We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Stinks” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newcastle Links Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newcastle Links Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fern Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Stinks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Run. The rooms smell dank and musty, there is mould on the ceilings, walls and furnishings. The windows are broken from obvious break in attempts and have not been repaired. The furniture and furnishings are so old they belong in a museum, they have CRT tvs that hardly work, seriously. It is not a nice experience to stay there. We paid approximately $110.00 per night and its worth $50.00 at best, only in an emergency!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
8
19
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taree NSW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Mould on curtains, walls and ceiling. No milk in room, had to get some in a cup the next morning. Room smelt very dank. Would not recommend. It is a long way from Newcastle. The only positive is that it was very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fern Bay hotels

Cobar, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

As an international traveller who has travelled extensively, I would have to rate this motel as one of the worst I have ever stayed in. I wonder if this particular motel has been subject to any sort of inspection by the motel association of NSW. Upon arrival I was handed the key but not requested to sign anything or provide any car rego or credit card which I find very strange. The room itself was antiquated and I was greeted by the overwhelming smell of mould and mustiness. This mould was obvious on the roof and back of curtains. The shower glass was cracked and dirty and the beds were rock hard. My only wish was that I had checked the other reviews before booking. With the $ 130 we paid for a night I did not get value for money and my only recommendation would be to never stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimMZunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We recently stayed two nights at this motel and in our opinion it was not worth the approx $120 we paid for a "deluxe" room. Office staff were friendly however that could not make up for a couple of issues. The sign out the front said "Pool" and "Foxtel". It was quite hot and we wanted to have a swim...no pool. My husband wanted to watch the football...no Foxtel. (New management had not renewed the subscription). The beds were very firm, I ended up using the bedspread and blanket under the sheet for padding...even then it was difficult to sleep due to a cricket in the ceiling making a high pitched noise (lucky I had earplugs). Room was also not serviced until mid afternoon. When returning to the motel after dark, about 8.30pm, the sign was not lit and we missed the driveway.On the plus side it was fairly quiet even though on a main road and convenient location for our purpose.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clapnpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbelltown, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

the room was disgusting the place should be bombed there was a baby cockroach in the bathroom the shower was mouldy the room smelled musty i didn't even want to stay there after i walked in do yourself a favour and find somewhere else for $115 a night this place is a disgrace.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

find another hotel is all I can say.
yes price was average $85, BUT it's not worth it.
rooms were very small, dark & basic, bathroom you have to walk sideways.
heating did NOT work, I froze all night, bed NOT comfy.
I stayed 2 nights, NO room service was done & I wasn't told.
no shops nearby to eat.
there was only 1 other car at motel so that says it all!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiesenior2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INVERELL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Yes the room we had was clean and suprisingly spacious, but that is all the positives I can say about this place.
Upon arrival, the gentleman at the front desk could barely say 2 words to me. He didn't even get my credit card details, car rego number or sign any paperwork when I checked in! When we got to the room, I was taken back, but not deterred by the out dated furnishings. The room had a very stale smell in it. If I had the time to see reception about it I definitely would have.
The shower had little to no water pressure and the toilet wasn't very clean and the air conditioing was so noisy-very loud!
The location didn't bother me as such, because it was only a few (about 7km) from a venue we needed to go, but if anyone decieds to stay at Links Motel, please do not rely on the taxi service. It was half an hour late on the way to the venue, and on the way home, one didn't even show. We ended up having to walk the 7kms back!! By the time we got back, we were looking forward to bed, only to find the mattress was rock hard with a broke headboard.
Check out time couldn't have come fast enough. At least the woman at the front desk in the morning seemed much more pleasant.
What I was hoping to be a good weekend getaway with my husband, turned out to be a nightmare in my books, and I'm sorry but Links Motel was a contributing factor. For the $125/night I paid, it was not worth it. I have stayed in much better places for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fern Bay
5.1 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
18.0 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
19.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
8.2 mi away
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Links Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Links Motel

Property: Newcastle Links Motel
Address: 1024 Nelson Bay Rd, Fern Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2295, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Fern Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fern Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newcastle Links Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 'new' Newcastle Links Motel. We are under new Ownership and Management and working on renovations to bring the 'Links' up to its potential. The Motel consists of 26 guest rooms offering different levels of accommodation from Double to Family. An updated BBQ area in the gardens is for guest use throughout the day and evening. The recent renovations include a breakfast room and Bar facilities for drink purchases to be enjoyed at the bar, in your room or in the gardens. The motel is close to Newcastle Airport (10 minutes drive), Stockton Beach, Stockton Ferry to Newcastle centre and Newcastle Port(only a 5 minute drive, great for fishing and relaxing). The Motel has a garden setting overlooking the Newcastle Golf Course, ranked in the top 10 in Australia. Golf packages are available, please contact us with any queries. Regular business workers and holiday guests are offered a special discounted rate on their welcome back. There are a few hotels, clubs and restaurants a 5 minute drive away and the RSL club runs a free shuttle bus to the motel. Several of the local restaurants deliver to the Motel in the evenings. Buses leave every half hour outside the motel (6.00am TO 8.00pm Mon to Sat)for Stockton Beach and meet the Stockton Ferry for a leisurely cruise to Newcastle CBD. By car its a 4 minute drive to the beach or approximately 18 minutes drive to Major Shopping Centres and CBD. Nearby are the Quadbike King Adventures and Fighterworld. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newcastle Links Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Links Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing