We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elveden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glebe Country House Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Elveden B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Arrived at about 4:30 p.m. and was welcomed by the owner and shown to our room which was located at the rear of the property. The room ("Mattins") was large and well-appointed. The en-suite had a shower but no bath. Tea/coffee making facilities are provided with sachets of hot chocolate and Ovaltine available on the landing, which also accommodates a chilled water dispenser. The house was originally built as a rectory and retains many of its original features. There is a history of the property and its occupants in the information provided in the room together with useful tips for eating and places to visit in the vicinity. Excellent night's sleep and a lovely breakfast the following morning. Would definitely recommend The Glebe. Only slight criticism is that, when approaching from the west, you've already passed the entrance when you reach the sign.

Room Tip: Some reviews mention road noise but we didn't find it at all a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We booked to stay here to be able to attend the Christmas market in Bury St Edmund, arrived after dark and had a bit of trouble finding it as it sits of the main road. The first impressions were that the place is lovely,very welcoming and cozy. The room was beautiful, bed was really comfy too. The hosts seem to have thought of everything,even down to the little wicker basket on the landing with a selection of hot chocolate and malted drinks for you to help yourself, this was aside from the normal tea and coffee in each room. Breakfast was excellent, wide choice and freshly cooked . I would highly recommend this as a wonderful place to stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanelle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We booked to stay here as we were going for a twilight spa an Centre Parcs down the road.
The first impression of the B&B was that is was beautiful. When we went in though our host was very cold. Although she asked us where we had been and was polite she also came across as not wanting us to be there. The same has to be said at breakfast and at checkout. She really didn't understand how to show warmth and be friendly to guests (or at least not to us).

Taking that aside though the actual room was spectacular, as was the huge bathroom. For the money you pay you get a hell of a lot. The room was also beautifully clean except for a dead fly inside a notice on the back of the door, but I can let that go as it made me laugh more than anything. We had an incredible nights sleep as the bedding and the matress were brilliant quality.

Breakfast in the morning was fantastic, there was plenty to choose from and clearly the food was of a high quality and cooked superbly.

I would love to have given this place a 5 star rating but the host really let it down. I would happily stay here again though as everything else you get is great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked this property as we were attending an event at the Elveden complex and were not in any way disappointed. As you approach the impressive house you expect the best and without fault you are not let down. The room was very large and the facilities were superb. The bed very large and comfortable and shower room great. It is very convenient for the Elvedon events and a short walk home. The morning breakfast is cooked to order and all fresh produce used. An excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middx London
Level Contributor
202 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Needed a stop on returning from Lincs via Suffolk and this was a great find. Our room was at the back overlooking garden so very peaceful. Lovely en-suite and room just what we needed after a long drive very comfortable. Visited the Elvendon Inn for supper which was excellent. Rather a hairy return walk along main road !
Breakfast was freshly prepared to suit and all local produce used
All in all a very friendly place to stay and good value

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We spent 2 nights here as our last stop before returning home. Other than having a problem finding the correct turn for the Glebe Country House, this was an excellent stay. The web page might mention turn at the sign for the farm shop. This is a great location near forest walks, lovely historic towns, and a good place to just relax. Our reception was very friendly. We were shown to our room which was a large front facing very comfortable room with a cozy shower bathroom, TV, tea making tray, and WiFi which had good reception in the room. The first night we even walked over to the Elveden Inn for a lovely dinner sitting outside on their patio. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious. We even had friendly guests to talk to each morning. The new 4-lane bypass will be an added benefit to the Glebe County House since it will take traffic off the current road and make the trip to the house much quicker.

Room Tip: Beautiful view of the church across the street on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masseyfj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamata, Greece
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

A fabulous B&B with comfort ably furnished rooms. The rooms on the front of the venue do suffer a bit from road noise from the A11. The newly planned road however for 2014 should sort this out. Breakfast was brilliant as was the service from all there....

Room Tip: Rear rooms will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGrocer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elveden
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
12.4 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe Country House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Country House Bed And Breakfast

Property: Glebe Country House Bed And Breakfast
Address: 34 London Road, Elveden IP24 3TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Elveden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elveden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Glebe Country House Bed And Breakfast Elveden, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing