.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We've been going to Elveden for many years and had a great time as usual. Some of the leisure activities are getting ridiculously over-priced but I guess while people are willing to pay them then the prices will continue to rise. The A11 roadworks are a vast improvement.
My only problem is that nine of us went, and eight of us went down with quite severe flu-like symptoms within a couple of days of getting there. Since coming home, we don't appear to have passed it on to anyone else, which would rule out a particularly contagious person to person virus. Which makes me wonder if there's something nasty in the pool..... I phoned a very helpful lady in the Medical Centre once I got home and she said there hadn't been an influx of reported cases so if anyone else has had similar symptoms it might be worth giving them a ring.
None of the above will stop me going again though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

we have just returned from a 5 day stay at elveden forest and can honestly say its the best break iv had in a long time, i have 5 children between 4 and 15 years and we found plenty of things to keep everyone happy without the need to spend too much, the accommodation is very comfortable and clean. The swimming pool was a big hit with all the kids, loved every moment and we cant wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews